We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good solid Premier Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Southampton Airport Hotel
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good solid Premier Inn”
Reviewed 21 July 2008

We have just returned from an overnight stay at this hotel. It is very handy for Southampton airport being situated a 2 minute walk from the terminal and 1 minute from Southampton Airport Parkway railway station.

The hotel itself has only been built in the last couple of years and so is more modern in design and furnishings than some of the older Premier Inns. We had a room facing the airport but there was no airport noise at all. The room was sufficiently large for our short stay and the bed was large and comfortable.

As with the other Premier Inns we have stayed in the best part of the stay was the breakfast. There's a really good selection and sets you up for the day ahead perfectly! The breakfast area is reasonably small and there wasn't much room for us but the staff were friendly and made up another table in the restaurant area with no fuss.

Overall a really good stay and very handy if you are using Southampton airport as a base.

  • Liked — The breakfast
  • Disliked — Small restaurant
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ap998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    565
    394
    130
    45
    25
See reviews for
329
385
107
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2008

Just stayed here for 3 nights as I was working in the area.

The hotel was clean and quite fresh inside. My room was fine, like a Travelodge with frills i.e. kettle and a picture on the wall!
TV with about 3 extra sky channels.

Room was quiet and offered a good nights sleep but after the first night I had to switch the air conditioner off as it kept waking me up when it kicked in

The room and bathroom seemed quite new and was cleaned to a good standard each day.

For my first night I went down to the restaurant and was given a look of disbelief as I didn't have a reservation (despite the many empty tables), I made a reservation and returned an hour later. The same happened to a lady while I was there, several tables remained empty until she came back!?!

The menu had a reasonable choice and the specials menu looks like it changes on a regular basis. I asked for a lemonade only to be told the had run out and yet I saw customers being served with it after me.

I then had to wait 30 minutes for my starter and a further 30 minutes for my main, I wasn't the only one. The food was passable.

The second night I didn't risk it and ate before I came back but then struggled to find a parking space. Due to this I braved the restaurant for my last night and was sure to make a reservation as soon as i got in. I could eat at any time I wanted as long as it was 20-past or 20-to the hour!! The service was quicker, food ok.

The best part about the restaurant was breakfast, something for everyone and as much as you want.

Maybe I'm being too picky, I'd stay there again and it's ideal for the airport.

  • Liked — Bathroom
  • Disliked — Resturant
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Little_Way_Down
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2008

I have just spent a night at the Premier Inn at Southampton Airport and cannot fault this hotel at all.
The staff were excellent, friendly and very knowledgeable.
The rooms were immaculate and very quiet considering it is next to the airport.
If you are ever in Southampton for business or pleasure this hotel is fantastic

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank golfer45Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
83 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2007

Ideally situated for both Southampton Parkway railway station and the airport; the Travel Inn has very quiet bedrooms considering its location.
Staff are helpful and the restaurant is fine.
To be recommended if you have an early morning flight from SOU.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BisleyBullet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2006

Okay, so the place lacks style and charm.

But the rooms are spacious and clean. Three colleagues and I stayed three nights, and ate in the restaurant each night. The food was great, with a different special every day. Breakfast was fine. Beers were the usual choice of three lagers and Guinness, but there you go.

There were two nice waitresses.

The only thing that let the place down was the bizarre heating/cooling unit in the bedroom. It served its purpose – but had two settings, Very Loud and Extremely Noisy. I couldn’t sleep with it on. Why don’t they have central heating and air conditioning?

Having said that, I’d definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2006, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DessertStorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bray, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2005

I've stayed here quite a few times when working for the University of Southampton (very handy as U1 bus goes from the station a few seconds from the hotel door to the Highfield campus). The rooms are very spacious and considering near a road and the airport very well sound proofed. You are only paying £67 a night for your room so don't expect the Ritz but I do take exception to some of the staff's attitude towards their guests. The restaurant in particular is dire - the menu seems good and diverse but the food is over cooked ( left too long under the grill/deep fat fryer!) and bland. For the first time in my life I sent back a meal - it was Chicken Tikka Masala but was in a horrid bland sauce and the chicken pieces were perfectly square and processed - yuk! The girl asked me was the meal OK , I told her my complaint and she apologied but I was still charged for the meal as "it is one of our most popular dishes!". The staff seem to be more interested in chatting to each other than doing their job. One morning for breakfast there was no cups and the bread was frozen - every one was really peed off but the staff' attitude was "it's not my fault we don't have enough cups" etc. My husband tried ringing me one night and the phone just rang out , when I rang reception the same happened. When I eventually got through and checked I had the right number I was told "I'm on my own and busy - no "I'm sorry" . Anyway at the risk of sounding like Alan Partridge, I'm back in Southampton next week and literally couldn't face back to the same staff so am going to try my luck with Jury's Inn. I would recommend this hotel if you avoid the restaurant and need little contact with the staff.

  • Stayed October 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lizzyd66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
3.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#3 of 24 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#1 of 24 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
3.9 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Southampton Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Southampton Airport Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Southampton Airport Hotel
Address: Mitchell Way, Southampton SO18 2XU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Southampton
#2 Business Hotel in Southampton
#2 Best Value Hotel in Southampton
#3 Romantic Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Southampton Airport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're flying to Northern Europe, Southampton Airport is the easy way to go. And there's nowhere more convenient to stay than Premier Inn Hotel Southampton Airport. We're handy for all the local attractions too, from the delights of Southampton city centre through to the adventure playground that is the New Forest National Park. Fly off to Amsterdam, Geneva or countless other destinations across Europe. Or take off to explore some fascinating history at Southampton's SeaCity Museum or Tudor House and Garden. Or pay a flying visit to Paultons Family Theme Park and spend some time with Peppa Pig. Then come into land back at the hotel, with a meal at our restaurant and a flight to the land of nod in a comfy bed. Directions: Exit the M27(J5) taking the A335 towards Eastleigh. Turn right at the roundabout onto Wide Lane. Take 1st exit off the next roundabout onto Mitchell Way. Please note, parking charged at 3GBP for 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Premier Inn and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Premier Inn Southampton Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Southampton Airport Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing