We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel good but dont get breakfast package”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Southampton Rownhams
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“hotel good but dont get breakfast package”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The Hotel is fine for one or two nights stays as it is on the motorway service station, no access from east side , only from going west, not a problem for me, but could be if you do not know the area.to the offer of £7.95 breakfast deal at hotel, but found out it was at the service area on the other side of motorway, had to walk under the tunnel could be a problem if weather is bad, Found that they only started serving from 9.00 am , which seemed late but we waited and waited till 9.20 still no food so walked out and got our money back. i know it is not Days inn run . but they should sort out service. As the hotel is mainly used overnight by workmen and travelers breakfast from at least 7.30 am would make more sense. Would use hotel again but not with food offer

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianhathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    107
    57
    27
    20
See reviews for
117
84
15
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Stayed here for one night. Reception was very friendly, check in was quick and painless. The room faced the highway, but it was still perfectly quite. We asked for a room for 3 adults, and we actually received 3 beds, 2 regular beds for 2 people each and a 3rd extra cot just in case. Not needed, but nice to have. The beds were a bit soft, but that was the only minor quibble. Great value hotel to crash for the night.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sebas12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

A one night stay here whilst visiting friends in Southampton. The Hotel is located on the motorway, so it is a bit of a mission to get into the centre of Southampton but for meeting friends its ideal and met all my needs.

The check inn staff were excellent. I arrived at 9am and whilst I could not check in, they sorted out free parking for my car for the day and next day, whilst I went off walking. I also arrived on the access road instead of through the services and this was no trouble and they let me through.

The room is basic but you would expect that for a budget hotel. The bed is soft but sleeping here on my own its no problem, however with someone I could see that there would be a problem. I also really appreciated the free wifi here as well. Despite being on a motorway the room was quiet and I had a good night sleep.

Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the side away from the motorway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bradfordgull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Thanks for a great nights stay, everything was easy,requested very early check in and everything was ready when arrived at 10 am. The staff at check-in very helpfull ,and she did it with a lovely smile.Rooms are spacious.beds are comfortable,and very very clean!!!Highly recommend this hotel. This hotel is spotless and offers excellent value for money,Its really 2 stars only?????Mrs Brown

Room Tip: Very quiet and clean rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liliana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larkfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

Location is perfect for a quick stopover - just off the motorway slip road. Large family room with cot & sofa bed already made-up for us. Friendly staff on arrival & CCTV covered parking area. Only negative was the soft bed.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 16taz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

I made a night stopover in this Hotel. It´s beside the motorway, with a small service area adjacent. Rooms are big, i think they are currently working on some improvements because my room was recently painted. The room cleaningness was good, so was the toilet. Flat screen TV and free WIFI worked great. On the other hand: they should improve urgently their beds, mine was really soft (felt like an old one) and not confortable. The service area food offer is McDonalds and a small restaurant i think it´s name is Road Chefs.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Got to be one of the worse beds. The bed was so soft that we woke each other up with every movement and rolled into the middle. I inadvertently booked a twin room which the receptionist kindly changed to a double for us, wish I hadn't bothered. The staff are friendly and helpful. The free wifi is great. The shower was more like standing under a hose than a shower head. We stayed for convenience and payed full price, I expected it to be better than a Travelodge but it wasn't. Will find elsewhere another time.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susan-Ducis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southampton hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
4.4 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
4.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
850 reviews
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton Airport Hotel
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West
4.4 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
1,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Southampton Rownhams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Southampton Rownhams

Property: Days Inn Southampton Rownhams
Address: Roadchef Motorway Service Area Rownhams Lane | M27 Southbound, Southampton SO16 8AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn Southampton Rownhams 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Southampton Rownhams reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Southampton (Rownhams) Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing