We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont stay there” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dont stay there”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

Arrived to be met by a grumpy man who demanded £5 for me to park my car in the hotel car park! When I got to my room I discovered there was a choice of 4 TV channels and radio 4. No doubt to force customers up to the sky tv bar if they want to watch anything. Went for a shower only to discover the soap holder was empty. At 8pm went to the restaurant and was kept waiting 10 minutes before being told they were too busy to offer me a table. You are ripped off from the minute you arrive at this hotel. The worst premier inn I have ever stayed in and I use them a couple of nights every week for work throughout the uk.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simon33055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2011
Thank you for your review. It really matters to us that our guest have a comfortable nights sleep, and we guarantee this. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high level of service in all our establishments and we do apologise that on this occasion we failed to do this. Your comments have been noted and will be duly followed up by both our Guest Relations Team and the Management team at this hotel. Once again thank you for your review we do hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    612
    480
    146
    66
    42
See reviews for
381
423
84
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Northwest
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

Location is great very near to city centre. Booked family room and daughter had bed not just bed settee which is usually case. Very quiet no traffic noise and did have a 'good nights sleep'. Breakfast was good and good value money especially with teenager eating free! Far better than travelodge & have now converted. Only downside was rubbish in the city! Bin men been on strike 7 weeks so as you can imagine not a pretty sight!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hattieNorthwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
252 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

We stayed here post-cruise for 2 nights. I was really shocked at how nice the hotel was, given the rate and the fact that I had never heard of Premier Inn before.

The rooms were very clean, large, and had a nice TV with plently of channels. The bathroom was clean and modern, and the the tub was huge (though I believe we were in a handicap room). The location is very centered easily walkable to everything in Southampton.

The food in the resturant was very good, which also was surprising. The staff were very nice and approachable.

My only compliant is the lack of free internet. They had a computer in the lobby that you could pay to use, but the staff could not get it to work.

Overall, a great stay and a tremendous value for the money.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adamsaintlouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

Car parking is pandemonium car park was full of vans & pick up trucks & parked with no concern of other users ( many cars were blocked in & they charge £5 a night for this ), check in was quick & easy, there is general feeling of tattiness about the place, reception is drab & soulless it all needs a re-fit, the lifts kept locking out & as the restaurant / bar is on the 5th floor you need a sherpa to get to it, the restaurant was the best part of my visit quick friendly service, my room was clean but a bit ragged in places but reeked of cigarette smoke & was almost on the railway line that runs constantly alongside ( must be the main freight from the docks ), all in all not a great experience.

Room Tip: Go to one of the others in the area ( West Quay is great ).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnS53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2011
Thank you for your review. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to provide guests with a comfortable stay and deliver a high level of service in all our establishments, both in our hotels and restaurants. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed provide this. Please be assured that your comments will be duly followed up by Guest Relations and the Management Team at this hotel. We hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

I felt very secure as entry to lits and individual floors is only by keycard. My room was spacious, exceptionally clean and with an extremely comfortable bed complete with mattress topper. The bathroom was also spacious and clean. Shower pressure could have been better but perhaps I picked the wrong time to shower as I have stayed here before and the shower was excellent. I was welcomed at breakfast and staff enquired if my food was all right; my croissant was warmed for me and the coffee was of a much higher standard than usually available in hotels towards the end of the breakfast period. I was particularly impressed that fresh hot food was brought out shortly before the end of service; I have stayed in more upmarket hotels where this would not have happened.

Room Tip: First floor was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hertsmum35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

We stayed here prior to a Cruise and I have to say were pleasantly surprised.
It is the first time staying in a Premier Inn and we were recommended this hotel from some friends that had stayed here a few months ago.
It have everything we could need, the room was great and very clean. In is looking a little tired in places, particularly the corridors, but the room was lovely.
The restaurant on the 6th floor was also very nice, it had a great menu and the team really went out of their way and looked after us.
A fabulous stay and we will be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dianamarkey12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

Had a wonderful stay in this hotel whilst visiting family in Southampton.
We originally phoned to make a reservation but were informed that it might by slightly cheaper in the internet. Not just slightly! £61 we were quoted when we phoned, but on the internet we got a room for £29. Also we opted for their meal deal at £22 for our evening meal and breakfast, so a real bargain of £52 for Dinner, Bed and Breakfast!
The staff were very friendly at both the reception and the restaurant on the 5th floor.
The room was great, fully air-conditioned, flat screen TV, was modern feeling and very clean.
The only down side was the car-parking at this hotel. We managed to get the last space at 5pm!
Oh and also the parking charge was £5, not something you would expect when you are staying in the hotel and considering how much of a bargain the rest was, this was an unexpected cost.
All in all a wonderful stay and we will return, but look out for the offers and don’t just phone and book!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LindaWright1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#1 of 24 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
Address: New Road | New Road, Southampton SO14 0AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Southampton
#4 Business Hotel in Southampton
#5 Family Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southampton City Centre Premier Inn is located conveniently in the centre of Southampton, a 5 minute walk from all the main attractions. We offer clean, spacious rooms at an affordable price in the city centre. We are so confident you will enjoy your stay with us we offer a good night guarantee! Directions: From M27(J5), follow the A335 to City Centre. At Charlotte Place roundabout, take 3rd left East Park Terrace, then 1st left onto New Road. The hotel is on the right. Parking at this hotel is limited and charged at £4 per 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing