We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel for setting off for a cruise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great hotel for setting off for a cruise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

This hotel was very good value for money. The staff were very friendly and it really was great value for money £29 for 2 people. The food deal was also very good £22 per person for Full English breakfast and 3 course eveing meal and wine. The room was spotless. The rooms at the front are quieter than the ones in the back due to railway line at the back. Paking is also very small so get there early. Charge for parking £4 a day. I have stayed here before and really would recommend it to anyone. Very good security systems, card needed to get lift and access to doors on each floor before you get to your room.

Room Tip: pick one at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lancsamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    622
    484
    150
    66
    43
See reviews for
387
430
86
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

This is our fourth try at finding a decent hotel in Southampton that delivers both convenience and value for money. Having struck out three times, the Premier Inn on New Rd gets closest so far.
High rise, a short walk from the shops, clean and secure. But you will have to pay £4 to use the car park (if you can find a space - don't check in late) which Premier Inn emailed to inform me of after I'd booked and paid the non cancellation tariff.
If you can tether a mobile device you can also avoid the charge for wifi as 3G mobile signal was good.
There's a restaurant in the hotel and a number of eateries not far away. Walk across Palmerston Park and you are in the shopping precinct, it's close enough to make full use of that £4 charge to park instead of paying again elsewhere.
So, would I book again? Perhaps.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mfs1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

Stayed overnight before going on our cruise !
Rooms were very modern and clean
We used the resturant for late night eating as we arrived late and had breakfast in the morning.
Staff were very helpful and when we checked out we were able to leave luggage in a secure room until we had to go board our ship !

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CCee-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

My partner and I booked into this hotel on a Saturday night and were very pleasantly surprised at how good the service was and how comfortable the room was. Our room was spacious and the bed was enormously comfortable.The staff were very helpful and breakfast was very good.
We particularly liked the extra security of having to swipe your room key to use the lifts and to gain access to the floors, which made us feel much safer as it is located right in the centre of town. We were also surprised at how quiet our room was, considering the hotel is on such a busy junction.
Parking is limited though so think twice about bringing the car!

Room Tip: Family rooms are very spacious - rooms on the New Road side are quiet (away from the train line)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZanZanL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
home
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

Totally agree with all the other comments, the only downside was dinner, I had the Lasagne which was 'dire' over microwaved and no sauce or meat in it, the bottom layer looked and tasted like cardboard, My advice avoid it, good hotel if you are on the upper floors , as you can't hear the traffic going by,

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cleggt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

This was my first stay. The bright and cheerful staff in every area of the hotel really do live up to the hotel's declared high standards of service. There were none of the minor irritations often experienced in hotels. Car parking (£4 per night) was well organised. Check-in was exceptionally quick. The room was a good size. This is a budget hotel so don't expect towering glass atriums and cocktail lounges - in fact the lobby is a bit joyless - but it does offer very good value for money for a convenient city centre hotel for a short stay. The meal plan - three course dinner including a drink and eat-what-you-want breakfast - is also good value for money at £22.00. The menu for each course is limited to about four or five items from the a la carte menu but this was not a problem as the courses offered were well chosen and varied. I will stay at this hotel on my next trip and look out for Premier Inns in other cities I may visit for a short stay .

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snooks99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

this is a great place to stop, even has a choice of hard or soft pillows. Very clean and would definitly use this Inn again!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amberbotty63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#1 of 24 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#15 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
Address: New Road | New Road, Southampton SO14 0AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Southampton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Southampton
#5 Family Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southampton City Centre Premier Inn is located conveniently in the centre of Southampton, a 5 minute walk from all the main attractions. We offer clean, spacious rooms at an affordable price in the city centre. We are so confident you will enjoy your stay with us we offer a good night guarantee! Directions: From M27(J5), follow the A335 to City Centre. At Charlotte Place roundabout, take 3rd left East Park Terrace, then 1st left onto New Road. The hotel is on the right. Parking at this hotel is limited and charged at £4 per 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing