We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired and basic building with exceptional staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tired and basic building with exceptional staff”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for my daughters birthday, two night stay that I can honestly say was very pleasant.

The foyer is a bit shady and basic. Vending machines make it look like it belongs to a budget hotel. However the warm and friendly staff (at all hours) make you feel instantly welcome and comfortable.

The room is basic but covers all amenities. Irons and boards aren't in the room but apparently are available on request. The shower was powerful and adjusting to the perfect temperature was easy. The bathroom however was quite dull. The cost saving Eco friendly soap and showergel dispensers again leaving you feeling budget, however, in this type of hotel I can understand the reasons behind this.

True to their slogan I had a perfect nights sleep and a very VERY LARGE breakfast both mornings. Full English done right.

Moving on to the staff. We arrived late on Friday night (Saturday morning actually) and the night staff on reception were understanding and very helpful in getting us up to our rooms.

Overall. The building gets better the higher you go. But the staff are exceptional from the ground up.


Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    641
    498
    152
    70
    45
See reviews for
401
445
89
232
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Herefordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Really quiet hotel were on 4th floor no noise at all,would stay again

the only downside is breakfast quite expensive if have family,car park only 4 pounds for 24hrs so was happy but is limited spaces.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smithjenkinsblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Within easy walking distance of city centre, but once in the hotel you wouldn't know, it is well sound-proofed. Friendly and helpful staff, all you would expect from Premier Inn. Great value breakfast is always a winner too!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrs_gideon2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We had a one night stop over on 17th April as we were catching a ferry over to the Isle of Wight on Friday morning. The car park was packed but we were lucky to get the last space available, it is a very small car park for the amount of rooms. Staff were all very friendly. The room was basic with a new mattress which is supposed to guarantee you a good nights sleep (or your money back), we had a relatively good night. The restaurant/bar are on the 5th floor which does seem a bit odd but the breakfast was excellent quality, with everything you could possibly think of. If you are going to watch a game at St Mary's you couldn't pick a more convenient place. Would def stop again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaPed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

The room had a double and two single beds. The staff were lovely. We had a call in the evening to ask was everything ok and if we needed anything. They had a meal deal which was fantastic value. For £23 per adult you could have a 3 course evening meal with a drink and a buffet breakfast. For £5.95 the kids could also have a 3 course evening meal with a drink and breakfast was free for kids. The restaurant is on the 5th floor and the staff are very efficient the service is fantastic. The food is well cooked and presented. Excellent value for money. Lovely start to our holiday.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The staff were extremely friendly and polite, it makes such a change from the customer service where I live. The room was really nice and provided extra sofa and pull out mattress although there were only two of us. (Must have secretly known I don't share a bed well) Although there were extra pillows there were no extra duvets, I probably could have asked for some and seeing as there were two of us they probably didn't see the need of giving us it. We did find our room to be too hot and for some reason when trying to turn it down on the wall, it just automatically went back up. This resulted in us being quite hot and unable to open the windows due to outside noise. I didn't realise that there were train tracks running along the side of the hotel and had I been made aware of this I probably would have stayed else where as I am a light sleeper. The windows don't block out the noise of the trains and they run until 11:45ish and start early in the morning. Although on our night of stay the train services weren't running on the following day and therefore the noise didn't bother us. The breakfast is a bit expensive but I make the most of my money and there is such a variety I really enjoyed everything I ate. The location is great and the windows do block out the noises of the roads. Overall I had a good stay but if the trains had been running it would have been a different story.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Friendly staff. Room freezing cold when we went in but soon warmed up when heating turned up. Room very sad looking and in need of a freshen up. Bathroom clean but wooden bath panel (chip board) fulling to bits.Around the sink again the chipboard wood is crumbling and needs replacing. A little mean on the tea and coffee front (only 2 tea bags !!).Bed comfy and clean. Certainly not the best Premier ive stayed in and did really begrudge paying extra for parking.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crinklenose P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
806 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
1,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
1,735 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#11 of 24 in Southampton
952 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
Address: New Road | New Road, Southampton SO14 0AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Southampton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Southampton
#5 Family Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southampton City Centre Premier Inn is located conveniently in the centre of Southampton, a 5 minute walk from all the main attractions. We offer clean, spacious rooms at an affordable price in the city centre. We are so confident you will enjoy your stay with us we offer a good night guarantee! Directions: From M27(J5), follow the A335 to City Centre. At Charlotte Place roundabout, take 3rd left East Park Terrace, then 1st left onto New Road. The hotel is on the right. Parking at this hotel is limited and charged at £4 per 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing