We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Left property not returned and credit card debited for a nights stay despite having a confirmed reward night booking” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Southampton West

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Left property not returned and credit card debited for a nights stay despite having a confirmed reward night booking”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

Disappointed with the experience at Holiday Inn Express Southampton (Adanac park). We'd booked using priority club points, and this was acknowledged by the reception on duty at reception and checkout, so I was shocked to find the room charged to my credit card when my statement arrived in November. On calling head office they subsequently got a representative from the Hotel to call and apologise and having received last months credit card statement (December) they have refunded the full amount.

However our concerns over this issue were compounded as my wife left a shopping bag in the room ( probably under the bed) containing a new top we bought in Next Southampton for £25.

I advised the hotel of this and my wife made several phone calls to them within 72 hrs of arriving home. It's clear the management of the hotel weren't interested and appeared to make no attempt to question housekeeping on who serviced the room after our checkout. The incident with the room charge and the failure to investigate our left property has left us concerned over the integrity of this particular hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Dear CoventryMartin,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We would like to follow up with you about your left item. We have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information.

I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    274
    183
    84
    49
See reviews for
308
207
37
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SKEGNESS
Level Contributor
47 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

My Wife and I stayed at this hotel for two nights from the 25th December 2012, we found the staff to be friendly, rooms were excellent as all the Holiday Inn Express rooms are the same, good size and layout. Breakfast was good. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JOLLYJACK3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel.

I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests.

Many thanks for the feedback and I am glad you were happy with your stay.

Kind Regards

Jonathan Meeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012

Booked this hotel following a good experience at the Holiday Inn, Gatwick 2 months ago.
A good venue for a pre-cruise overnighter from Southampton. Price, room and food all what you would expect for an above-average budget hotel. We live in Cheshire and like to be fresh and relaxed before getting on board ship and will certainly use again if cruising from Southampton.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this review, 28 December 2012
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel.

I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests.

Many thanks for the feedback and I am glad you were happy with your stay.

Kind Regards

Jonathan Meeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norwich
Level Contributor
133 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012 via mobile

Guess this hotel does just what it sets out to do. Offers a room with breakfast for a rate no body can moan about. That said, why could the staff not smile, welcome guests and offer customers a experience. Just because you are paying a lesser rate, does not mean you get lesser service. A lady behind reception was rude an off hand not only to fellow staff members but to a couple of customers. I was not served by her so can not pass comment but she shouted at the elderly man and I was so shocked when she did it.

The dinner servers were very rude, not once did se speak or say enjoy your meal, clear our table of starter or main course.

We ordered food, ok it was ok, but why wa I waiting to be served whilst the staff were running around plating up fetching and carrying a take away for a couple sat in the bar? Surly paying customers would o come first but no in this hotel. So it seems you can sit in a bar/restaurant and order a take away and get the staff to serve you. If this is your policy can you please advise all customers and I could of save a money and also have you deliver my take away to me in your restaurant. Sounds like a bargain!

The rooms ok, either hot or cold no in between. You can not pay for drinks or food on card in the bar area (which is when the gentleman got shouted at) the hotel was clean and i got a good nights sleep.

I would stay again if the price was right and after I had explored other hotels first. As I now know you can order take away good and get it served.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dean k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this review, 28 December 2012
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel.

I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests.

Kind Regards

Jonathan Meeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

The hotel offers good, standard accommodation. Service was good and the rooms clean and comfortable. The complementary breakfast was also adequate. There is food offered in the evenings and a small bar. However, the choice is pretty sparse. The cruise car parking company that Holiday Inn use are fantastic. It is offsite, but easy to find (approx a 10-15 min drive). The car park isn't supposed to open to departing passengers before 11.30, however we arrived at just after 11am and were able to park up immediately and get on the waiting minibus. The bus to the port took approx 15 minutes and we were dropped right outside the front door of the port building. On our arrival back at the port, there was no waiting around. The mini buses were ready and waiting just outside the terminal building. On our arrival back at the car park, the car was ready and waiting by the reception area. Very well organised and efficient.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Piercl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this review, 28 December 2012
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel.

I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests.

Many thanks for the feedback and I am glad you were happy with your stay.

Kind Regards

Jonathan Meeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012

The Holiday Inn Express Southampton West is ideally placed format stay before starting a cruise from Southampton and need car parking too while you are away. Situated just off the motorway between Southampton and Romsey. Rooms are spacious, well maintained and comfortable. Staff at this hotel were helpful and friendly. This hotel offers good value car parking packages at nearby Marchwood. A good breakfast is provided, but the breakfast area can get congested. All in all, good value.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorothybs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this review, 28 December 2012
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel.

I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests.

Many thanks for the feedback and I am glad you were happy with your stay.

Kind Regards

Jonathan Meeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012 via mobile

Upon arrival staff were very pleasant. The room was clean with comfy bed and the bed settee was made already (2+2). Parking was easy with plenty of space. Breakfast in the morning was lovely, they had a hot selection on top of the pastries, toast and cereal. The whole experience was great. Thank you

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wincups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this review, 15 December 2012
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel.

I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests.

Many thanks for the feedback and I am glad you were happy with your stay.

Kind Regards

Jonathan Meeson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
3.7 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
3.2 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
3.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Southampton West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Southampton West

Property: Holiday Inn Express Southampton West
Address: Adanac Park Redbridge Lane, Southampton SO16 0YP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Southampton West 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West is located off Junction 1 of the M271(off Junction 3 M27). This hotel is an ideal location for visiting Southampton, Paultons Park, Peppa Pig World, Beaulieu, The Isle of Wight, The New Forest, West Quay Shopping Centre and many attractions. The Hotel offers a continental with three hot choices buffet breakfast and free parking. Ideal for both business and leisure travel. Travelling on business the Holiday Inn Express Southampton West is a short distance from Southampton City Centre, and only 7 miles from Southampton Airport. The hotel is ideally located for companies such as Ordnance Survey (next door), Tesco, and IKEA. Southampton General Hospital is a short distance from the hotel also. The hotel is an ideal base for business travel. Looking for time to relax or a short weekend break the hotel is again an ideal choice for individuals and families. If you are taking a Cruise from Southampton stay at the hotel the night before the Cruise with packages and long stay car parking available. All Cruise Terminals are a short distance away. Why not visit the West Quay Shopping Centre, Beaulieu Motor Museum, Paultons Park, Marwell Zoo, The Ageas Bowl, Southampton University and Southamptons Annual International Boat Show. The hotel also offers 2 meeting rooms. All rooms are ensuite and with FREE WIFI. We also have accessible rooms. Why not stay in this excellent southampton hotel and ask about our low rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Southampton West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West Hotel Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
Southampton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing