We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Ranked #22 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Reviewed 27 May 2014

A group of 14 Ladies gathered for a surprise 60th Birthday for afternoon Tea in May 2014. The service received from initial enquirey through to the day was excellent.

The value for money is outstanding, one of the best afternoon tea's ive experienced.

The table was beautifully decorated and we had chair covers just like you do at a weddding for no extra cost but the little touches made the experience that little bit more special.

I will def be returning and recommending to friends

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Michelle A

Thank you for reviewing your visit for afternoon tea, delighted to read you enjoyed the occasion and I will ensure your kind words are shared with the team.

We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,562)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

837 - 843 of 1,562 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed here for one night last Friday in a standard double room. This really old building is situated in the high street close to shops, restaurants etc. It is tastefully decorated to a very high standard throughout...this could not have been easy as there does not appear to be a straight wall or floor in this quirky old building which is full of character.

We received a warm welcome on arrival and were offered breakfast for the next morning at a reasonable rate and were soon on our way up to the third floor where our room was to be found at the front of the property. The downside to our stay was that it was extremely noisy at night with a nightclub directly opposite which didn't shut until 5am and then the buses started thundering along soon afterwards . So I suggest if you choose this hotel to ask for a room at the back if you think that the noise will disturb you.

The bedroom had a nice flat screen tv , tea/coffee tray and flapjacks, iron/ironing board, large wardrobe with a safe and a nice comfy bed and pillows. There was a decent sized bathroom with bath and fully working efficient shower over. Nice white fluffy towels and soap, shower gel and shampoo were provided. Free Wi Fi throughout.

We enjoyed a very good quality breakfast the next morning in the lovely dining room at the front of the hotel which overlooks the main street.

Overall I would recommend this hotel and hope to stay there again sometime.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel to avoid street noise.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueSage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback which is valuable to us.

Really pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and breakfast and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the city.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Mercure Southampton
Centre Dolphin Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Set in a great position in the old town part of Southampton and its close to a few bars and restaurants and handy for the Isle of Wight Red Funnel terminal. The hotel itself is a listed building , but it is very hard to find the car park which is directly behind the hotel as its a bit of a minefield when trying to drive to it !!!
The bar is nice and the staff very helpful.
We only had breakfast which was very good though a little pricey.
The bathroom had a new washbasin though the plumbing was still in the listed building age!!!! as the water in the basin took absolutely ages to soak away, also the toilet didn't flush a couple of times but on the whole its good value as it only cost £55 a night without breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask about the plumbing !!!!!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaun g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

We really appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel.

Delighted to read that overall you enjoyed your stay and I will ensure the issue with the toilet is addressed.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My daughter and I had afternoon tea here. For afternoon tea and two drinks we paid £35. My grandson, aged 15 months, was with us and just had food from our afternoon tea.

The staff were very friendly and we felt genuinely welcome. The dining area was clean, colourful and of traditional decor.

My grandson was well looked after with a good high chair and his own cup, plate and cutlery.

The afternoon tea consisted of a three tier plate rack of sandwiches, scones, fancy cakes, clotted cream & Raspberry preserve.

Everything was fresh tasting and the serving was generous so that all three of us were full by the time we finished.

This was a very nice experience which we all thoroughly enjoyed. I would recommend the Afternoon Tea in the Signature Restaurant.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GemAlfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for taking the trouble to review your visit to take afternoon tea with us.

Really pleased to read you enjoyed the experience and I will ensure your kind words are shared with te team particulalry the head chef who will be delighted.

We hope to see you again soon.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Mercure Southampton
Centre Dolphin Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

stayed here for the second time,the staff are helpful,the breakfast is of a high standard and plenty of it.The room was top quality,an outside building,new furniture and tea/coffee,Would recommend this hotel.Great shopping,Eating out,good location.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank perdita-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Thank you for reviewing your second stay with us here at The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel.

Pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back for a third time very soon.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Good experience and so convenient for our cruise vacation. Good WiFi as well and in a nice location. They even held onto a small bag of our things while we were on the cruise! So accommodating. Clean rooms and you hardly even notice it's across from a strip club ;)

5 stars if they game more complimentary granola bars and spiced up the rooms. I highly recommend this place if you are able bodied. Hard to get through all the nooks and crannies to find your room if you are struggling with your luggage.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Hanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear Hanna M

Really appreciate your taking the time to review your stay with us, we really value your feedback.

Pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and I will ensure your kind words are shared with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel before your next cruise departure.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

I have had the 'pleasure' of staying in this hotel because the mercure hotel I had originally booked overbooked me (buts that a different story/review).

I was booked into this hotel and due to the inconvenience booked into their best room. Expecting great things I was utterly disappointed.

The free paper, nicely presented was 2 days old. The wardrobe broke, as did the iron. The bath/shower was also broken and when I turned the bath on the switch flipped automatically onto shower and soaked me.

The main hotel looked and felt like it needed a good clean and depending on your inclination the hotel being directly opposite 'for your eyes only' strip club is either a pro or a con!!

The breakfast though was average and the only thing stopping me give it a 1 star!

My advice. Avoid.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review your stay with us.

I am sorry to read your experience was not up to our high standards for which I sincerely apologise, I will of course be addressing the points raised.

Kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Mercure Southampton
Centre Dolphin Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.6 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 25 in Southampton
1,739 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 25 in Southampton
938 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#14 of 25 in Southampton
1,198 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#12 of 25 in Southampton
987 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 25 in Southampton
1,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin

Address: The Dolphin 34-35 High Street, Southampton SO14 2HN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Southampton
Price Range: £62 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin hotel is a stunning Grade II listed 4 star hotel located in the heart of Southampton - offering a modern and contemporary feel, while maintaining its traditional appeal. Perfectly located to explore the historic old town and walls, extensive shopping centre within walking distance and the perfect place to stay before and after your cruise with park and cruise packages available.Free Wifi available throughout the hotel.Privilege rooms now available. On site car parking available however there is a charge for this service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, ACCOR, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel Southampton
Southampton Dolphin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing