We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dogs welcome (but read the small print - at a price)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Southampton Rownhams
Ranked #19 of 26 Hotels in Southampton
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We travel from Devon to Sussex for family visits and we like to stop over in Southampton occasionally to go the M&S in Hedge End or Ikea,John Lewis etc in Southampton City. Finding a hotel in So'ton is something we've yet to master and we struck out yet again with the Days Inn.

This is a former Premiere Inn and true to form the refurbishments ended with the change of sign. The bed was narrow, trampoline like and the furnishings were the same as they were when Premiere Inn first opened the place a decade or more ago.

The one plus was the price - or at least it seemed so on the web. But if you are travelling with a dog read the small print carefully - there's a £10 charge per pooch and a maximum of three per room, so your canine entourage is strictly limited. So you may be better elsewhere if you shop carefully.

You cannot pay for the pet stay online - which is very misleading in my view - nor are you asked if you will be travelling with a dog. So sneek your best friend in if you can! ;)

Would we come back - no! Did we sleep well - bed too narrow and old. The best thing about staying in the place was leaving.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mfs1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

289 - 295 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2011

It was a family trip to South of UK and stayed here . At £40 per room , i thought it was a deal in August but it was not even the average UK Hotel. Smell of dampness across the hotel and no smiling faces . The Soap Gel in shower area was empty ( poor check ups at room prep !! ) and toilet seat was in one end of the bathroom with hardly any space for a adult . Room was spacious but we were 2 people , not looking top play football in it.
The facility at Roadchef for breakfast was too expensive and very poor food was available at EAT-In .The pople at Costa and the Shop were very helpful even at night 10:00 PM.

Would only stay here if there are no options.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

It was very basic and clean enough for a 2/3star hotel, just somewhere to lay your head for a night or two. If you are visiting Southampton for a few days then staying there may be a bit annoying, as you always have to drive past the hotel on the motorway to the next junction and come back up west, which you would rather not do after a long day out.

Other than that, the few staff we found were friendly and helpful. The noise from the motorway wasn't an issue in our case and we weren't too bothered by not having onsite catering.

Enjoyed our stay but next time we'll pay a bit more to stay in town.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenni O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

Never will we stay here again, run by polish i feel, greeted with stern look and corridors and reception full up with drunks, stayed here sat 12th feb, I do believe the polish lady on desk said my boss cant be disturbed, Its DISCUSTING, who ever employed this manager!!!!! Never again will I ever stay at a Days inn, I will be taking my business else where,SORT YOUR MANAGER OUT!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SEAVIEW_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2011

I stayed at the recently taken over Days inn at southampton (Rownhams)
On arrival we were greeted by a lovely lady called Debbie who couldnt have looked after us any better, Our room was clean and we were pleased that we had FREE wifi and flat screen t.v. we found our room quiet considering its on a motorway, we loved that it didnt have a bar it ment we didnt have the people coming back from bar making noise. We will defintley stay again,Execellent value for money and service with a smile.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank savage49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Luis-Castillayleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank 香港銘
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
3.3 mi away
Highfield House Hotel
Highfield House Hotel
#16 of 26 in Southampton
568 reviews
4 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
3.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#8 of 26 in Southampton
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West
3.3 mi away
The Winston Hotel
The Winston Hotel
#26 of 26 in Southampton
109 reviews
6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Southampton Rownhams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Southampton Rownhams

Address: Roadchef Motorway Service Area Rownhams Lane | M27 Southbound, Southampton SO16 8AP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 26 Hotels in Southampton
Price Range: £36 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn Southampton Rownhams 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Stayforlong S.L., getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Days Inn Southampton Rownhams reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Southampton (Rownhams) Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing