We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value if booked in advance.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Southampton West

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Good value if booked in advance.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

Pros: Good value for money with OK breakfast included. Close to lots of New Forest attractions and to the docks if you are catching a ferry. Reasonably spacious rooms, reasonably comfortable beds and clean functional bathrooms. Tea and coffee making facilities in room. The staff were friendly and generally efficient.

Cons: The breakfast was disorderly and queue-prone. We were there in half term this time so I suppose this might be expected but we remembered it being the same when we last visited, which was outside of school holidays. The main source of the problem would appear to be the toast machine and I think the management might need to think about how this could be improved - two machines? A better machine? Not sure.

Good stay to stay for the price (with advanced booking) and for convenience - would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmfcambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXManagement, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this review, 30 October 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us.
Im glad overall you had a pleasant stay and the issues you raised regarding Breakfast will be discussed amongst the team and improvements made where possible.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    274
    183
    84
    49
See reviews for
308
207
37
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

We had booked a 2 day trip to Peppa Pig World and were pleased that we were so close to Paultons Park. On arrival at the Hotel we were greeted with polite and efficient staff. Our room was beautifully clean and roomy. However the evening meal was a big let down. Our burgers were served speedily, but they were so dry. Almost as if they were heated up from the day before, expensive for what we got. Breakfast was only a little better.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank April J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXManagement, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this review, 28 October 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for reviewing our hotel,Im glad your overall you had a pleasant stay.
Regarding the food comments ive passed them onto our cook and we will look at that,I would like to point out that all our food is cooked fresh to order.
We hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

This was our first time in a Holiday Inn Express, having stayed normally in Premier Inns, and we were a bit disappointed. The check in was OK and the room clean and tidy, but we booked a family room to include our two children and there were no additional towels or bedding for them. I reported this straight away and we had to chase them up again two hours later before we received any.
I was told the hotel was full that night, mainly with families going to Peppa Pig World, but we had a good peaceful night and a great sleep in a comfy bed. And the shower was excellent too, a powerful jet and plenty of hot water.
The breakfast selection was pretty good but it was a bit of a 'bunfight' and they had run out of croissants by 8.30. I asked the waitress (Sophie?) if they had any more, she said we would go and check. They didn't have any more but at least she was good enough to come and find me and tell me personally.
Overall no real complaints, but the room rate wasn't that cheap, and I wouldn't rush back.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marty999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXManagement, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this review, 28 October 2011
Dear Sir,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us,Im glad overall you had a pleasant stay and ive passed on the comments regarding the towels to the housekeeping team.
Regarding breakfast it can be busy at certain times more so when its half term,and we have a lot of familys in visitng local attractions.
We hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Dan Osborne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Essex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

We made the booking some months ago - an incredible £55 per night on some kind of offer. We were allowed to change the date without argument even though the booking was on a "no change" basis. The room could not be faulted - it was immaculate, spotlessly clean, had a brand new flat-screen TV and included a hair dryer and tean/coffee making facilities. The rest of the hotel appeared to be similarly well cared for. For such an absurdly low price we were surprised to find a cooked breakfast. It was half term and there were many parents with young children visiting a nearby theme park; an added joy to a couple in their mid-seventies. The location is ideal for exploring the New Forest, which we wanted to do. The staff were first class. Overall, we could not believe our luck.

Room Tip: Ours on the second floor appeared to have been refurbished very recently; the same may apply to all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arkesdenite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXManagement, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this review, 28 October 2011
Dear Sir,
Thank you fro your comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us,Myself and the team look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

stayed here three times , just got back from a four day stay, every thing was great, clean room , breakfast good. found dinner prices a bit pricey, but then it is a one night stay hotel for reps etc

Room Tip: car park can get full on busy nights so get there before late evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ianhathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXManagement, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this review, 26 October 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay here.
Im glad you enjoyed your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Regards
Dan Osborne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights as part of a Peppa Pig World break. The member of staff on reception on arrival was friendly and efficient.

Our room (on 1st floor, overlooking car park) was fine, very clean. However, it was extremely warm. There was a fan provided, which for October should not be needed, therefore I presume the hotel suffers and I think a long term resolution should be looked into. Also the metal framed sofa beds are really uncomfy, maybe a mattress topper could be provided so the occupants can't feel the bars when sleeping.

Breakfast on our first morning (8.45am) was fine. No queues, well stocked food and drinks. But breakfast on our second morning (9.30) was different. VERY busy, big queues for food, hot food constantly running out and taking a little while to be replenished. I overheard a member of staff in a suit telling a queuing customer that 2 staff had called in sick...however, this should not affect service in anyway. Temp/bank staff should be called in immediately to cover.

Check out was quick and easy.

I would stay again, but make sure we got down for breakfast around 8.30 each day.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leighite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXManagement, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this review, 26 October 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us.
Im glad to see on the whole you had a good experience,
All issues you have raised will be looked at as we are always striving to improve our guests experience.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards
Dan Osborne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights whilst visiting Peppa Pig World - which is only about 10 minutes away. The staff couldn't have been more helpful or friendly. They coped with the red wine spillage in the bedroom with great charm and friendliness. They were brilliant with the 2 small children we took with us.
The room wasn't air conditioned and would have been hot in summer however.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yoakley29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXManagement, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this review, 26 October 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your poitive comments regarding our hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Regards
Dan Osborne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
3.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
3.2 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Southampton West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Southampton West

Property: Holiday Inn Express Southampton West
Address: Adanac Park Redbridge Lane, Southampton SO16 0YP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Southampton West 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West is located off Junction 1 of the M271(off Junction 3 M27). This hotel is an ideal location for visiting Southampton, Paultons Park, Peppa Pig World, Beaulieu, The Isle of Wight, The New Forest, West Quay Shopping Centre and many attractions. The Hotel offers a continental with three hot choices buffet breakfast and free parking. Ideal for both business and leisure travel. Travelling on business the Holiday Inn Express Southampton West is a short distance from Southampton City Centre, and only 7 miles from Southampton Airport. The hotel is ideally located for companies such as Ordnance Survey (next door), Tesco, and IKEA. Southampton General Hospital is a short distance from the hotel also. The hotel is an ideal base for business travel. Looking for time to relax or a short weekend break the hotel is again an ideal choice for individuals and families. If you are taking a Cruise from Southampton stay at the hotel the night before the Cruise with packages and long stay car parking available. All Cruise Terminals are a short distance away. Why not visit the West Quay Shopping Centre, Beaulieu Motor Museum, Paultons Park, Marwell Zoo, The Ageas Bowl, Southampton University and Southamptons Annual International Boat Show. The hotel also offers 2 meeting rooms. All rooms are ensuite and with FREE WIFI. We also have accessible rooms. Why not stay in this excellent southampton hotel and ask about our low rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Southampton West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West Hotel Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
Southampton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing