We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disaster”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Southampton Rownhams
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Disaster”
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Stayed here a couple of nights ago!
First of all the post cost that we had kept trying to take us to the back of the service station and through all the little villages around etc so it took us around an hour to actually get from Southampton to the hotel. Not entirely the hotels fault I know but after you've already travelled for 3 hours another hour in the car is certainly not appreciated.

We arrived to check in and that was fine we had booked for 2 nights but we had decided after everything we might actually cancel the second night and stay further along the coast. The receptionist was lovely about this and changed our booking so it was 2 seperate bookings so that we could cancel the following night whenever we needed as long as it was before we checked out! We were really impressed with the way we were treated.

We then went up to the room which had NOT been cleaned at all. Went back down to reception and the receptionist again was lovely about it but it was her first day back from holiday and so was a bit stressed herself.
We were asked to go next door to Costa for 10 minutes so that she could sort out the room. However they are in the process of a refurbishment so it was a complete nightmare in the services
We ended up going for about 20 minutes to give them time to clean and then went back! The receptionist keep apologising which was fine but we were still quite annoyed after travelling for so long all we wanted was to sleep.

Once back in the room it wasn't until we were getting into bed that we discovered the sheets hadn't actually been changed as there were biscuit crumbs all in the bed. We were too tired to even bother getting it sorted. Luckily it was warm enough just to sleep on top of the matress without a cover over us. We also both kept rolling into the middle of the bed because of the mattress! There was also a horrible smell which seemed to be just because the window hadn't been opened much (apparently they normally open the windows as soon as people check out until the next people check in which obviously didn't happen) so we had to sleep with the window open which again is annoying when you're staying on a motorway!

The following morning we left fairly quickly and told reception we wanted the next nights room cancelled. The receptionist informed us that was fine and she had cancelled it whilst we were there and we would not be charged.

It is not until we got home a few days later we actually discovered we had been charged for BOTH nights even though we had been informed that it had been cancelled.

The only good point to this hotel is the free wi-fi. Also the rooms are a very decent size with a sofa bed, double bed as well as having the desk with the tv/coffe making things etc!

I know we were just unfortunate that all these things happened to us but when you're only going away for a couple of days it certainly ruins it!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NaomiEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    107
    57
    27
    20
See reviews for
117
84
15
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South West of England
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

We stayed Saturday 12th May and although the rooms were okay the walls were so thin we could hear our neighbours talking. A large family arrived next door to us who seemed to have more than one room so they were in and out of each others rooms and their kids were running and shouting in the corridor until 10.30pm. My husband spoke to a guy at reception and they said if it carries on for any length of time to go and tell Reception and they will deal with the matter.

It's a pity the minority spoil it for the majority but that is how people are - they don't care who their actions and noise affect.

I wouldn't stay here again if they let people like that inhabit the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissSensible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

After reading the review, I was concerned having booked this for a 2 night stay over whilst visiting Paultons Park. This is a low budget option, however we found that the family room we stayed in was clean and well furnished. Travelling with a 4 year old, we found that there was plenty of room for our stay. The water was always very hot- lovely bath after a busy day and the bathroom and room clean. Yes, it is on the motorway but the noise isn't really an issue. The facilities on the services are not great but we got round this by researching beefeaters/local eateries etc before we went. The most annoying thing as people have already said was the need to travel up the M27 an extra junction to get back again when travelling out of Southampton. If you are looking for a low budget sleep over which is clean and friendly with limited eating options this is fine. If you want more then maybe look elsewhere. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if we needed somewhere just to spend the night.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HJC10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012 via mobile

Just got back from a 1 night stay at days inn. Firstly we was aware that it was on the m27 so wasn't expecting much especially after reading previous reviews. The family room was a good size and was very clean and had tea/coffee making facilities. You could hear the motorway but I could switch off to it, but I couldn't switch off to my noisey neighbours who came in at 3.30 am making alot of noise which echoed along the corridor. Not days inn fault i know! The bed I've got to say is the worst I've slept in for ages, it was too soft and my husband and I kept rolling into the middle making it difficult to sleep. Would only stay again if everywhere else was booked.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickysreport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

I was not expecting much, being a Motorway service station, however I was surprised at the quality of the room, and sleep that I had. I will definitely use again if traveling to Southampton.

The downside is however, that none of the staff speak English. We asked the night warden for recommendations of anywhere to eat in the area, and he said 'Food 7am-11.30am'. We searched for ourselves. In the morning we asked to check out, the receptionist did not know what checkout means.

On the upside however, free wifi - so you can search for everything you need online, thus not needing the help of the staff. Perhaps this is the business plan of Days Inn.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AntAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southampton hotels

Worcestershire UK
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Have stayed here occasionally over the last 20 years and have always found it very quiet, bearing in mind you are on a motorway service area.Contrary to other reviewers, I have found this and other rebranded premier travelinns to have a much more comfortable feel once they are converted to Days Inn. This is quite an old property and this was demonstrated when I got back to my room to find the door lock wouldnt open! However the Polish night porter was very handy with a hammer( maybe used to be a plumber?) and got me back in my room in about 10 minutes.
For a room rate of only £25 at this time of year, this place is incredibly good value in comparison to all the other lodges & inns nearby - and you get free wifi.

Room Tip: Rear ones have nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sleepytopcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

On our way to see an exhibition, we booked this hotel at £50/night, knowing it was in a Service Area off the motorway. The room was big, both beds - we booked a twin-bedded room - were 39" and comfortable. The room was clean and we could not hear the traffic of the motorway. Why I'm not giving it 4 stars is because there was mould around the bathtub and the postion of the toilet rolls made it difficult if not impossible to sit properly. We both had to sit sideways. I would go back but because of the lack of eating facilities, I would make sure we had a meal somewhere else first. There is only a Costa Coffee shop and the Road Chef serves food till 9pm only. The choice at the Road Chef is more than limited and the price of a small cup of tea is £2.10. When we queried this, we were told that the prices were displayed. They were not, we double-checked. So sleep there but eat somewhere else. Romsey up the road (12 miles) has plenty of good restaurants as we found out the next day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back as you will be away from the motorway and you will be able to hear the bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie2149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
4.4 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
4.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
850 reviews
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton Airport Hotel
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West
4.4 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
1,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Southampton Rownhams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Southampton Rownhams

Property: Days Inn Southampton Rownhams
Address: Roadchef Motorway Service Area Rownhams Lane | M27 Southbound, Southampton SO16 8AP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn Southampton Rownhams 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Lastminute, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Days Inn Southampton Rownhams reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Southampton (Rownhams) Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing