We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great value New Year Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2011

We stayed at the Premier Inn southampton City Centre for two nights there were a group of eight of us, visiting family for New Year . The Premier Inn isn't the best placed and a little bit of a treck to the city Centre and the marina ect - but it was great value and the staff were excellent. Breakfast was very good value especially as the under 16's ate free - food choice was good and we were really impressed by the late breakfast availability till 1pm on New Years Day which was very welcome after our late night. We ate on New Years Night in the Premir Inn restaurant and it was good value and the food was more than acceptable. The manger had also noted that we had a birthday in our party and brought the birthday girl a a nice little bottle of pink fizz - which we thought was a lovely touch and unexpected. There is a bit of train noise in the rooms but this is pre-warned and wasn't a big issure for us but a light sleeper may find this annoying. All in all a great stay at a fantastic price.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shoegirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2011

We are pleased that you had a good stay with us. Our team will be delighted to receive your feedback as it is really important to us that our guests are happy with the service they receive. Thanks for taking the time to review your stay we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,580)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,513 - 1,519 of 1,580 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2010

Stayed one night to visit Solent University across road. Good service on reception and friendly staff at both breakfast and dinner. Food at dinner was very good although breakfast buffet a little limited on choice. ( please find new sausage supplier). Only gripe was that we booked a disabled parking space in advance but arrived to find car park in chaos and all disabled spaces filled with " tradesman " vans. Very helpful gentlemen on reception moved his own car to allow us to park. FULL MARKS.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ann2mart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2010

Thanks for your review we are very pleased that you had a good stay with us. Our team are committed to ensuring our guests have a good stay and your feedback is very much appreciated. We do look forward to welcoming your back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

We booked the Premier Inn well in advance of our stay so managed to secure a room for £29/night which was great value! Rooms are clean and comfortable with hypoallergenic pillows as standard. The room has a smallish flat screen TV and a pay-to-use phone. In the bathroom you get handsoap and shower gel/hair wash in containers fixed to the wall – very green! Breakfast is extra and reasonable but first morning we had to wait 20 minutes for a table (we were in town for a cricket match so everyone was wanting to eat at the same time) but thankfully we were seated straight way next day. The location is fairly decent: 5-10 minutes from the shops and bars and 15 minutes walk from the station. Would stay again if back in Southampton as you can’t go wrong for £30!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2010

Read the text on the website when booking about the noise from either -
a. The Trains and Train Track
b. The large road outside the front of the Premier Inn.

Also dont miss the part about the lack of parking spaces.

We stayed on a Friday night, the Premier Inn was very busy, noise from inside the Premier Inn was minimal, however the noise from the Trains came through the foundations of the Premier Inn and disturbed me throughout the night, when i complained in writing, i was palmed off !!!! No return of money, even the Guarentee of a sounds night sleep was voided because of the warning on the booking website !!! Total rubbish, I wouldnt even recommend this Premier Inn to a "Foe"

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Badgeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2010

Thank you for your review. At Premier Inn our main objective remains to deliver a high level of customer service in all our establishments. We apologise that you were disturbed during your stay at our hotel. Your comments have been noted and will be duly investigated by both Head Office and the Management Team at our Southampton City Centre hotel. Please be assured at Premier Inn we take the service and comfort of all our guests very seriously and your feedback will be duly followed up. Once again thank you for taking the time to review your stay we do hope that we can welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2010

We stayed here for one night prior to boarding our cruise and had a great stay. The reception staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful and check in was swift and efficient. They also provided our three year old son with a children’s pack of colouring pencils etc which kept him entertained while we settled into our room. Overall the room was clean and perfectly adequate. It was a standard set-up which I'm sure is the norm for all Premier Inn's with all the essentials for a modern hotel (TV with free view channels, air con etc). In addition our son had a proper single bed supplied as opposed to a sofa bed which tends to be the norm in most hotels. We didn't have breakfast but did use the restaurant for dinner. Again, the staff were extremely friendly and efficient and we enjoyed our meal which was a reasonable price by hotel standards. The hotel is located a short pleasant walk from the city centre (through the park) and within walking distance from the railway station (although we'd recommend a taxi if you have suitcases). In terms of downsides, there are very few. The hotel is located right next to a railway line. Our room was on this side of the hotel but the rooms are adequately soundproofed and we hardly noticed it was there and was no worse then average traffic noise that you accept in a city centre hotel. There was also a piece of rubbish under the bed and I read in a previous review that another guest found something under their bed as well, so maybe the cleaners could pay extra attention in this area in future. These points aside, we found the hotel to be perfect and superb value for money. Every member of staff we met were polite and helpful and we would have no hesitation in re-booking if we are ever back in Southampton. Well done Premier Inn Southampton City Centre!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeW30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2010

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your time with us, we are so pleased that our hotel and clean, comfortable rooms ensured your stay was a good. Our team members will be delighted to receive your feedback, our team our committed to delivering the highest level of service to our guests and your feedback is so important to us in our continued endeavours to provide our guests with this service. Thanks again for your review we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2010

How can i sum it up better than their own slogan!
I stayed here for one night on a friend's stag party, check in was quick and easy and all four of our rooms were together and they were all exactly the same size and standard. All the rooms had flat screen TV's, tea/coffee/biscuits, air conditioning. Every time we entered or left the hotel the staff in reception always acknowledged us in a friendly manner, this was the same in the hotel bar. The bar is located on the 5th floor and is modernly decorated and is a good size. We didn't eat at the restaurant but this also looked nice.
Overall, a very nice stay and would definitely stay here again.
The hotel is a 5-10 minute walk from the city centre/shops and a 15-20 minute walk from Southampton Central train station.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claireandy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2010

Reviews consistently mention the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff of this hotel and I agree with them. I asked for a specific type of room which they were able to give me and, being a returning guest two weeks later, asked about left luggage. They told me they would keep my luggage until a room became free. In fact when I got to the hotel very early and asked to leave it, they told me I could have a room straight away and gave me the same one as the time before. There seems to be good teamwork and a pleasant atmosphere.
The location is in a noisy area and a slight amount of that noise can be heard in the rooms but it was not so intrusive that I was unable to sleep.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovelyDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#8 of 25 in Southampton
1,120 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#11 of 25 in Southampton
1,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
0.9 mi away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#7 of 25 in Southampton
496 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#14 of 25 in Southampton
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel

Address: New Road | New Road, Southampton SO14 0AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Southampton
#4 Family Hotel in Southampton
#4 Business Hotel in Southampton
Price Range: £43 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southampton City Centre Premier Inn is located conveniently in the centre of Southampton, a 5 minute walk from all the main attractions. We offer clean, spacious rooms at an affordable price in the city centre. We are so confident you will enjoy your stay with us we offer a good night guarantee! Directions: From M27(J5), follow the A335 to City Centre. At Charlotte Place roundabout, take 3rd left East Park Terrace, then 1st left onto New Road. The hotel is on the right. Parking at this hotel is limited and charged at £4 per 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing