We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Southampton Airport Hotel
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed here for three nights over Easter, using it as a base to explore the south coast. Rooms were ok, typical of Premier Inns across the country. Breakfast good and plentiful. Didn't use the restaurant of an evening as we usually eat out. Only downside we had was not being able to book a twin room with travel cot (as the online booking defaults to family room when cot option specified). This left the "twin" bed as a mattress on the floor. Will take this up with Premier Inn next time. No problem with noise or disturbance from other rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

783 - 789 of 1,292 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

In general Premier Inns are fine if all you want is a bed for the night. That's all I wanted, and I got it but unfortunately the rooms are not sufficiently soundproofed. When I got into my room I could hear 2 different TV programmes coming from elsewhere. After a nice (but slow) meal in the restaurant I turned in around 2300. I could still clearly hear someone else's TV. Fair enough, they might be hard of hearing I thought but then the snoring began from another room I guess. This went on until I decided to get up well before the alarm for an early flight. You can't help it if you have a hippo in the room next door or in the room above / below snoring for all they were worth but you can insulate rooms well enough again this. Maybe it was just my bad luck but I've never had this problem at Holiday Inns or Mercure hotels and I stay away 80+ nights a year. I don't live that far away but due to the 0645 flight thought I would start the day fresh - instead I started with a headache and feeling knackered!! Not a happy bunny.

Room Tip: Bring your ear plugs if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FairReviewUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Southampton Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have a quiet stay in a comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Arriving at the train station one day and flying to France from the airport the next, we were happy to spend the night in a hotel that is just a few minutes walk from both. Our room had sufficient space as well as comfortable twin beds. There was no bothersome noise at night , and the shower worked well. My only complaints are that here (and perhaps all Premier Inns) WIFI use beyond 30 minutes per day costs 3 pounds extra, and dingy lighting makes shaving in the bathroom difficult and reading in bed uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lazycanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights with family in family room. Hotel dated and rooms dated with small old flat screen tv not like the nice new large screen tv in the more modern premier inns also the room was on the small size and my daughter slept on a mattress on the floor not a bed settee like we had last month at Plymouth premier inn. These small niggles not that bad as the staff were excellent especially in the restaurant and the price was half the usual price just £35 per night booked two months in advance. We all had a good time and cheap prices make all the difference between staying away or not

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Had to find a hotel close to wessex vale crematorium; this hotel was it. Having stayed at other Premier Inn could book with confidence knowing service we could expect. This was a larger hotel than others we had stayed in but it still met our expectations. It was the first time we had a buffet style premier breakfast as opposed to an individually cooked choice. The food was of good quality, dishes were replaced quickly and in quantities that ensured food was fresh and all options available.

I hope I don't have to visit the hotel for similar reasons but it is also ideally located for airport and railway station.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Third time at this highly convenient airport hotel.Very short distance from Southampton airport Very efficient and friendly service, all as before,thus reliable and good value. Despite proximity to airport it was perfectly quiet. Liked least: breakfast coffees and teas have to be carried from bar at other end of self service restaurant,. I would have thought this was potentially dangerous, especially with little children around?

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerry b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as we had a very early flight from southamptom airport in the morning.

I was amazed as the room was very low cost for 2 adults and 2 small kids (3 and 5 yrs) and it was very well presented and felt like a 4 star hotel - nice room, very modern, very clean, large bed and very comfy and nice and quiet.

The staff were all very friendly and helpfull.

We had rung ahead first to pre-order dinner for our 10pm arrival. We said to just cook us a couple of burgers and we'd eat them when we arrived as we knew the kitchen would have closed by the time we got there. Actually they stayed open and offered us the full menu when we walked in after 10pm. I had a burger which was fantastic - a real gourmet burger with all the trimmings - like being in the USA. I was really impressed.

They looked after us very well and the staff engaged with our kids and brought them colouring books and crayons etc...

It was a very pleasant experience and a real surprise considering the low cost. This place punches well above its weight and felt like a top quality hotel but at B & B prices.

We really could not fault the hotel - really impressed.

They have airport trollies in the lobby and it's a short walk of about 400 meters to the airport terminal. We did this at 5am with our young kids and all our suitcases and it was a bit of a nightmare to be honest - NOT THE HOTEL'S FAULT IN ANY WAY - but the pavement is incredibly badly designed and every drop curb is on a sideways slope with raised concrete 'buttons' on the floor - the combination of which upset our trollies and catapaulted all our cases off the trollies and sent bags flying over the pavement and into the road!!!! This happened 3 times to both trollies in this short distance. It was impossible to stop the trollies sliding sideways and everything falling off. If it had been cold, or wet, or windy then this would have trully been a nightmare for us. It was a frustrating and dangerous start to our trip and could have been so easily avoided if the airport designers had any common sense at all.

I'm sorry to say it is typical of idiotic street design and layout by designers - no thought into what people will actually be using the pavement for and clearly whoever designed this pavement has never had to push a trolley or carry a heavy bag to or from an airport.

THIS RIDICULOUS PAVEMENT DESIGN FORCES YOU TO PUSH YOUR TROLLEY DOWN THE MAIN ROAD IF YOU WANT TO AVOID THE DROP CURB HAZARDS TIPPING YOUR TROLLEY OVER !!!! How crazy is that?

After such a nice stay at the hotel and being so close to the terminal it is trully ludicrous to create an obstacle course between the 2 like this.

Even though it is only about 400 meters walk I would book a taxi for the bags next time as I can see no other option - it is ridiculous.

I feel very sorry for this lovely hotel that some idiot has created such a difficult pavement between them and the airport terminal - shame on you airport designers!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woodielisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
3.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#5 of 25 in Southampton
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
3.7 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#13 of 25 in Southampton
999 reviews
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Southampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Southampton Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Southampton Airport Hotel

Address: Mitchell Way, Southampton SO18 2XU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Southampton
#2 Business Hotel in Southampton
#2 Best Value Hotel in Southampton
#3 Romantic Hotel in Southampton
Price Range: £46 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Southampton Airport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're flying to Northern Europe, Southampton Airport is the easy way to go. And there's nowhere more convenient to stay than Premier Inn Hotel Southampton Airport. We're handy for all the local attractions too, from the delights of Southampton city centre through to the adventure playground that is the New Forest National Park. Fly off to Amsterdam, Geneva or countless other destinations across Europe. Or take off to explore some fascinating history at Southampton's SeaCity Museum or Tudor House and Garden. Or pay a flying visit to Paultons Family Theme Park and spend some time with Peppa Pig. Then come into land back at the hotel, with a meal at our restaurant and a flight to the land of nod in a comfy bed. Directions: Exit the M27(J5) taking the A335 towards Eastleigh. Turn right at the roundabout onto Wide Lane. Take 1st exit off the next roundabout onto Mitchell Way. Please note, parking charged at 3GBP for 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Southampton Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Southampton Airport Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing