We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“once again good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Southampton Airport Hotel
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
somerset
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“once again good value”
Reviewed 14 February 2012

friendly staff on welcome and check out, clean, good sleep as expected although front of hotel may be slightly quieter

Room Tip: try front of hotel not rear on road and rail side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pikelou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    567
    396
    130
    45
    25
See reviews for
329
385
107
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Riberac, France
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Stayed hear now a few times, ideal for the airport as you can walk from the hotel as it is in the airport grounds 3 mins walk.
Also a train station is a 2 min walk so getting into London or to Southampton city is very easy, its cheaper then driving and parking.
The hotel i have eaten at and is ok would not go for breakfast again though both times it has not been great, the staff cant seem to cope.
But the reception staff are very helpful, the rooms as allways are large huge bed so clean, cant hear any road or plane noise at all.
Overall a good place to stay

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blackie06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

I have stayed in this hotel twice now, on both occasions to go out in Southampton. This hotel is a good Premier Inn. It's very clean, rooms are pleasant if of course typical Premier Inn decor. There is a nicely decorated restaurant and bar area, the quality of the food is fine with quite an extensive menu. Car parking facilities are excellent, and the hotel is walking distance from the airport and railway station. There is also a very regular bus to Southampton which stops outside the hotel and passes both universities on its way into the city. Staff are very pleasant and helpful. Only negative is that while the external soundproofing is very good (no problem with planes), this is not the case with the internal soundproofing so if you have a snorer in the room next door you'll know.

Overall very good value for money, because it is not in the city centre you can get really good deals here.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holsworthy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We have actually stayed here a few times but I have finally got round to writing a review. We stayed for one night prior to departing on a cruise. We had booked on line and got a very good rate, found the room with two large Queen size beds to be very clean and as we expected. The hotel has a bar and restaurant which is slightly better than pub grub and all very well presented serviced quickly and not too expensive. Breakfast can be had here too if you want with choice of just about anything on a buffet including cooked.
All in all this is a fine example of the Premier Inn range of hotels and I would thoroughly recommend it especially if you are departing or arriving at this airport or Southampton Docks. The train station is a short walk away if you want to go into the city centre and there are also bus stops opposite. Very well located.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolynkernow48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Adjacent to the airport and easily accessed is this large, conveniently located Premier Inn. The car park has an access barrier and is ticketed, which is then validated, so you can leave without charge. The receptionist was friendly and helpful, and this area leads to lifts on the left, that access the rooms, past inviting vending machines selling the tempting Ben and Jerry’s Ice Cream. In the other direction was the Thyme Restaurant, a spacious area with different lunch and dinner menus, our shared potato skins with sour cream and salsa for lunch, was a tasty pit stop. The evening menu is accompanied with calorific values for each meal – scary! From the healthy Salmon Nicoise Salad, to the belt busting Mixed Grill.

Our room was large, uncluttered and clean. The bathroom had an impressive power shower and a bath, with scorching hot water on tap. The room itself had a well-positioned HD TV, storage facilities and a huge queen sized bed. Tea and coffee making facilities were basic but welcome.

After a good night’s sleep on a comfortable bed and shielded from excess road noise, by quadruple glazing, it was time for breakfast. Again in the Thyme restaurant, a good selection of cereals, juice, fruit and hot drinks. A choose your own parts to a Full English, was followed by toast or croissants. Fairly basic, but just what you need for a long journey. Overall, a place we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timerobot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loubes-Bernac, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We stayed in this PI prior to an early morning flight and were very impressed by the staff - they were all very polite, friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble and every request greeted with a smile - how often does that happen? Particularly enjoyed the simple fare in the restaurant (we had dinner and breakfast) which was well cooked and presented and served hot! we would definitely recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
138 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

As you would expect a premier inn to be, but needs better internal soundproofing

Decided to book the premier inn as I had a REALLY important meeting at the airport at 8am, and decided that the extra cost of a night here was levelled out by trying to get to the airport early in the morning and paying for parking when I could just leave the car at the hotel. Had read reviews, noting good and bad points, and phoned premier inn to confirm I could leave the car there whilst at the meeting, which was due to finish mid morning. So I checked in at 2pm, hoping to spend the afternoon getting some work done, nice enough hotel, 'securish' parking, confused, but polite staff, a cramped reception and the usual tight corridors, but getting there so early meant i could ensure a room away from the lift and stairs. The room was nice, as clean as i would expect, reasonably smart. I was impressed with the sound insulation from the noise of the airport, couldn't hear jets starting 150metres away. Room had everything I expected, was spacious and nicely laid out. Had a drink and snack in the bar in the evening, usual hotel pricing, but reasonable quality, lots of regular guests chatting with the staff.

The trouble was when I came to try and sleep, i don't know what the person above was doing but their pacing back and forth was amplified so much it felt they were stomping on my head, everytime i started to doze, they seemed to find some other reason to strut across the room, every single step echoing! I know there are times your mind enhances things that cause stress, but come on, i had slept in many cheap hotels and motels across the world, but none had sound insulation this bad, even ear plugs didn't seem to help. The other issue was the cold, considering external sound was so well insulated, the double glazing, with added secondary double glazing, didn't keep the cold out, and this comes from someone that doesn't really feel the cold, the a/c was awful, the air coming out was stale and weak. I didn't mention anything to the confused reception staff when checking out first thing having had pretty much no sleep. But when I visited the premier inn website to leave feedback, I noticed the good nights sleep guarantee, so I have passed on my comments and asked how this policy affects me! I shall wait for a response. My verdict is, if you can get a cheap room, can get a top floor room ,or can sleep through anything, and you have no feelings and your own air supply, this is the place for you!

Room Tip: Get their as early as you can, choose top floor airport facing at end of the corridor for quietness...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marktheevildude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Southampton Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have a quiet stay in a clean and comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured your comments have been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
3.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#4 of 24 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#1 of 24 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
3.9 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Southampton Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Southampton Airport Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Southampton Airport Hotel
Address: Mitchell Way, Southampton SO18 2XU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Southampton
#2 Business Hotel in Southampton
#3 Romantic Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Southampton Airport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're flying to Northern Europe, Southampton Airport is the easy way to go. And there's nowhere more convenient to stay than Premier Inn Hotel Southampton Airport. We're handy for all the local attractions too, from the delights of Southampton city centre through to the adventure playground that is the New Forest National Park. Fly off to Amsterdam, Geneva or countless other destinations across Europe. Or take off to explore some fascinating history at Southampton's SeaCity Museum or Tudor House and Garden. Or pay a flying visit to Paultons Family Theme Park and spend some time with Peppa Pig. Then come into land back at the hotel, with a meal at our restaurant and a flight to the land of nod in a comfy bed. Directions: Exit the M27(J5) taking the A335 towards Eastleigh. Turn right at the roundabout onto Wide Lane. Take 1st exit off the next roundabout onto Mitchell Way. Please note, parking charged at 3GBP for 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Southampton Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Southampton Airport Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing