We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAYED WHILST WE VISITED PEPPA PIG WORLD 2 days for price of 1”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed here for the night as part of our peppa pig 2 days for price of 1 weekend deal. My wife and I took our two grandchildren so booked a family room. The room had a double bed and a double sofa bed which was great for us all. The room was adequate nice and modern shower room and all was lovely and clean.... The breakfast was adequate and did the trick....all in all a good stay...would defiantly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grana1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (851)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

540 - 546 of 851 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2013

On the plus side clean rooms and friendly staff, it is a really popular hotel for families going to Paultons Park nearby. I noticed they had an 'adults only' room for breakfast! On the subject of breakfast however it was a disaster, cutlery and bowls were filthy, we had to continually ask for things that had run out, and the choice of food was very limited compared to the Holiday Inn East Hedge End which we had stayed in for two nights before. For the same price go for the other Holiday Inn next to the cricket ground far superior in every way.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear Neil W,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We are delighted about your positive comments with the room cleanliness and our friendly staff. It is always our goal to provide the best possible service and create memorable experiences and on this occasion we apologize we did not exceed your expectations with the breakfast you had. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you again for your review and hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back again very soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

This HI Express featured none of the efficiency and warmth traditional of most Holiday Inns around the world. Perhaps because of the summer clientele being mostly families on holiday looking for a one-night stop. At check-in we took in the lovely colourful chalkboard advertising dinner choices, however no one bothered to inform us that we should book a table. Result: no chance to dine before 9:30 pm, said the receptionist, so they called a taxi to take us somewhere else, somewhere equally average.

Having booked a further night five days later we left some laundry for them to send out and have waiting for us on our return. Guess what? The clothing was waiting for us alright, in the same condition that we had left it in - they had forgotten to send it out!

The next time in Southampton, I think we'll go for the "real" Holiday Inn near the docks.

Room Tip: In summer try to get one facing the prevailing wind, it's from the north-west, I think. You'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stanley Angus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajat V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am sorry you found some aspects of our hotel less than satisfactory.

The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.


We constantly review our F&B offerings to provide variety and will certainly take on board your comments regarding Meal experience.

Regards
Rajat Verma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We selected this hotel for an overnight stop in Southampton and at £63 for the night thought it excellent value. The hotel is 10 years old but looks pretty new. It was very full but everyone was polite at the front desk. Breakfast was well appointed also and included in the price.

On the minus side, the internet was pricey at £6.50 and curiously the 3G signal on my iPad didn;t work very well until I got.....just outside the hotel boundary. The rooms would also benefit from air con which seems to be an omission in an increasingly warmer Britain.

The hotel is nowhere near the centre of Southampton but as long as you have a car that shouldn't be a problem. It was 25 minutes to the docks by car which we thought was fine.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoyalSilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajat V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Thank you very much for providing us your valuable feedback following your stay at the holiday inn Express Southampton west. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We will look forward to welcome you again.

Kind Regards
Rajat Verma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed here for one night before catching our ferry to the Isle of Wight.

Having stayed in a Holiday Inn the previous month we were quite confident that this would be a good start to our holiday.

How wrong we were!

Check in ok, bit of a queue but not too bad. Staff pleasant. I should add at this point that we stayed during the July heatwave - public areas, bar and check in area all air conditioned and cool - lovely! This changes when you take the lift to the bedrooms. We couldn't understand why all the doors the rooms were propped open with cots, coke bottles, suitcases until we reached our own room - it was like an oven. There are child locks on the windows which only allow you open the window by slightly less than one inch. This really makes no difference.

I called reception and explained that although we had our two children with us, they were aged 9 and 14, and we would take full responsibility for their safety if they would arrange for the lock to be removed as were very uncomfortable and the room was unbearably hot. their response was that they could not possibly do this due to health and safety. It clearly was not our health and safety they were taking into account.

So we suffered. This hotel is the nearest for Peppa Pig World so there lots of little kiddies and all we could here were babies and children crying because of the heat and the stifling conditions in the rooms. Parents were desperate to find a way to cool them down and we shared their pain.

We purchased a glass of wine and a pint of lager at the bar for £9.50. Bar staff appeared to want to be somewhere else.

Morning eventually arrived and breakfast. This was dreadful. Staff few and far between. Cooked food tasteless and unappetising and the room packed.

Such an awful start to our holiday but things did improve once we left this hotel. We will not be staying in a Holiday Inn Express again.

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tewkesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajat V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Thank you very much for taking time to post your comments following your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Southampton.

The complementary hot breakfast in our hotel has been mentioned with much positive feedback from the guests with whom we have spoken on check out. Unlike the other hotels where you will have to pay for your breakfast normally over £9.

We do not have air conditioning facility and we certainly don’t advertise for it and therefore our prices reflect value for money.

there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty

Regards
Rajat Verma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I stayed here with my two daughters as we were visiting Paultons Park. I had read the negative comments, so wasn't holding my breath but was very pleasantly surprised. Check in was very smooth, service with a smile, no less. The room, whilst basic, was more than adequate for o e night and we couldn't fault the cleaners - they had done a great job. Breakfast was typical hotel buffet fare, but set us up nicely for the day ahead. Free wifi is available, I had to ask for the log in details, but the code is valid for three devices for 24 hrs, so we were all happy. Would happily stay here again and have no problems recommending it. It is less than a 10 minute drive to the park as well

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chelmsfordfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajat V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Thank you very much for providing us your valuable feedback following your stay at the holiday inn Express Southampton west. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We will look forward to welcome you again.

Kind Regards
Rajat Verma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I stayed here for a business trip last week,
Upon checking in the receptionist was very polite and recommend a district in Southampton to visit if I was eating out.
My rooms-Bit disappointed that there was no air con they did leave a fan in the room which wasn't to powerful so it wasn't much use, The room was clean and tidy so was the shower area. Most hotel I can easily fall asleep in after a busy day on the road for some reason I struggled to sleep in this hotel not to sure if the room was to hot or the pillow are to hard.

Breakfast- was average choice of sausage and baked bean for cooked food or choice of a few cereal and toast and fruit as well,

The hotel was full and so was the breakfast area which resulted in a few un cleaned tables being left unattended, the staff you could see where trying there best to keep on top of it but it was tough challenged for them.

I am not to sure if I will be returning to this hotel in the near future.

Room Tip: ask for a room with air con if they have any during the summer period
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ollieboy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajat V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am sorry you found some aspects of our hotel less than satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

We do not have air conditioning facility and we certainly don’t advertise for it and therefore our prices reflect value for money.

Regards
Rajat Verma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
3.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#8 of 25 in Southampton
1,120 reviews
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#12 of 25 in Southampton
1,267 reviews
3.2 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#11 of 25 in Southampton
1,823 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#14 of 25 in Southampton
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Southampton West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Southampton West

Address: Adanac Park Redbridge Lane, Southampton SO16 0YP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Price Range: £44 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Southampton West 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West is located off Junction 1 of the M271(off Junction 3 M27). This hotel is an ideal location for visiting Southampton, Paultons Park, Peppa Pig World, Beaulieu, The Isle of Wight, The New Forest, West Quay Shopping Centre and many attractions. The Hotel offers a continental with three hot choices buffet breakfast and free parking. Ideal for both business and leisure travel. Travelling on business the Holiday Inn Express Southampton West is a short distance from Southampton City Centre, and only 7 miles from Southampton Airport. The hotel is ideally located for companies such as Ordnance Survey (next door), Tesco, and IKEA. Southampton General Hospital is a short distance from the hotel also. The hotel is an ideal base for business travel. Looking for time to relax or a short weekend break the hotel is again an ideal choice for individuals and families. If you are taking a Cruise from Southampton stay at the hotel the night before the Cruise with packages and long stay car parking available. All Cruise Terminals are a short distance away. Why not visit the West Quay Shopping Centre, Beaulieu Motor Museum, Paultons Park, Marwell Zoo, The Ageas Bowl, Southampton University and Southamptons Annual International Boat Show. The hotel also offers 2 meeting rooms. All rooms are ensuite and with FREE WIFI. We also have accessible rooms. Why not stay in this excellent southampton hotel and ask about our low rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Southampton West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West Hotel Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
Southampton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing