We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value. great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great value. great location”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Great location for a great price right next to town centre. Limited car parking but no problem for us as we arrived soon after check in time. Quiet room . lovely breakfast. Nice staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juegreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    658
    508
    157
    73
    48
See reviews for
416
457
91
236
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed at Southampton City Centre primarily for it's closeness to the Mayflower Theatre. A good choice. A short stroll to the theatre and close to various restaurants and bars. Very clean and a truly great bed! Such comfort.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tarby1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

On our way home to Jersey from visiting family in Stratford-upon-Avon, we had booked in for one night before getting the boat home the next day. We were greeted by Jackie who was very helpful. We were early & asked if our rooms were available and two rooms were found , which made it possible for us to leave our bags. We had requested two rooms together, prior to our arrival & this had been organised. The rooms were clean & bright, which suited our requirements. Breakfast the next morning was great . It had everything-cooked for husband & teenage son & cereal . toast & fruit for myself & young daughter. A bonus was my daughter's breakfast was free! The waiting staff were very friendly. Checking out was easy and quick. We have used this Premier Inn a few times & can't fault it. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fenella2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Well accustomed to the premier inn proposition, this booking was more about location than the stay itself. It's ideal for St Mary's stadium

I booked three rooms for an evening event at St Mary's stadium which is just 10 minutes walk away.

The welcome was warm and yes I was advised of the good Night Guarantee.

Breakfast was the usual eat what you can, hot or cold with it all looking fine and topped up.

I opted for the Porridge which was made to perfection.

Parking may well be an issue as spaces are limited. That said if you can get one it's just £4 for 24hours.

The room was ageing a bit, with the TV being older than me and square!

Warm shower, clean towels and the usual bed. Room 205 had a double bed and a single bed.

Prior to this booking I tweeted asking tweeters for an opinion on whether I should book the premier inn or the jury's inn. Feedback was that the jury's inn (not far) would be a better experience, but as this was about location I opted for the premier inn.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank BigLee40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

A great central place to stay near all the shopping day life and partying night life. Good value for money with reception staff being excellent in customer service. Cleaners all spoke and said good morning, gave us extra tea bags when needed. We did not eat at the hotel but couldn't fault the stay.

Room Tip: room 230 was of a good size twin which had a single and a double bed faced out oto car park all quit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walkingloopylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

stayed here with my boyfriend for a weekend away. being a hotel in the town centre and right on a road I was worried there would be a lot of noise. However we slept very well both nights. The staff were extremely friendly on arrival and even asked us a few times how we were finding it when they saw us over the weekend.

We did also eat in the restaurant there - could not have asked for better. Plentiful amount and of amazing quality. We did not have to wait too long either. Again, very friendly staff, made us feel very welcome. Will and have been recommending this hotel to friends and family!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charly1095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Good value for money as all Premier Inn. Room looked OK and was quiet on the road side. The other side backs onto the railway and might be noisier. Free breakfast for children, although tried to charge me breakfast for a non-existent second adult, watch out !
Small carpark but plenty of spaces and cheaper for overnight stay in the estate behind the block and the railway (via Palmerston Road).

Room Tip: Room on the New Road side, the opposite side of the railway
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DivaScubaDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
844 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
1,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#11 of 24 in Southampton
965 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
1,777 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#14 of 24 in Southampton
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
Address: New Road | New Road, Southampton SO14 0AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Southampton
#4 Business Hotel in Southampton
#5 Family Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southampton City Centre Premier Inn is located conveniently in the centre of Southampton, a 5 minute walk from all the main attractions. We offer clean, spacious rooms at an affordable price in the city centre. We are so confident you will enjoy your stay with us we offer a good night guarantee! Directions: From M27(J5), follow the A335 to City Centre. At Charlotte Place roundabout, take 3rd left East Park Terrace, then 1st left onto New Road. The hotel is on the right. Parking at this hotel is limited and charged at £4 per 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing