We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable for an overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Ranked #21 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Reasonable for an overnight stay”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights but would not do so again. Small rooms, so we had 4 cases all over the room. The stay also involved the cases lugging up and downstairs as lift only went so far. Earplugs near bed gives indication of a noisy night and from function downstairs and noisy bar opposite, these were necessary if you can stand wearing them. Car parking handy at 5 pounds per day. Good location for city centre and cruise ships. NB There is no car access via front you need to go to rear of hotel

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback which is valauable to us.

We do hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    486
    373
    200
    128
See reviews for
236
637
104
275
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stayed just for one night and will not come again. unsure who gave this place 4 stars! avoid this place if you have child with you or if you're looking for a quiet,relaxing place to stay...
room was worse than i expected from 4star hotel (comparing with other 4star hotels we stayed in). poorly decorated, carpets needing replacing, window in bathroom didn't shut properly etc etc... the room was right next to the lift so we had people passing by all the time, waking us up at night. we couldn't even open the window as people were smoking right below our room window. you don't get just noise from people staying at hotel, but members of public are trespassing right under your window and with so many clubs around this makes it a nightmare.
you even have to pay for a car park!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hathor1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review your stay with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel.

I am very sorry to read you did not enjoy your stay for which I sincerely apologise.

There is a duty manager available twenty four hours a day, who, if you had made us aware of your concerns during you stay could have made your stay much more comfortable and enjoyable.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lot-et-Garonne, France
Level Contributor
515 reviews
247 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 378 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here several times before and always enjoyed the food and the bar. The staff are always great. This time I was upgraded to one of the new rooms in the new block down the Lane by the car park. The rooms there are described as 'suites' but they're not! They are new and named after various cruise liners but they are very small indeed. The beds are hard. The stairs up to the rooms and the door ways plus the cobblestone path to the rooms are an absolute nightmare with luggage. The bathroom was new and fresh but so dimly lit (even with the trendy mirror lights on) that I couldn't see to shave.

Most irritating is the lack of wifi. There was no signal in my room! Reception told me that it's because it's a listed building! (It's not and newly built!)

There is a wide choice of hotels in Southampton and despite the lovely staff and the restaurant I would struggle to recommend this one if the rooms on offer were in the new block.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank francophileonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

I was sorry to read there were elements of your stay that were not up to our high standards for which I sincerely apologise.

In regards to the Wifi coverage I would like to assure you our service is normally very good so this is clearly a temporary issue that we will address.

Pleased to read there were also positive elements of your stay and I do hope you will give us the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
Mercure Southampton
Centre Dolphin Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I stayed here in March while in Southampton for a hen party. My friend and I were on a tight budget and this was the second cheapest hotel in Southampton for the dates we needed and was in a perfect central location, close to where the rest of the party were staying (Grand Harbour Hotel).

We found the hotel using a satnav without any trouble, but it was a bit difficult to find the car park. I remembered reading a review saying it was around the back, so we took a long route around the block and found it. We had to pay £5 to use the car park for 24 hours, which was fine for us as we were only there one night, but gets a bit expensive if you are staying for a while.

When we arrived it was quite busy as there was a wedding there on the same day, but checking in was still quick and easy. Our room was right at the end of a long corridor on the ground floor, through a few doors and up a few steps. We had to ask directions on the way as it wasn't signposted very well, but the staff were really approachable and helpful.

The room was fairly standard, a decent size with the usual amenities, as was the bathroom. The bed linen looked clean enough (although I never like to look too closely!) and the bathroom was pretty clean, but there was a big stain on the carpet. The beds had nice big firm pillows which are exactly what I like and it was pretty comfortable.

The only problem we found with the room was that it was a rare sunny weekend and the room was absolutely boiling! Being England, there was no air conditioning so we had to keep the window open which was a bit annoying but not so bad that we couldn't deal with it.

The location was very central, once we had dumped our things we wandered up to the shops which were within minutes of the hotel. There was a market selling lots of different foods and all the usual high street chains. Later on in the evening we got ready at our hotel and walked to our friends hotel which only took around 10 minutes.

We spent the evening in Southampton, finishing at Oceana, which was only about a 20 minute walk back. The roads around the hotel were fairly quiet when we got back around 1am, but I never felt unsafe. A few bars had people outside but we couldn't really hear anything from our room which was nice and quiet at the back of the hotel. The only noises I did hear were people walking by the window as it was open, but it wasn't many and didn't bother me.

Overall the hotel was a good price, great location and exactly what you would expect for a budget hotel. I would stay here again and would recommend for a night or 2 if you're just looking for a safe and clean room.

Room Tip: If you are driving there I would recommend getting the postcode for the car park entrance and puttin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyWren24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We really appreciate and value your feedback and it is nice to read you would stay again and recommend the hotel to others.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My husband I stayed here for one night over the Easter holidays and was pleasantly surprised by the quirkiness of the hotel. The Place had character oozing from every corner.
We stayed in room 3 which was on the ground floor, facing the walkway to the car park. As soon as I opened the door I took a step back with the sight of stairs going down! Though there was space to stand inside it came unexpected.
The room was clean and well presented.
Due to the style / age of the building it was a little noisy, as you could hear what was going on in the corridors. The heating was also loud, however as mentioned added to the experience of staying in such an aged building.
The choice for breakfast the following morning was great. Continental as well as hot foods. I had a bit of both with a choice of croissants, yogurt, fruits followed by scrambled egg on toast.
A hotel I would most definitely visit again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel.

Delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and the character of this unique building. I will of course ensure your feedback is shared with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Not sure how this place ever got 4 stars! Although the location is great for getting into town, dirty, mouldy walls and a general smell of damp greeted us when we arrived in our room. The shower didn't work properly, and the staff were not particularly helpful. Rooms were incorrectly serviced and on one of the days we were actually left with no toilet paper! The only plus side was the food which was lovely, really can't fault it at all. Don't bother with this place, Jury's Inn down the road is FAR better!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for your review, I am very sorry to read you did not enjoy your stay with us, for which I sincereley apologise.

I am confused by the content of your review as some of the comments are very unusual to hear about the hotel, I am pleased, however that you enjoyed the quality of our food.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to restore your faith in the hotel.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
Mercure Southampton
Centre Dolphin Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
1,659 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
1,119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
806 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
1,735 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#11 of 24 in Southampton
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin

Property: Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Address: The Dolphin 34-35 High Street, Southampton SO14 2HN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin hotel is a stunning Grade II listed 4 star hotel located in the heart of Southampton - offering a modern and contemporary feel, while maintaining its traditional appeal. Perfectly located to explore the historic old town and walls, extensive shopping centre within walking distance and the perfect place to stay before and after your cruise with park and cruise packages available.Free Wifi available throughout the hotel.Privilege rooms now available. On site car parking available however there is a charge for this service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel Southampton
Southampton Dolphin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing