We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect nights sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Isle Of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“perfect nights sleep”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

excellent night staff greeted us at 1am in them morning and whilst we were exhausted following a traumatic flight, the staff were calming, friendly and helpful. great room, very peaceful, very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mlwalker556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    670
    518
    158
    73
    50
See reviews for
428
464
92
239
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Stayed here at very short notice while on business in Southampton.
I have to admit I was slightly apprehensive knowing what the St. Marys area can be like, but have to admit I was pleasantly surprised.
The reception staff were excellent, very helpful and informative, even in the face of a bit of a rush at the time I arrived.
As for the rest, I found myself in a typically spacious room, comfy bed as 'Uncle Lenny' keeps telling us on the TV ads, decent enough facilities too.
The deal I had, included an evening meal, three courses including a pint, all of which was ok, and a full breakfast which I have to say was excellent. All in all, a very satisfactory stop over, and at 80 odd quid, pretty good value too.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RG-B19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

I would highly recommend staying at this Premier Inn. The location is great, close to Paultons Park (the purpose of our visit) and also within walking distance of the West Quay shopping centre.
The hotel is clean, modern and as you would expect from a premier inn. Our room was plenty big enough for our family of four (mummy pig, daddy pig and two daughters aged 4 and 7!)
We stayed for two nights, and visited Peppa pig world for two days. The breakfast was plentiful and dinner on our second night was fantastic.
The staff deserve a special mention, as they really do go above and beyond! We returned back to the hotel after our first day at the park, and as we got to the room, my youngest asked where her new Peppa pig toy had gone?! Upset ensued. I then go searching and retracing our footsteps, then asked at reception where the lady told us that the car park attendant had found it and handed it in...luckily for us! So thank you.
Also, Colin in the restaurant deserves a special mention - fantastic, and very helpful! Thanks again.
An enjoyable stay was had by us all.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Absolutely great hotel to stay before joining our cruise. Very central and lovely park nearby. High street shopping a short walk away. Historic old town not far away too. Food and service excellent!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flowerfamily_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, Essex
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

Had a very pleasant night here in a fifth floor room. Staff lovely and helpful.

Bathroom was of high standard, lots of room for two of us in a family room.

Fluffy towels, decent TV, clean, big mirrors, plenty of wardrobe space, restaurant pleasant.

It's not a holiday destination but we were there to visit relatives so it was fine.

People complain that it's noisy, but it's city centre!

Honestly, can't complain "does what it says on the tin"!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Katz71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

As a pre-cruise stop over, we did not need anything but a clean, comfortable bed - and a decent breakfast before we set off, next day... this was exactly what we got! Room was large, clean and comfortable. Staff were professional, polite, friendly and very helpful (needed some photocopying and a stapler... both of which were provided promptly and with a smile!) An excellent breakfast with a large range of well prepared and good quality items was welcome on morning of departure!
All in all, a very enjoyable visit which we will definitely repeat!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WELSHBELLE61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

The gaurrentee is a lie

They ignore complaints and do not refund

Room was to hot, air con was noisy and could be used, windows could not be opened due to noise, bathroom tatty, tele stand dangerous, very poor allround


  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online customer Service at Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#5 of 24 in Southampton
879 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
1,709 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#13 of 24 in Southampton
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#14 of 24 in Southampton
1,166 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
0.7 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
Address: New Road | New Road, Southampton SO14 0AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Southampton
#4 Business Hotel in Southampton
#5 Family Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southampton City Centre Premier Inn is located conveniently in the centre of Southampton, a 5 minute walk from all the main attractions. We offer clean, spacious rooms at an affordable price in the city centre. We are so confident you will enjoy your stay with us we offer a good night guarantee! Directions: From M27(J5), follow the A335 to City Centre. At Charlotte Place roundabout, take 3rd left East Park Terrace, then 1st left onto New Road. The hotel is on the right. Parking at this hotel is limited and charged at £4 per 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Premier Inn and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing