We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Ranked #21 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed here on August 2 for one night before boarding a cruise ship. What a lovely hotel! Centrally located and walking distance to so many things. The hotel says it is 500 years old so dont expect huge rooms, but the bathrooms were quite a surprise! Large bathroom with tub and shower! There is no AC but apparently historic buildings are not allowed to have AC installed. There was a fan in the room that worked just fine. Beds were very comfortable as well. The staff were very friendly and held out luggage after we checked out so that we could go and tour Stonehenge.

I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone and will go back there myself next time I'm in Southampton.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaboLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear CaboLaura

Thank you for reviewing your stay, really pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and would recommend the hotels to others which is fantastic to hear.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel in the future.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    489
    376
    204
    130
See reviews for
238
644
103
277
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for a one night stay in Southampton after visiting friends - the deal was fairly cheap so it was hard to say no.

Locating the hotel wasn't much of a problem. Although once we had found it we has great trouble finding the free parking as advertised. We assumed we should drive through the archway to the rear but the bollards were in place preventing us from doing so due to a wedding party spilling out of the venue. Unfortunately with no other information on how to access the parking we ended up parking on a nearby road which was free on Saturday nights but not ideal.

Check in seemed a bit busy at 1030pm - not because lots were checking in but said wedding party just seemed to be in the reception drinking and dancing? Surely parties should be contained to a function room?

We were in room 217 and after taking the elevator we found it quickly. The room was of ample size - 2 single beds, a dresser table with chairs. We sat down and relaxed and didn't realise for 30 minutes that the bathroom was essentially in what looked like a cupboard! The bathroom however was fairly modern and clean. However, the water pressure in the shower was absolutely dismal. I could have washed my hair quicker in the bathroom sink with the amount of water that shower head was spitting out.

Overall an ok stay. I've had much worse but for the price it was fine for a one night stay. Just a shame about the shower!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mikelayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Mikelayer

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel.

I was sorry to read about the lack of water pressure in your allocated room, I will ensure this is checked. A lack of water pressure if not something we have an issue with here at the hotel so I would imagine it is an issue with the shower in the specific room but I apologise for the inconvenince caused.

In regards to the car park, I am sorry you found it diffuclt to find there is a sign at the front of the hotel with directions and also on our website.

Thank you for your feedback.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We were given an outside room, no17. It was dark inside even with lights on. The bathroom and toilet were straight out of Cell Block H. The carpet on the floor was well trodden, but vey poorly fitted and was a series of trip hazards.
The room being on the outside was quite noisy from early in the morning as it was on the route to the car park.
When I complained at checkout, the cashier was in apologetic and said we should have asked for another room. As I pointed out that was not the point. The point was this room should not have been offered to anyone, especially someone paying to stay there. The cashiers attitude and the quality of accommodation means we will not stay there again and I would caution all other travellers not to stay in an outside room.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms outside of the hotel or find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phileyland L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Phileyland L

Thank you for reviewing you recent stay with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel,

I was sorry to read you were disapointed with your allocated room for which I sincerely apologise. I will be addressing the points raised thank you for bringing them to my attention.

Due to the age of the building we do have a whole range of outlooks and locations of rooms but we do try our best to allocate one that meets our customers needs and requirements but there are occasions where we also need some feedback to ensure this happens.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southampton hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a long weekend as we were going out in a powerboat with Sabermarine (recommend an excellent day out on solent). We booked in advance and got a very good deal. The staff at the hotel are friendly and helpful.The rooms are nicely decorated and clean. We went in July with some very hot weather, being an old hotel there is no aircon - so beware!

There are some excellent pubs close to the hotel, would recommend Duke of Wellington, Pig in the wall, Grand Cafe to name a few. If you want to save some cash on breakfast there is a Weatherspoons just up from the hotel. Southampton centre is a strange mix with some very nice areas and some decidedly dodgy bits. The pubs stay open late - till 2am and we found everyone we encountered very friendly.

Will go back again.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back of the hotel as the street opposite has a bars that stay open late and if it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanter2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Hanter2512

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, delighted to read you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Mercure Southampton
Centre Dolphin Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMB
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were very disappointed. The location was good, but that was about all. The floor was very noisy. Getting up at night awakened my travel partner. Water in the shower was a problem. No shower curtain - water all over the floor, etc

Room Tip: no recommendation
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Pam T

Thank you for your review I was sorry to read you were disapointed with the hotel for which I sincerely apologise.

There is no getting away from the fact the hotel is old, it is one of the oldest buildings in the city and with that comes some squeekly floorboards, but I will ensure your points in regards to the shower and water are addressed.

Kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Mercure Southampton
Centre Dolphin Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The best of both worlds here - the charm of an old coaching inn with the comforts of a top class hotel - including tea and coffee, iron, free wi fi and decent toiletries in the room - comfortable bed and excellent breakfast. Staff very friendly and helpful - this was a business trip and I would definitely visit again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Ruth J

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel.

Delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and I will ensure your feedback is shared with the team, we look forward to seeing you soon.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hotel is extremely well located for the City Centre and cruise terminals. Parking is easy. Staff were friendly and helpful. The building is old and attractive from the outside. Unfortunately the interior decor does nothing to emphasise the history or enhance the features, it is bland and inoffensive.
Our room was probably the smallest double room we have ever stayed in. Extremely cramped. The bed itself was quite comfortable. The bathroom was also limited for space and in need of refurbishment. The glass basin and pedestal tap were a truimph of style over function. There is nowhere to place a bar of soap.
As others have commented the room was uncomfortably hot. The only way to reduce the temperature was to open the windows. The room faced on to the car park and therefore the noise of every car alarm, siren, arrivals and departures impinged on us.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Nick A

Thank you for posting our 740th review on trip advisor.

We really appreciate your feedback and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel in the future.

kind regards

Neil Brailsford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#14 of 24 in Southampton
1,147 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.7 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
1,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
844 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
1,777 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#11 of 24 in Southampton
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin

Property: Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Address: The Dolphin 34-35 High Street, Southampton SO14 2HN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin hotel is a stunning Grade II listed 4 star hotel located in the heart of Southampton - offering a modern and contemporary feel, while maintaining its traditional appeal. Perfectly located to explore the historic old town and walls, extensive shopping centre within walking distance and the perfect place to stay before and after your cruise with park and cruise packages available.Free Wifi available throughout the hotel.Privilege rooms now available. On site car parking available however there is a charge for this service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, ACCOR, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel Southampton
Southampton Dolphin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing