We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Days Inn overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Southampton Rownhams
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
milton keynes
Level Contributor
171 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Days Inn overnight stay”
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We left the M27 at Rownhams and due to the coaches parked in the hotel car park drove straight past the entry to the hotel parking. This left us in the middle of the general car park and meant we had to drive the wrong way down the entry road to reach the car park! The signage for the hotel was not good, and you should be careful you dont end up doing the same thing! The room we had was on the ground floor, and was really an 'accessible' room with a disabled bathroom and twin beds. The room was clean and tidy with coffee and tea making facilities and a TV. The beds were not anchored to the floor so when you sat up and leant against the wall the bed flew across the room! We were woken at 5.30am by cleaners coming in to clean the room - they appeared unaware that the room was occupied! Reception offered free breakfast vouchers as an apology. As an overnight stop this hotel is OK but I would not want to stay any longer. Also take note the room rate is quite high if you book direct so look for another source to purchase.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandie89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    104
    54
    27
    20
See reviews for
113
82
14
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a week for work purposes
Checked in on a Sunday evening, the receptionist was really helpful
The car number plate recognizer was good as well
Again the bed was a bit soft for us and we found the bed to be a bit on the small side
We had a problem with the heater one night which the receptionist sorted out promptly
There is a Macdonalds, Costa, and another food outlet on site if these take your fancy
No frills but was the cheapest place in a very expensive area

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Great hotel, friendly staff, clean and cheap. Stayed for 7 night over a three week period for work and never had any issues.

Booked through the corporate website and had no problems at check in. Road noise not bad at all considering the location.

Beds were a little soft for me but that's me.

Room Tip: Odd numbers ground floor as they are shielded by trees and buildings from road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chockbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Room was clean,could be hard to find but they give you easy to follow directions.
I've paid alot more for less and if you want a few nights it's good value.
Because of location its not a holiday location though easy access to Southampton
Bournemouth New Forest etc.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shorty36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We knew full well of the location, so we didn't have problem getting to it like others.
Check-in was quick. Room was pretty spacious, bed was comfortable.
Though the room was rather warm. We had to open the window overnight, but then the traffic was pretty noisy as next to the motorway.
Still, not a bad stay considering the price.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CK242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We stayed here last Thursday as we were taking our daughter to Peppa Pig World and we had decided to drive in the evening so the children would sleep as it is a 4.5 hour journey from where we live with a 9 month old and a 5 year old.

We had advised the hotel on booking & also by phone on the day that we would be arriving late and we would need a bed for a child and a cot in the room.

We like others, got lost and ended up in the village at midnight. We tried to call the hotel to be directed in & were greeted with an Orange voicemail!!! We found our way back to the services but were on the wrong side of the motorway for the hotel, we went in Rownhams services and a member of staff there told us it wasn't possible to park at the other side of the motorway and that we had to walk under the underpass!!!!!!!!! So we dragged our stuff and 2 children,a by then wide a awake baby and a terrified 5 year old under the underpass at 1am! Only to reach the other side and find cars parked directly outside the hotel!!

On arrival at the hotel there was no one on reception, after pressing the bell several times a guy appeared, I went on to tell him of our troubles and having to drag the children under the underpass and then realised he could speak barely a word of English!!!!

He gave us the key to our room............. no cot and no bed made up for our daughter! So at 1am I was putting a duvet in the cover and making my daughters bed up myself. My husband had to go with the guy to find a cot as he didn't understand what we meant and we had to help him to put it up. Then he didn't understand the word mattress, so we had to fold up a duvet and put it in the bottom for the baby to sleep on!

Totally disguting and I would have complained & requested a refund in the morning, but again there was no one on reception at all, so we threw our keys down and left.

I will be writing a formal complaint but as a warning - do not stay in this hotel!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JemmaDunmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southampton hotels

Northampton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Good price, convenient location, friendly/helpful staff, clean room.
-Just what I needed for a cheap 1 night stay when at a wedding locally.

The free Mars Bar & bottle of water upon arrival too was a nice touch!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PartyBoyMarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
4.4 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
4.9 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,680 reviews
4.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West
3.7 mi away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#1 of 24 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
4.4 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Southampton Rownhams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Southampton Rownhams

Property: Days Inn Southampton Rownhams
Address: Roadchef Motorway Service Area Rownhams Lane | M27 Southbound, Southampton SO16 8AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn Southampton Rownhams 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Days Inn Southampton Rownhams reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Southampton (Rownhams) Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing