We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Premier inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Friendly staff and good food - rooms clean and good value as got a deal in advance. A five minute walk to town so accessible too . Unfortunately it was a bit rowdy in the bar the night we stayed but will enquirers about the sleep promise with customer services

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,503)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

930 - 936 of 1,503 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Our first visit to the city was made very comfortable with our stay here at Premier Inn.
As usual with these hotels everything is as it says in the brochure , the staff here seem particularly goo and cheerful.
Breakfast is absolutely the best you'll ever get for £8.75 and would recommend anyone staying here to go for it.
Excellent location for business or shopping

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank aybn41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I often stay in this hotel as I have family who live in Southampton and a friend who goes to university here. After staying at a few of the different hotels in the city over the last few years, i've never really looked back after staying at this one! All of the staff are very friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble for them! The service is always exceptional. The rooms are always very well presented and more than comfortable, unlike many of the other hotels i've stayed in! I'm yet to have been given a dodgy room, after staying on all five floors! The hotels location is another key reason i stay here, 5 min walk into the main city centre, whilst also being close to the theater too and close to Solent Uni! Parking isn't really too much of an issue as stated below, providing you get back to the hotel before 6ish then there's plenty of parking spaces at the hotel, if not then there's an overflow car park 2mins away with ample parking, i've parked their regularly without any issues/problems. The outstanding quality of service offered by Jackie, Kevin and Kelly on this occasion plus quality of room will certainly see me return to The Premier Inn when I next venture down south!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Stayed for one night, in a good location near to town centre. Room clean and bed comfy, bathroom a bit dated but shower was good. Only paid £29 so good value. Friendly staff. Did not eat there as we wanted to eat out. Managed to park OK.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hamble72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Stayed here for four nights with work at the end of March 2014 - been at much better hotels, been at much worse.
Positives:
Breakfast - good range; location - very central; service - good customer service; room - freeview, comfy bed, tea/coffee
Negatives:
Wifi - only 30 mins free which is not acceptable in this day and age!; Noise - I had a room right by the train line which was noisy and constantly disturbed my sleep. The fire alarm going off one night didn't help; Pillows - possibly the most uncomfortable pillows at a hotel I've experienced. Despite the suggested range in my room, all were hard and didn't help my attempts to sleep through the noise; Shower - not too bad, but so outdated that it still has an unmoveable shower head which despite only being 6ft tall, I couldn't stand under...
Overall - won't be rushing to stay here again and will only do so if it the only option within the price range.

Room Tip: Avoid the railway line side and the first floor (as that's closer to the train line).
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ollie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Stayed here for one night. A Saturday. It was last minute and cost £90-ish. We had evening meal and breakfast which cost about £23 per person. The food was much nicer than we were expecting. The staff were very friendly, helpful and extremely professional. The room was spotlessly clean and the bed was comfortable. Tea and coffee making facilities and a hairdryer are provided in the room. Would stay here again but we'd try to book in advance as you get a better room rate. Enjoyable, relaxing and comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bedhead02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

As expected from a Premier Inn: Clean rooms, tea/coffee facilities, comfy bed, good service, nice welcome, restaurant on-site, bath and shower facilities, cheap internet (£3 for 24 hours).

Really good service by the bar/restaurant staff. Nice food but the menu is a little limited (especially if you take advantage of the £23 meal deal). I would hate to eat here if I had any dietary restrictions.

Great location. 5 minute walk to the centre of Southampton, Southampton FC, West Quay shopping centre and the Quay.

Parking is an issue. There are just enough spaces if you turn up early-ish. If you don't, then you're going to have to park elsewhere. However, this is due to the hotel car-park being used by non-hotel patrons. They should do some thing about that.

I have and would stay here again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank mattsand0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 25 in Southampton
939 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 25 in Southampton
1,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#13 of 25 in Southampton
989 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#14 of 25 in Southampton
1,199 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel

Address: New Road | New Road, Southampton SO14 0AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Southampton
#4 Business Hotel in Southampton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Southampton
#5 Family Hotel in Southampton
Price Range: £47 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southampton City Centre Premier Inn is located conveniently in the centre of Southampton, a 5 minute walk from all the main attractions. We offer clean, spacious rooms at an affordable price in the city centre. We are so confident you will enjoy your stay with us we offer a good night guarantee! Directions: From M27(J5), follow the A335 to City Centre. At Charlotte Place roundabout, take 3rd left East Park Terrace, then 1st left onto New Road. The hotel is on the right. Parking at this hotel is limited and charged at £4 per 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing