We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Southampton Airport Hotel
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Reviewed 13 January 2013

I stayed one night based on convenience - an early flight the next day.

Check-in was ok...a bit of confusion over whether breakfast was included...we'd got two rooms, paid the same but one was B&B and one was Room Only. Sorted quickly and without fuss.

Room 125 was spacious, conforming to the typical Premier Inn footprint. Big bed - quite comfortable.

Food was ok - prawn cocktail was well presented but tasteless; steak slightly overcooked (medium rather than medium rare) and the au poivre sauce lacked body and flavour. That said, it was good value and the service was friendly and attentive.

The bar area was adequate although the service was on the slow side, even though it wasn't that busy (only one member of staff serving at the time).

Breakfast was ok although the coffee was very bitter....robusta beans I guess. Spend a bit more on Arabica and you're home and dry!

The best bits - the service in the restaurant and the value for money
The worst bits - the pillows. Please sort out the one pillow, two pillow conundrum! One isn't enough, two is too many and you feel like your head is perpendicular to the bed..ouch! Why not have one fat pillow and two slim pillows so the client can build their 'stack' as they wish?

Anyway...the stay was fine overall and very handy for the airport.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LikeItRight64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,273)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Southampton Airport Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

973 - 979 of 1,273 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2013

Very clean with all facilities required for a good night's stay. Helpful staff at reception and in adjoining restaurant. Very quiet, despite being opposite airport. Fantastic value for £29 per room. Breakfast and evening meal very good and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOHN28_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Booked for 3 nights travelling form the north of england to visit relatives
Spacious family room.
Very up to date and clean facilities
Excellent food for both dinner and breakfast
Definately would stay again

Room Tip: Very quiet hotel considering right across form airport. Would reccomend ground floor rooms
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamieLowdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We have just spent a very enjoyable two days at the Southampton Airport Premier Inn.
I would really recommend this particular Hotel.
We were very impressed with how modern this place was.
The Staff were extremely friendly and went out of their way to make sure we were all comfortable.
We had hesitated about booking as we thought this Hotel might have been too far out of Southampton but it was very convenient for the Airport and the trains. It was full of Cruise passengers while we were there.
The restaurant was a pleasure to visit. The staff were very friendly and very hard working and while we were there had to deal with some difficult customers who didn't like queueing ! Unfortunately some people are rather selfish and stay in the restaurant too long after finishing their meal. The staff then have to find alternative eating places for the remaining customers who are waiting. We were more than happy to eat our meal in the bar area but others weren't so keen. The restaurant is rather small for this hotel. You really do need to book for the Evening Meal and for breakfast.
We took advantage of the Meal Deal on offer which we thought was excellent value for money.
There were some excellent choices on the menu but we did wish there had been one or two less calorific desserts on offer for those of us watching our waistlines !
All in all this is an excellent choice if you don't mind being slightly further away from Southampton. I would say a car would be an advantage but there were lots of taxis coming back and fore while we were there. Parking might be a problem at busy times ! We were lucky and found the last space when we arrived.

Room Tip: I don't know why but we always have a herd of elephants in the room above us !!! Some people ca...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TizzyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Booked purely for convenience because I had a 7am flight from Southampton airport. Very impressed: spacious, clean room, very comfortable. Dinner was good. Sadly, I left too early to take advantage of the breakfast but my other half said it was excellent.The staff were uniformly pleasant and helpful. And very convenient for the airport.

Room Tip: Our room was airport side, very quiet.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaereste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We have stayed at this Premier inn at least 10 times each time has been a different adventure from paying £29 or full price for a room, As like others we prefer the Airport side due to the road being noisy at the back of the hotel, Our last stay was the 31st December which we booked for £19 we also booked a few weeks later the 1st January 2013 this was a seperate booking when we arrived we booked in sorted out the breakfast but because these were 2 seperate bookings we couldnt sort out the next days breakfast until that day we were told to let reception know the next day and book the breakfast then, We were also told that we would stay in the same room.
So after breakfast the next day on our way out for the day we booked back in and ordered the breakfast, On our return that evening we came back to and un-made bed, dirty cups, no replenished coffee etc,This we queried at reception to be told that there was no housekeeping done due to no staff being on duty, The receptionist gave us replenishments for the room, In the 3 years plus we have been using this hotel we have found most of the staff to be helpful and friendly but the cleanliness is gradually on the decline when you look around the rooms dust is gathering on the lamp shades and fittings and the headboards top ledge with cobwebs on the ceiling and hairs in the bathroom , But remains a favorite stay plus good value at the lower prices

Room Tip: All rooms are the same
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wokitup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

..you will never have the traffic disturbing your sleep ...
indeed if you close the window and the black-out drapes you will have trouble finding the bed !!
We just spent 12 days here over the holidays ..
Clean modern hotel with a great price ..
friendly staff in both hotel and at both breakfast and dinner we got great value all round ..
We will stay here again ..

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bhgoodwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
3.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 25 in Southampton
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Southampton
2.5 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#3 of 25 in Southampton
1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Southampton Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Southampton Airport Hotel

Address: Mitchell Way, Southampton SO18 2XU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Southampton
#2 Business Hotel in Southampton
#3 Romantic Hotel in Southampton
Price Range: £44 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Southampton Airport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're flying to Northern Europe, Southampton Airport is the easy way to go. And there's nowhere more convenient to stay than Premier Inn Hotel Southampton Airport. We're handy for all the local attractions too, from the delights of Southampton city centre through to the adventure playground that is the New Forest National Park. Fly off to Amsterdam, Geneva or countless other destinations across Europe. Or take off to explore some fascinating history at Southampton's SeaCity Museum or Tudor House and Garden. Or pay a flying visit to Paultons Family Theme Park and spend some time with Peppa Pig. Then come into land back at the hotel, with a meal at our restaurant and a flight to the land of nod in a comfy bed. Directions: Exit the M27(J5) taking the A335 towards Eastleigh. Turn right at the roundabout onto Wide Lane. Take 1st exit off the next roundabout onto Mitchell Way. Please note, parking charged at 3GBP for 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Southampton Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Southampton Airport Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing