We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff were fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Staff were fantastic!”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

A large group of us stayed here as we had just relocated to Southampton to start new jobs. The place became our home for two weeks and the staff were fantastic at making us feel so welcome in our new city. Everyone was so friendly and the staff in the restaurant were particularly nice, chatty and extremely helpful. I personally have multiple allergies and have an absolute nightmare trying to find things I can eat when I eat out. Restaurant staff usually treat me as a nuisance, whereas the staff at the Premier Inn were extremely accommodating and offered things that weren't strictly on the menu in order to cater for my needs. One staff member, Amber, made the stay particularly enjoyable as she was always so happy and fun and really made the difference whilst we were there! Thank you to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    655
    508
    157
    73
    48
See reviews for
415
457
91
234
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
reviewer
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I was able to request a room on the quieter side of the hotel without any difficulty and the staff member who managed my booking took care to choose an optimal room for me.

This hotel is in very good walking distance to the city Centre, where buses can be picked up for a wide range of locations, including the nearby train station. The location of the hotel itself is very pleasant, there being beautiful and well-used parkland in the vicinity.

The attentiveness, professionalism and friendliness together with the pristine standard of the hotel itself reflects excellent management and training.

The hotel is undeniably excellent value for money, the dinner menu is good and the catering staff are efficient and on the ball.

My bedroom was beautiful, the air conditioning and temperature control system responded excellently to my needs and my bed was very comfortable.

My room and tea and coffee facilities were cleaned or maintained to a high standard during my two-day stay.

More could be done, though, to publicize this particular Premier Inn locally, as people I met had never heard of it and would not have been in a position to recommend it to others.


  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liked_it_or_not
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

My husband & I stayed here for 3 nights with our two young chidren. The staff were excellent, nothing was too much trouble. Car parking was good (charges are reasonable) & we found a space each time we returned after a day out. Excellent base for Peppa Pig world & for Portsmouth too. Restaurant menu very good for both children & adults, plenty of choice. My only little gripe was they didn't have enough stock of the cider my husband likes & then ran out of his next choice on the 2nd night. Rooms clean & had a good nights sleep every night.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolinem076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2013

This hotel is in a good central location in Southampton: near the buses, trains shops and restaurants. I arrived on a weekday afternoon and was pleasantly surprised that I could park right outside the door and leave my car 24 hrs for a reasonable fee. The twin room I had booked had been made up as a double, but they quickly rectified the mistake. The rooms are nice, quiet with little noise from the air-con and the shower was easy to use, unlike most hotels. But I have had better breakfasts at Premier Inns - the dining room is dismal and the continental breakfast bland. Acceptable at the price but not the best I have been to.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 431Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

My children & I met my parents here for a couple days. I always stay at a Premier Inn and this was just as great as the rest I have been to. The 2nd night we were there we celebrated my mum's **th birthday and Colin sang a wonderful Happy Birthday!! He and the rest of the staff were wonderful. Chatty & fun. My daughter & I need to be in Southampton in October & I have already made our reservation.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor which made getting to the bar, I mean restaurant very easy..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McCartneyMcGregor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We stayed here in July 13 and found the car park small (and full) so were directed by staff to a nearby pay and display car park. This is 'pay' from 08:00am and the parking attendants circle like vultures from 07:55am so be aware you need to be up early and get a ticket displayed. The hotel is next to the rail line so we were woken up by trains about every 10 minutes from about 05:00am. I think this will be more noticeable on 1 side of the building more than the other. We were in room 215.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyT888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2013

the staff are as in all Premier Inns very good but the whole hotel needs a lot of investment.
Unless you like a long walk to where your car is parked as you can't at the hotel i'd seek an alternative hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, o at Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
843 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#12 of 24 in Southampton
965 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
1,776 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#14 of 24 in Southampton
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
Address: New Road | New Road, Southampton SO14 0AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Southampton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Southampton
#5 Family Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southampton City Centre Premier Inn is located conveniently in the centre of Southampton, a 5 minute walk from all the main attractions. We offer clean, spacious rooms at an affordable price in the city centre. We are so confident you will enjoy your stay with us we offer a good night guarantee! Directions: From M27(J5), follow the A335 to City Centre. At Charlotte Place roundabout, take 3rd left East Park Terrace, then 1st left onto New Road. The hotel is on the right. Parking at this hotel is limited and charged at £4 per 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing