We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Average!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very Average!”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Our first ever experience in a Travelodge. On arrival we were met by a very helpful car park attendent who found us a space in a very limited car park. The reception staff were also very welcoming. Our room was very basic, much in need of redecoration, but clean! Bed was very uncomfortable, we both had a very poor nights sleep!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCJ525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    631
    490
    150
    67
    44
See reviews for
390
440
86
229
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Excellent value hotel, brilliant location. Only downside was the train line running directly under our room which disturbed your sleep.
I know it's petty, but they supplied a bottle opener in the room, but you cannot get a bottle under it!

Room Tip: Ask for one away form the train line
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Metalmickey33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon UK
Level Contributor
100 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Premier Inn brand themselves as a 'budget' hotel group but there are plenty of more expensive hotels that could take a lesson from this company.
We found this hotel to be in an excellent location within easy walking distance of the main shopping street/mall and the Mayflower Theatre. Our room was of a good size, very clean and had everything you would need for a pleasant stay. Okay, it's not the most luxurious but then it doesn't pretend to be. However, if you are looking for a comfortable and quiet night's sleep in a city centre hotel at a very reasonable cost then I would be surprised if this hotel could be bettered.
Car parking for hotel guests is £4 for 24hrs but there is limited parking so it would be advisable not to arrive too late. Paying extra to park when staying at a hotel is something of a bugbear of mine but, as prices go, I guess this isn't too bad.
I must also mention the staff at this hotel who were, without exception, all extremely pleasant and helpful and seemed really keen to make sure you have an enjoyable stay. They are, indeed, a credit to their profession.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stayed for two nights over valentines weekend. Paid 80 pounds for a double room for 2 for 2 nights and thought this was excellent. Location was brilliant, right in the city centre and everything was really close and accessible. Staff here were really friendly and couldn't do enough for you. Room was clean and comfortable and had everything you needed. Had breakfast on the last morning and would highly recommend, lots of choice of fresh hot and cold food. Overall a brilliant experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I stayed in February 2014 for a week at the Southampton Premier Inn, as I was there for a training course. The stay was very good, since the room was very clean, large, with a large bed and bathroom. The service was good and the staff was friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend it to others, it is very good value for a reasonable amount of money.


  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Hi guys.
we stayed here 7th Feb 14, No problems at all. Check in was fast and efficient, rooms were clean and well presented.
We were going to go out in the evening, however, because of the torrential rain decided not to!
The bar has a very good array of drinks including draught Guiness, lagers and Boddingtons. Other real ales in bottles in fridge.
Car parking I agree was bad but we arrived early and were alright, however, if we had gone out we would of lost our space!
We hated having to come through a wall of smoke when going outside of the hotel.....Smoking area too close to the front door.
We had evening meal here. 10/10. Garlic and cheese flatbread to start (Enough for me on its own!) then an ultimate burger (WOW!) and chicken Risotto, Both great!
Staff excellent and couldn't do enough for us.Thanks to Maddy for looking after us!
I would definatly stay here again.
Noise was there but it didn't bother us on the nights we stayed.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonydevon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I stay at Premier Inns quite often as they are great value for money for a stop off or overnight stay before catching a flight. This hotel was as expected; the rooms are all the same, the beds are comfy and the showers are nice and hot and powerful. We arrived late and the staff offered to ring a take away of choice and provided cutlery etc.. to use.
My only gripe is the parking. There isn't much there and workers (not the staff) park vehicles and vans all over the place. I had to park over the main junction where it was free from 12am-6am, then about £1 an hour (I think it was a maximum £5 for 24hrs though).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chopper1400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,636 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#1 of 24 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
Address: New Road | New Road, Southampton SO14 0AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Southampton
#4 Business Hotel in Southampton
#5 Family Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southampton City Centre Premier Inn is located conveniently in the centre of Southampton, a 5 minute walk from all the main attractions. We offer clean, spacious rooms at an affordable price in the city centre. We are so confident you will enjoy your stay with us we offer a good night guarantee! Directions: From M27(J5), follow the A335 to City Centre. At Charlotte Place roundabout, take 3rd left East Park Terrace, then 1st left onto New Road. The hotel is on the right. Parking at this hotel is limited and charged at £4 per 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing