We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean comfortable roomy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Worthing Sussex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean comfortable roomy”
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Loved the choice of pillows. Would have been nice if our 2 rooms had been together rather than 3 floors apart!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NigelWorthingSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    629
    489
    150
    67
    44
See reviews for
389
438
86
229
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We stayed 2 nights before a cruise recently and thought the hotel was excellent value for money.
We had dinner both nights as well as breakfast and had no complaints at all. In fact food was excellent value for money too.
Reception staff were helpful about the surrounding area and how to get to cruise terminal.
Car parking wasn't a problem, we laways managed to get a space and at £4 per day we thought it was cheap!
There is a main road and a railway line very close to the hotel but to be honest we only heard the train in the bar once and that was because the windows were open.
Would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor room to minimise noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jollyjoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faringdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Hotel was clean and bright, food not that great but we just wanted a quick snack while we waited for our room. Barman was a little eccentric. Ideal location for Mayflower Theatre.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tbrownsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

This hotel was great value, the quality of the room was first class, the staff from the desk to the restaurant were really great. The only small issue is the car park which costs £4 for 24 hours and has limited spaces so try and get there early to get a space. The food both for breakfast and our evening meal was really good. I would recommend that you ask for a room at the front as the train line runs directly behind the hotel and whilst is does have double glazing its better to keep away form this noise. We are going on another cruise in January and will being staying here again . The package of £22 per person for breakfast , 3 course evening meal and a glass of wine is really worth it. The room only cost us £29.

Room Tip: ask for front rooms as railway runs at the back ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lancsamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Good position, comfortable rooms with great beds and bathrooms.
Parking available.
Perfect for business travelling.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kikikratka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
104 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

i stayed here with my girlfriend for the evening , as we were catching the ferry to the isle of wight early the next day. its in a great location easy to find with shops restaurants etc within easy walk, the room is pretty much a standard premier inn room all the same really, comfy bed tea an coffee facilities, tv (note: there is more than a couple of channels as someone else noted, you have to read the instructions and switch the tv onto digital service rather than standard and got the majority of free view channels).
only real downside to hotel as has been mentioned by a number of people is the parking, there was a lot of vans as well as cars when we arrived and car park was completely full, had to park around a 10 minute walk from hotel and pay £7, however they did allow me to park my car outside the door whilst i checked in so i didn't have to carry my bags etc back to hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reyno555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Arrived to be met by a grumpy man who demanded £5 for me to park my car in the hotel car park! When I got to my room I discovered there was a choice of 4 TV channels and radio 4. No doubt to force customers up to the sky tv bar if they want to watch anything. Went for a shower only to discover the soap holder was empty. At 8pm went to the restaurant and was kept waiting 10 minutes before being told they were too busy to offer me a table. You are ripped off from the minute you arrive at this hotel. The worst premier inn I have ever stayed in and I use them a couple of nights every week for work throughout the uk.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simon33055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2011
Thank you for your review. It really matters to us that our guest have a comfortable nights sleep, and we guarantee this. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high level of service in all our establishments and we do apologise that on this occasion we failed to do this. Your comments have been noted and will be duly followed up by both our Guest Relations Team and the Management team at this hotel. Once again thank you for your review we do hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,635 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#1 of 24 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
Address: New Road | New Road, Southampton SO14 0AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Southampton
#4 Business Hotel in Southampton
#5 Family Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southampton City Centre Premier Inn is located conveniently in the centre of Southampton, a 5 minute walk from all the main attractions. We offer clean, spacious rooms at an affordable price in the city centre. We are so confident you will enjoy your stay with us we offer a good night guarantee! Directions: From M27(J5), follow the A335 to City Centre. At Charlotte Place roundabout, take 3rd left East Park Terrace, then 1st left onto New Road. The hotel is on the right. Parking at this hotel is limited and charged at £4 per 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing