We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Ranked #20 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
St Helier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

The hotel is very comfortable and the staff extremely helpful and caring, especially all the Reception staff.The location is ideal for the centre of Southampton and the Town quays for the Isle of Wight.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback following you recent stay with us here at The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel.

Delighted you enjoyed your stay I will ensure your kind words are shared in particular with the reception team who will be deligted as they work very hard to ensure our guests are well looked after.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    473
    357
    195
    119
See reviews for
224
614
100
270
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
184 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed at the Dolphin for one night only. Were able to leave our car there for 12 nights whilst we went on a cruise. Had bed, breakfast and a taxi service to and from Hotel for £159.

Not a cheap hotel by any means but it is a very nice one! With a lot of history, Finding the Hotels car park is difficult the first time though!

the staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. The breakfast was perfectly fine too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the Hotel itself and not in the courtyard block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldbiddySurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for choosing the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel for your park and cruise package.

Really pleased to read you enjoyed your second stay with us and I will be sure to share your kind words with the team, who will be delighted.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Lovely clean hotel....safe parking...staff are helpful and friendly. ..food is amazing...easy access to everything around as very central......was told due to being in the town it would be noisy but it wasn't.....thoroughly enjoyed our stay thank you x

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jax1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel for your weekend break.

Really pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and we hope it will not be long until we have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Lovely hotel stayed here with my partner and young daughter was very pleased wonderful room nice breakfast and friendly helpful staff very pleased indeed very helpful and amazing customer service from the guy on front desk thanks again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahhutch1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for posting your review on trip advisor.

Really pleased to read you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and I will ensure your kind words are shared with the team and in particular David on the front desk.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel very soon.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
312 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

I stayed at Mercure Dolphin while attending a seminar at the Oceanography Centre. It's a historic hotel in the middle of Southampton old town (the little of it that is left).
My room was in the annex at the back of the main building and was quiet, modern and very comfortable (I think it was an Executive room) and just 20 steps away from the hotel parking.
I tried the restaurant only once and though it was a bit empty staff was very friendly and food was good.

Room Tip: I did not see rooms in the main building but I can recommend rooms in the annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel.

Really pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and will ensure your kind words are shared with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Southampton.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Good rooms, clean, in the city....First room was on the ground floor with no windows so changed rooms to a second floor with window that opens for fresh air (for day breeze). Upon night time found out heating doesn't work, and phone to ring reception. Used own mobile to get an extra blanket...lesson learnt is pay a bit more to stay at the well known hotels.......staff were friendly though theres so much they can do..........its upto the owners to maintain it or perhaps work day/night shift to gaige negative/positive comments.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dipesh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

I was sorry to read there were some issues with your room, I can confirm these have now been addressed. I would like to assure you we very much value our guests feedback and always use this to help us imporve the products and servies we offer.

I was pleased to read to found the team to be friendly and do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel on your next visit. to the UK.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Great location for town centre, with lovely rooms, great breakfast and lovely decor. staff were all very friendly and helpful and couldnt have asked for anything else! Recommend for city centre stay over!! nice to see a hotel take pride in hospitality!

Room Tip: We had twin rooms, which were fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review follwing your recent stay with us here at The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin hotel.

Delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and I will ensure your feedback is shared with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the city.

Kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.6 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#9 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin

Property: Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Address: 34 - 35 High Street, Southampton SO14 2HN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin hotel is a stunning Grade II listed 4 star hotel located in the heart of Southampton - offering a modern and contemporary feel, while maintaining its traditional appeal. Perfectly located to explore the historic old town and walls, extensive shopping centre within walking distance and the perfect place to stay before and after your cruise with park and cruise packages available.Free Wifi available throughout the hotel.Privilege rooms now available. On site car parking available however there is a charge for this service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR and Odigeo so you can book your Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel Southampton
Southampton Dolphin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing