We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are looking for a decent budget hotel, then this is the place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Stayed here with a friend on new years eve as they were doing saver rate rooms for £39!! Couldn't believe how cheap it was as firstly it was a Saturday night, and new years eve! Don't usually get a room that cheap, especially it being in a central location too. Another thing that was good about this hotel was that it had on-site parking (again don't often get this with city centre hotels!) and it was only £4 for 24 hours. Only slight downfall though was that it isn't the biggest car park, so make sure you arrive early to get a space! Think we arrived at about 3.30pm and there were about 5 spaces left. Check in process was quick and efficient, the girl who checked us in was friendly and chatty. Was very pleased to see that they had a costa coffee machine at reception, which came in very useful for the next morning! The rooms were nice and clean, and the beds as comfy as ever. We had a twin room which meant we still had the huge king sized bed that you get in other rooms, as well as a single bed. They really are one of the comfiest beds I've ever slept on! (Have stayed in more expensive hotels and still think premier inn beds are better!) The bathroom was nice and clean, and came supplied with imperial leather shower gel. The only slight downfall I'd say was the lighting in the bedroom. It needed another main light on the ceiling as it was very dark near the door area. Unfortunately cannot comment on the food as we did not eat there. Overall though, would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who stays in budget hotels. Brilliant location (5-10 min walk away from west quay shopping centre and restaurants, bars etc) and very good value for money! Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,503)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,334 - 1,340 of 1,503 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2012

Not the best premier inn I've ever stayed in. The room was clean though a little sparse (almost seemed like something had been taken out of one corner) which perhaps why a workman was knocking on the door at 8:30am

Checkin/Check out where both very efficient, breakfast was of the usual Premier Inn standard though let down by loud dance music which was also played in the bar in the evening which isn't what you want (or expect) in a hotel bar.

The bar and restaurant are on the fifth floor which gives good views of the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul-H8465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I was slightly disappointed by this place – while I’m not expecting outstanding quality from a Premier Inn, the rooms are very sparse and could do with some modernisation. They’re starting to look pretty tired, and to not even have a door on the wardrobe struck me as pretty low-par. Cleanliness was “ok”, but not great – the room looked like it could have done with a bit more dusting when I arrived.
On the first day, we went out for breakfast but, on the second, we thought we would be lazy and try the hotel. We got there at 9:01 – breakfast stops at 9:00 and, apparently, this means 9:00! Despite there being plenty of food available – and us promising to only be 10 minutes – we were told that breakfast was closed. Very disappointing, though it did mean that we saved some money by just going back to the place we went on the first morning.
Like I say, I wasn’t expecting luxury from a Premier Inn, but I’ve definitely stayed in better ones…

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Had an important family gathering in Southampton so stayed at Premier Inn. Nice room although there was hair down the toilet so not sure if the room had been cleaned. On arrival we booked a taxi with the lady on reception. The taxi was 20 minutes late and we found out that the taxi had not been booked in the first place by reception when they had told us that they had so we arrived quite late. The taxi company confirmed that the taxi had been booked 5 minutes ago. I do like Premier Inn and have stayed in other Hotels but this particular Hotel was unfortunately a bit of a let down.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2012

Thank you for your review. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high standard of and service in a relaxed and comfortable environment, I sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed to do this. Please be assured your comments have been noted and will be followed up with the Customer Service Team at our Head Office. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

If you want to stay at a friendly and effecient run hotel, then this is the one..Dont be put off with the outside look of the building-judge when you have stayed..Check in very straight forward quick & friendly.
Comfortable clean rooms.
Excellent service in the restaurant & bar. breakfast is a must in this hotel, plenty to choose from. Lovely to see happy faces at breakfast, Jane & Edd in particular.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Chose hotel due to location and reputation . Have to say that both my wife and I could not fault either the cleanliness of the hotel, friendliness of staff and location. We were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived at the reception.
Bedroom/bathroom roomy and clean. Good breakfast too.Thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

I often stay at Premier Inns for business, on this occassion i decided to treat my wife to a 3 day break..The first night stay the restaurant was clearly in trouble with its heating and was a very cold place to dine. Jayne the restaurant manager was clearly trying to solve the problem but seemed to be a problem that could only be fixed by maintenance. There were many guests complaining about the coldness and giving Jayne a very hard time, her friendly and confident approach to the matter was very professional and what could have turned into a more difficult situation did not. Everything possible was done to make us more comfortable and warm. Thanks Jayne

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 25 in Southampton
940 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 25 in Southampton
1,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#13 of 25 in Southampton
989 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#14 of 25 in Southampton
1,199 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel

Address: New Road | New Road, Southampton SO14 0AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Southampton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Southampton
#4 Business Hotel in Southampton
#5 Family Hotel in Southampton
Price Range: £47 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southampton City Centre Premier Inn is located conveniently in the centre of Southampton, a 5 minute walk from all the main attractions. We offer clean, spacious rooms at an affordable price in the city centre. We are so confident you will enjoy your stay with us we offer a good night guarantee! Directions: From M27(J5), follow the A335 to City Centre. At Charlotte Place roundabout, take 3rd left East Park Terrace, then 1st left onto New Road. The hotel is on the right. Parking at this hotel is limited and charged at £4 per 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing