We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very unimpressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Had an important family gathering in Southampton so stayed at Premier Inn. Nice room although there was hair down the toilet so not sure if the room had been cleaned. On arrival we booked a taxi with the lady on reception. The taxi was 20 minutes late and we found out that the taxi had not been booked in the first place by reception when they had told us that they had so we arrived quite late. The taxi company confirmed that the taxi had been booked 5 minutes ago. I do like Premier Inn and have stayed in other Hotels but this particular Hotel was unfortunately a bit of a let down.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2012

Thank you for your review. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high standard of and service in a relaxed and comfortable environment, I sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed to do this. Please be assured your comments have been noted and will be followed up with the Customer Service Team at our Head Office. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,528)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,361 - 1,367 of 1,528 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2012

If you want to stay at a friendly and effecient run hotel, then this is the one..Dont be put off with the outside look of the building-judge when you have stayed..Check in very straight forward quick & friendly.
Comfortable clean rooms.
Excellent service in the restaurant & bar. breakfast is a must in this hotel, plenty to choose from. Lovely to see happy faces at breakfast, Jane & Edd in particular.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Chose hotel due to location and reputation . Have to say that both my wife and I could not fault either the cleanliness of the hotel, friendliness of staff and location. We were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived at the reception.
Bedroom/bathroom roomy and clean. Good breakfast too.Thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

I often stay at Premier Inns for business, on this occassion i decided to treat my wife to a 3 day break..The first night stay the restaurant was clearly in trouble with its heating and was a very cold place to dine. Jayne the restaurant manager was clearly trying to solve the problem but seemed to be a problem that could only be fixed by maintenance. There were many guests complaining about the coldness and giving Jayne a very hard time, her friendly and confident approach to the matter was very professional and what could have turned into a more difficult situation did not. Everything possible was done to make us more comfortable and warm. Thanks Jayne

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Ideal location, within easy walking distance of the port, shopping centres and the Mayflower Theatre. Basic room, clean and well maintained. The windows are triple glazed so you do not realise you are on a busy road. The breakfast was of a good standard. For a budget hotel this hotel gets top marks mainly because of the excellent reception and resturant staff, they are all friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble. My only complaint is having to pay for car parking.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickiTrowbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

My husband stayed here many times whilst working in Southampton and I would often join him in his stays there. Great reception-who will do all they can to help make your stay a good one. Great clean rooms. (We always like Premier Inn as they have a high standard of cleanliness) Good size room and good sized and comfy beds and pillows.
The Hotel also has a restaurant and Bar on the upper floors. This is cosy and relaxing.
great central location and very close to central shopping.
The only downside is that there can be road noise at the front and train noise at the rear. We found the front rooms best!! -Did not affect our sleep at all though.
We loved this Hotel alot! Highly recommend for a cheap and comfortable stay.

Room Tip: in our opinion front rooms are best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pandabear64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

unlike the comments made by another on 20th jan 2012 we found the restaurant excellent and we were there the same day.The restaurant manager was very nice and even at breakfast remembered us.The breakfast is excellent for the money well done i say .

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#5 of 25 in Southampton
986 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#13 of 25 in Southampton
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#11 of 25 in Southampton
1,764 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#15 of 25 in Southampton
1,224 reviews
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel

Address: New Road | New Road, Southampton SO14 0AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Southampton
#4 Business Hotel in Southampton
#5 Family Hotel in Southampton
Price Range: £46 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southampton City Centre Premier Inn is located conveniently in the centre of Southampton, a 5 minute walk from all the main attractions. We offer clean, spacious rooms at an affordable price in the city centre. We are so confident you will enjoy your stay with us we offer a good night guarantee! Directions: From M27(J5), follow the A335 to City Centre. At Charlotte Place roundabout, take 3rd left East Park Terrace, then 1st left onto New Road. The hotel is on the right. Parking at this hotel is limited and charged at £4 per 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing