We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Get What You Pay For”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Ranked #23 of 26 Hotels in Southampton
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I wouldn't stay here again but it was OK for 1 night. We asked for twin beds on the reservation, but were told when we arrived that there wasn't a twin room available, even though the reservation was made five months prior to arrival. One staff member was lovely and apologetic, while another staff member (senior to the inital one) couldn't care less. Small room with no air movement. Small bedroom. It served the purpose for 1 night.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear L M

Thank you for your review and my apologies for the problem with your allocated room type.

We do hope we will get the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel to restore your faith.

Kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,643)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

892 - 898 of 1,643 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

We were expecting a very old hotel with personality. What we had was an absolutely beautiful room in what appear to be an attached carriage type house. The rooms appeared to be recently renovated. The room was fairly large, beautifully decorated with the most comfortable bed. The bathroom was larger than expected with all the amenities. This hotel is located in the heart of the old city within walking distance to many restaurants. Staff were very friendly and welcoming and very helpful with transportation. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: request room off main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brockville12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Brockville12

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel.

Really pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and really appreciate your kind words which I will share with the team.

We do hope to welcome you back soon.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here one night before our cruise left the port of Southhampton. The staff couldn't have been more accommodating and friendly. The size of the room was a bit small but comfortable. What we didn't expect was the state of the bathroom- one of the hotel's claim to fame is it's age but the peeling paint and black mold on the caulking around the tub - a real turnoff! A shame routine maintainence is lacking when the location and staff are so good - looking for a bite to eat? Right down the street , "Standing Order" - really good!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Sue U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback which is valuable to us.

Really pleased to read the kind words about the service from the team which I will ensure is shared. My apologies about the bathroom we do have maintenance procedures in place but I will ensure the points are addressed.

We do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel prior to your next cruise departure.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Enjoyed our stay overall. Located by the historic city center it was perfect post cruise. Only problem was we were there during a hot spell and there is no ac. It is obviously an old hotel but otherwise a nice room (131) for two adults and a child.

Room Tip: With no ac select a lower level floor room.
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank phxchica127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Phxchica 127

Thank you for posting our 700 review on trip advisor following your stay with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel.

Great to read you enjoyed your pre cruise stay and I have noted your contructive feedback.

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Ideally located for the centre of Southampton and just a few minutes from the Cruise Terminal by taxi. The room was off the main building and was very well presented and equipped. Also very clean. The staff were extremely helpful and arranged for a taxi to take us to the Cruise Terminal. In the meantime, they kept our cases in a secure location after we had checked out. Will definitely use again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Kevin C

Thank you for reviewing your pre cruise stay with us.

Delighted to read you enjoy your stay and would return so we look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel before your next cruise departure.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed here for one night room only . The hotel had one lift that I could see . Our room was on the third floor when we left the lift on 3rd floor we had to go up a set of stairs to go down another set . The room we were given was quiet small and the bathroom was nearly as big . The hotel is in a good location The staff are very friendly and helpful.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Deirdre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Deirdre C

Thank you for posting a review following your recent stay with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel

The age of the building does mean the layout is quite unique in places that gives the hotel such a charm.

Pleased to read the team looked after you and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I recently stayed at the Mecure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel for my birthday with a friend. We had a really spacious, comfy room, with great facilities and a lovely powerful shower.

The breakfast choices in the morning were fantastic and the staff were really friendly. The building has great character and a nice relaxed feel.

Only a couple of minutes walk to get to the shops making it an ideal place to stay when in the city.

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and wished we could have stayed for longer.

I would definitely recommend people stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KEJAMES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear KEJAMES

thank you for reviewing your birthday stay with us - delighted to read you had a good stay and would recommend the hotel to others.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel, very soon.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#7 of 26 in Southampton
1,166 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#11 of 26 in Southampton
1,839 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#20 of 26 in Southampton
1,996 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#13 of 26 in Southampton
1,274 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#14 of 26 in Southampton
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin

Address: The Dolphin 34-35 High Street, Southampton SO14 2HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Southampton
Price Range: £45 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin hotel is a stunning Grade II listed 4 star hotel located in the heart of Southampton - offering a modern and contemporary feel, while maintaining its traditional appeal. Perfectly located to explore the historic old town and walls, extensive shopping centre within walking distance and the perfect place to stay before and after your cruise with park and cruise packages available.Free Wifi available throughout the hotel.Privilege rooms now available. On site car parking available however there is a charge for this service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Stayforlong S.L., TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel Southampton
Southampton Dolphin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing