We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid, Avoid Avoid.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Deal, kent
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Avoid, Avoid Avoid.”
Reviewed 19 August 2011

I’ll keep it short as I could go on forever.

We booked months in advance and were still given a twin room and then told the hotel was on full occupancy. The solution we were told was that the beds moved and to do it ourselves if we wanted.

I accept it was the holidays and we didn’t find out till we got there that the hotel is very close to Pepper Pig World . But there were children EVERYWHERE running around screaming, there is a small bar area where people can sit and order take-aways (no food service or accessible restaurants nearby and the bar only takes cash)
We couldn't of sat and eaten anything in this area as we would not of been able to hear each other talk due to the amount of unsupervised or disciplined children, running screaming, climbing.We eventually went for a drive in the hope of finding somewhere to eat and on our return at past 11 pm the kids were still running riot in the bar area..

Breakfast was like a free-for-all with pushing and shoving, uncleared tables, no cutlery, limited choice and what there was, was empty and not re stocked, children throwing food and people making pack lunches from what was on offer. We got a coffee and left.

I know I sound like I don’t like children but this is not the case, I personally don’t have any but regularly socialise and holiday with families who do, I understand excitement at being away and that children will be children, but this was totally unacceptable behaviour, it was as if people saw other kids were running wild and not being told anything by the staff so allowed there children to do so also.

The hotel was understaffed and obviously overwhelmed.

My first and last trip to a Holiday Inn

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boho1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXManagement, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this review, 24 August 2011
Im sorry to hear our hotel didnt match your expectations.
Regarding your booking you had booked 2 months in advance,It was a standard room which was booked with us which as stated in the description will be a Double or twin depending on availability.
There is a limited food service on offer and there are resturants nearby which we happily provide printed directions to.
Regarding the behaviour of children we as a hotel and our staff are not responsible and we have to rely on the parents to look after and control their own.
However if a nuisance is being caused and we are made aware of it,We will deal with it the same as we would with any other guests.
Regarding breakfast we are constantly striving to improve our service and have taken your comments on board.
Regards Dan Osborne
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    278
    185
    86
    49
See reviews for
318
211
37
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We booked the Peppa Pig World package which included this hotel. This one is a good location to visit the park, as it is only 4 miles away so this seemed like the best hotel to stay at .

On checking in at the hotel, we were met by the receptionist (Hannah), who was very polite at first. Though, we were quickly disappointed when she started to tell us how 'annoying it was to have loads of people back from Peppa Pig all the time' and how it was a nightmare for them the amount of people who stayed. Really made you feel welcome when you had just come from the very place and you were the very people she was complaining about and to!!!Not exactly good customer service, slating the very people who are bringing in custom and revenue!!!!

We had asked for a family room, and though we got a twin room beds shoved together) and a sofa bed, it was extremely cramped. The sofa bed was intended for my daughter (3 years) to sleep on. However, I lay on it as did by partner and we could both feel the bars through the mattress. As a result, she ended up sharing a bed with us resulting in none of us getting a good nights sleep. We had a room that was overlooking the car park and as it was hot, we had the window open. This resulted in us hearing a lot of noise from the carpark, inlcuding people talking and laughing VERY loudy... on looking outside, it was actually members of staff that were stood out the front of the hotel. The beds were very uncomfortable, my partner ended up with a very bad neck and back the next day.

We went down for breakfast the next morning and were again disappointed. It was a buffet breakfast and there was hardly any selection there, the Rice Krispies had run out and had to wait for ages to get some for my daughter. I chose to have scrambled eggs on toast which I had two mouthfus of and ended up leaving it as the eggs were stone cold... delicious!!! My partner was equally disappointed with his breakfast... the hot selection comprised of sausages, baked beans and scrambled eggs... and as he doesn't like scrambled eggs, he had beans and sausages. Not exactly a substantial breakfast! But first, he had to wait ages while they restocked the plates that had run out!

As both my partner and I work in the hotel trade, we were very disappointed that these basic things let down what was a very enjoyable 2 days (at Peppa Pig, that is... not that hotel!).

We've had alot of friends with small children ask about the trip and we have been honest and recommended that they do not stay at this hotel.

All in all, a thoroughly disappointing stay! We'll go back to Peppa Pig World but I won't be staying at this hotel again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXManagement, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this review, 16 September 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments,Im sorry the hotel has not lived up to your expectations,And all points you have raised will be investigated.
I hope this does not deter you from visiting again.
Regards Dan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southampton hotels

St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We had a family room and had requested a quiet room which is what we got - we had room 216 looking out over car park & entrance, so did not notice any road noise from the motorway. Sofa bed was already made up for us on arrival which was a bonus.

Room was clean and tidy but very warm however the fan provided and keeping the window open made it more bearable. Other areas of the hotel, notably the stairwell looked like a fresh coat of paint,was needed.

Staff were pleasant and helpful and any shortages at breakfast were quickly replenished if you asked. Breakfast was ok with some hot items as well as cereals, toast, croissants etc. As some ok items are offered (sausages, beans, scrambled egg) it would have been good if some Bacon and mushrooms were also on the menu.

Location was fine - just 10 mins from Paultons Park & Peppa Pig World and about the same into West Quay shopping centre and Leisure World with plenty of choices to eat, shop or be entertained.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janpallett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXManagement, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this review, 15 August 2011
Thankyou for your comments regarding your stay with us.
I will pass your comments onto the team,and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Dan Osborne
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We booked this as part of a Peppa Pig break with our 3 year old and 5 month old baby. At first,the hotel seemed ideal as was clean, staff were friendly and it was well placed for PP world. However, the room was extremely hot (it had not even been a hot day) and very uncomfortable. A small fan was provided which was inadequate and the window couldn't be opened due to constant motorway traffic noise.
There was also a terrible noise from an extractor fan/generator/some machinery outside our room which added to the motorway noise made it impossible to relax and get the children to sleep.
In the end, we were so uncomfortable, we just packed up and drove the long trip back to South Wales getting home in the early hours and missing our second day in PP World.
It was an expensive, exhausting trip in the end. We have complained to Paultons/Holiday Extras but are receiving no refund.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank cerijp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXManagement, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this review, 4 August 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

I am concerned to hear that your stay with us was not to the standards we try to achieve at all times at the hotel.

As you stated all our rooms have a fan in them for the guests conveinience.

I have passed on your comments to the maintenance manager regarding the noise and they are being investigated.



Thank you again for taking the time to give us your feedback

Kind Regards

Dan Osborne
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droitwich, Worcs
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Myself, hubbie and our 4 year old daughter stayed here for our little 2 day adventure to Peppa Pig World and can honestly say it was great. The hotel is situated roughly 4 miles from Peppa Pig World with free secure parking and upon check-in we were on our way to our room. The room was spotless and because it had been so warm we had a fan in our room which helped enormously. Cannot fault our room, only basic but was clean and tidy upon arrival, shower excellent. The staff at reception were very helpful and gave us an idea of where to eat etc. Breakfast was good, even my 4 year old fussy eater enjoyed her scrambled eggs lol. There was also plenty of it and the staff were always refilling the self service station. Would definitely recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suki_meg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXManagement, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this review, 27 July 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

I am delighted that your stay was comfortable and that you enjoyed your stay.

I will pass on your lovely comments to our team.

We look forward to welcoming you to hotel again in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Dan Osborne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross-shire, Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Stayed here for a night before getting the ferry to France from Poole then again after coming off the ferry in Portsmouth.

Easy to find and easy access to and from motorways. Rooms clean and tidy. Staff could not be more helpful. I was travelling with medication that needed to be kept chilled and, after driving from Scotland, there was no problem in getting my freezer blocks refrozen and keeping my medicine chilled in their fridge.

Hotel have takeaway menus which are a godsend after coming off a late-ish ferry with hungry adults and children. We took the managers recommendation for one of the pizza companies and were rewarded with piping hot and extremely tasty pizzas.

Close to a Sainsburys which is handy for refuelling your vehicle.

Would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMacL28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXManagement, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this review, 26 July 2011
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your feedback and kind comments.
I will pass these back to the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards
Dan Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Rooms are very tired and standards of cleanliness not great. Attention to detail poor. For example the extraction fan in our bathroom (room 105) had lots of visible debris, the shower was backing up, and the hand soap gel container was empty.
The hotel is in the middle of an over grown field surrounded by a security fence.
The hotel was very understaffed however the ones that were there were lovely and friendly but clearly run off their feet.
We stayed over a weekend and breakfast was extremely busy and full of families. Again attention to detail was poor probably due to lack of staff. All the unoccupied tables were uncleared, there were no plates available, no brown bread, cutlery was smeared, and people were having to queue for fresh food top ups.
Restaurant food quality good for evening meal, bar service friendly but execution of drinks poor.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariefidler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXManagement, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this review, 26 July 2011
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your feedback from your recent visit.
Im sorry to hear the hotel hasnt lived up to your expectations.I have passed your comments onto all our relevant departments who will investigate the issues you have raised.
With regard to your comments regarding the understaffing i can assure you this isnt the case.
When the hotel is busy there sometimes can be a small delay in topping up the buffet.
Thank you once again for your comments and i do hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Regards Dan Osborne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
3.2 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,635 reviews
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
3.7 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Southampton West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Southampton West

Property: Holiday Inn Express Southampton West
Address: Adanac Park Redbridge Lane, Southampton SO16 0YP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Southampton West 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West is located off Junction 1 of the M271(off Junction 3 M27). This hotel is an ideal location for visiting Southampton, Paultons Park, Peppa Pig World, Beaulieu, The Isle of Wight, The New Forest, West Quay Shopping Centre and many attractions. The Hotel offers a continental with three hot choices buffet breakfast and free parking. Ideal for both business and leisure travel. Travelling on business the Holiday Inn Express Southampton West is a short distance from Southampton City Centre, and only 7 miles from Southampton Airport. The hotel is ideally located for companies such as Ordnance Survey (next door), Tesco, and IKEA. Southampton General Hospital is a short distance from the hotel also. The hotel is an ideal base for business travel. Looking for time to relax or a short weekend break the hotel is again an ideal choice for individuals and families. If you are taking a Cruise from Southampton stay at the hotel the night before the Cruise with packages and long stay car parking available. All Cruise Terminals are a short distance away. Why not visit the West Quay Shopping Centre, Beaulieu Motor Museum, Paultons Park, Marwell Zoo, The Ageas Bowl, Southampton University and Southamptons Annual International Boat Show. The hotel also offers 2 meeting rooms. All rooms are ensuite and with FREE WIFI. We also have accessible rooms. Why not stay in this excellent southampton hotel and ask about our low rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Southampton West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West Hotel Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
Southampton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing