We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“good location”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

good location, close to all shops, room has everything you need , great sleep had by all,
free wifi for 30 mins, only £4 to park, good customer service given , we were looking for TGI Fridays and the staff gave us a map

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ni55an23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    660
    508
    157
    73
    48
See reviews for
416
458
92
236
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

the staff at this hotel are very good, nothing is to much trouble,
the room are ok but could do with a brightening up
ONE BIG MINUS for this place is the parking , not enough spaces for the amount of rooms, also you have to pay to park there ,which is not a problem because you probably wont get a space anyhow

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 141057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Another business trip, another stay at a Premier Inn. It was a bank holiday weekend, so the place was full - which meant staff were stretched. But they remained, to a person, cheerful and helpful. As ever the bed was great, the room quiet. I do resent having to pay for Internet access (which was not always all that fast). The parking situation was dire - I was lucky and managed to snag the last parking place in the lot - and also resented having to pay for the privilege.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tfl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Chose this hotel for five nights stay during my business meeting in Southampton. Very close to the city center, just 5 minutes pleasant walk, easily located. Decent price including breakfast. A very nice welcome by the staff and check-in was very smooth as I already did the online checkin prior to my arrival. Room was fantastic, big with additional small bed/sofa for comfort. Bathroom was nice with bathtub and all facilities. Perfect sleep followed by lovely breakfast option in the morning, Wifi was chargeable but just 10 GBP for entire stay, access was easy and good connectivity. Dinner option was available but preferred city center option since its just a 5 minutes walk. Staffs were helpful and very good. Overall, lovely stay in Southampton with decent price and with good offer. Recommended !!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imransiddiqui82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed for one night, cost was £97 room only which I felt was very steep for a budget hotel chain with no frills. I booked a few days before but most of the hotels I wanted in Southampton were full; the next morning there were two cruise ships in so that's probably why.

Parking was atrocious. The car park is far too small for the size of the hotel with cars parked all over the place and not in bays, so good luck turning around to get out again. I found a car park nearby a few doors down but it was only taking payments until midnight and said that costs were payable 24/7; I didn't fancy getting up at midnight to top up the meter. After driving around the block three times and not seeing anywhere in easily walkable distance in the rain, I eventually ended up in a council run car park near the Jury's Inn. Parking was £2 for the evening and free on the Sunday until 1pm; I wish that Premier Inn would send details of other car parks with confirmations knowing that theirs was too small.

Check-in was ok. Didn't really see the point of doing online check-in first. Not as good a welcome as at the Colchester or Exeter Premier Inns, or the self service check-in as at the latter. The reception area looked really tired and so did most of the hotel inside; the modern exterior look hides the real age (or condition) of the hotel.

Room was standard Premier Inn spec but quite dated compared with other hotels, and not a patch on the Exeter branch. Everything worked though, bed and bedding comfortable, and room clean. The room did back onto the railway main line and whilst there wasn't a lot of noise when the window was closed, the vibrations could be felt.

I booked the Meal Deal with the room, so had dinner there. The restaurant is quite small and wasn't busy at 7.30pm but by 8pm was packed. Service was friendly but felt a bit awkward. I did get a full bill despite handing over the Meal Deal voucher on arrival, so the bill had to be redone. As the voucher had been given over, I didn't understand what to do for breakfast which was included in it, so had to ask; they could do with explaining that the next day you'd just be on the list when handing over the voucher. Food was good for dinner I felt, breakfast was good quality and well presented with plenty of choice, frequently topped up and friendly service. Far better than the breakfast I had in the Exeter Brewer's Fayre.

Check-out had only one lady on who was trying to juggle everything so just left the key on the counter.

I wouldn't return to this hotel at that price, I think it's far too much for what you get and not in a great location. I might do another Premier Inn but I have found their quality of hotel to be rather inconsistent.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kpd1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The hotel itself was superb, as Premier Inn always is.
We had a slight issue with parking but this was sorted out by the Guy attending without too much drama.
We did have a problem with being overcharged in the Restaurant which took several days and too many phone calls to resolve, but the staff were always friendly but maybe a bit overworked.
This issue in no way would put me off staying there again

Room Tip: Ask for room that hasn't got the railway outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shortboyold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Great hotel. Everything right first time, and breakfast lovely and plenty of it! Friendly and helpful staff and parking spaces too. Room was lovely and clean. Very comfortable bed. Shower working perfectly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
850 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
1,693 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#11 of 24 in Southampton
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
1,779 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#14 of 24 in Southampton
1,149 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
Address: New Road | New Road, Southampton SO14 0AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Southampton
#4 Business Hotel in Southampton
#5 Family Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southampton City Centre Premier Inn is located conveniently in the centre of Southampton, a 5 minute walk from all the main attractions. We offer clean, spacious rooms at an affordable price in the city centre. We are so confident you will enjoy your stay with us we offer a good night guarantee! Directions: From M27(J5), follow the A335 to City Centre. At Charlotte Place roundabout, take 3rd left East Park Terrace, then 1st left onto New Road. The hotel is on the right. Parking at this hotel is limited and charged at £4 per 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing