We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for travelers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good hotel for travelers”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We (family of 2+3) stayed at the hotel after visiting Peppa Pig World. The hotel is very close to the park and also close to the highway. the staff at the reception were very kind. Breakfast was OK, however, while we were eating (at 9:30), the staff began clearing the buffet, although they told us that breakfast is until 10:00... plus, some of the trays were finished before we began eating, and they didn't refill them...
again,I do recommend this hotel if you're just traveling by.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veredm7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear Veredm7,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. We hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    287
    189
    87
    50
See reviews for
332
217
37
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Camborne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Booked this hotel as part of a package to Peppa Pig World because it was one of the closest to the park.
We arrived late afternoon and was greeted by very helpful receptionist,room was clean and had everything we needed,i asked for some extra pillows which were bought straight up. No complaints about the bed,it was comfortable.
The receptionist was very helpful when we asked for directions and was very knowledgeble about the local area.
Breakfast was busy but everything was kept stocked well and the tables cleared as fast as possible. We had dinner here on the last night which was nothing special but was acceptable and really couldnt be bothered to go into Southampton.
Would definatley go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shazzy6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We arrived without any problems and we were dealt with straight away at the reception desk.
We found the room clean as it can be for a Holiday Inn but the room was small considering it is meant to be a family room. The pull out sofa bed was so hard my daughter could not get comfortable also it was that close to the desk she kept banging into it, also the double bed wasn't very big either and was also very uncomfortable. Unfortunately the rooms were so hot even the small fan they provided wasn't of any help so this didn't help with getting a very good night sleep. We also had to contend with the noise from the lift which was going throughout the night also a noise which I presume was coming from a generator of some sort's was continuously going on without any breaks. We had the breakfast which is provided but this was terrible, there was hardly any room to sit and there was many families having to stand while they fed kids, also it was like feeding time at the zoo!!!
The food was terrible, my daughter's tried to have something but everything tasted disgusting even the toast as the machine once it went through didn't do properly and then you put the toast in again it was burnt and to top it off I asked for a milk jug or something to pour my milk into my long awaited cup of tea but they sent over a mug of milk which when upon trying to go into the tea it went everywhere. I will never stay here again and I personally will not use a Holiday Inn again.

Room Tip: Do not have a room by the lift xx
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie3650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Dear Marie3650,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments. We understand that having a good night sleep is important and it sounds like we fell below your expectations. We are sorry for any inconvenience you experienced due to the elevator noise and poor room accommodations you received. We have taken note of your valuable comments and rest assured, these will be used to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer to our guests.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southampton hotels

Cardigan, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Booked this hotel as it was close to the Peppa Pig World attraction. Stayed with my mum and three children. We arrived late after travelling from Bristol and initially found it difficult to find! We checked in easily and found that the room was really small, even for a family room. We had also requested a cot, only to be told they didn't have one available. I had luckily brought mine with me as we were staying with relatives for the week.
The beds were particularly uncomfortable and felt like you were on a boat trip! Everytime my son moved, I moved or rather bounced! My mum was sharing the sofa bed with my 12 year old daughter too and said the same thing! No extra pillows either.
The breakfast was fine but really busy and it was initially difficult to find anywhere to sit down!
Overall, for the price it was fine but don't expect to sleep very well!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KBarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear KBarn,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corby
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed here for the night as part of our peppa pig 2 days for price of 1 weekend deal. My wife and I took our two grandchildren so booked a family room. The room had a double bed and a double sofa bed which was great for us all. The room was adequate nice and modern shower room and all was lovely and clean.... The breakfast was adequate and did the trick....all in all a good stay...would defiantly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grana1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2013

On the plus side clean rooms and friendly staff, it is a really popular hotel for families going to Paultons Park nearby. I noticed they had an 'adults only' room for breakfast! On the subject of breakfast however it was a disaster, cutlery and bowls were filthy, we had to continually ask for things that had run out, and the choice of food was very limited compared to the Holiday Inn East Hedge End which we had stayed in for two nights before. For the same price go for the other Holiday Inn next to the cricket ground far superior in every way.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear Neil W,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We are delighted about your positive comments with the room cleanliness and our friendly staff. It is always our goal to provide the best possible service and create memorable experiences and on this occasion we apologize we did not exceed your expectations with the breakfast you had. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you again for your review and hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back again very soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamala, Bahrain
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

This HI Express featured none of the efficiency and warmth traditional of most Holiday Inns around the world. Perhaps because of the summer clientele being mostly families on holiday looking for a one-night stop. At check-in we took in the lovely colourful chalkboard advertising dinner choices, however no one bothered to inform us that we should book a table. Result: no chance to dine before 9:30 pm, said the receptionist, so they called a taxi to take us somewhere else, somewhere equally average.

Having booked a further night five days later we left some laundry for them to send out and have waiting for us on our return. Guess what? The clothing was waiting for us alright, in the same condition that we had left it in - they had forgotten to send it out!

The next time in Southampton, I think we'll go for the "real" Holiday Inn near the docks.

Room Tip: In summer try to get one facing the prevailing wind, it's from the north-west, I think. You'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stanley Angus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajat V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am sorry you found some aspects of our hotel less than satisfactory.

The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.


We constantly review our F&B offerings to provide variety and will certainly take on board your comments regarding Meal experience.

Regards
Rajat Verma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
3.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#5 of 24 in Southampton
850 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#14 of 24 in Southampton
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
1,693 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#3 of 24 in Southampton
1,068 reviews
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Southampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Southampton West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Southampton West

Property: Holiday Inn Express Southampton West
Address: Adanac Park Redbridge Lane, Southampton SO16 0YP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Southampton West 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West is located off Junction 1 of the M271(off Junction 3 M27). This hotel is an ideal location for visiting Southampton, Paultons Park, Peppa Pig World, Beaulieu, The Isle of Wight, The New Forest, West Quay Shopping Centre and many attractions. The Hotel offers a continental with three hot choices buffet breakfast and free parking. Ideal for both business and leisure travel. Travelling on business the Holiday Inn Express Southampton West is a short distance from Southampton City Centre, and only 7 miles from Southampton Airport. The hotel is ideally located for companies such as Ordnance Survey (next door), Tesco, and IKEA. Southampton General Hospital is a short distance from the hotel also. The hotel is an ideal base for business travel. Looking for time to relax or a short weekend break the hotel is again an ideal choice for individuals and families. If you are taking a Cruise from Southampton stay at the hotel the night before the Cruise with packages and long stay car parking available. All Cruise Terminals are a short distance away. Why not visit the West Quay Shopping Centre, Beaulieu Motor Museum, Paultons Park, Marwell Zoo, The Ageas Bowl, Southampton University and Southamptons Annual International Boat Show. The hotel also offers 2 meeting rooms. All rooms are ensuite and with FREE WIFI. We also have accessible rooms. Why not stay in this excellent southampton hotel and ask about our low rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Southampton West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West Hotel Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
Southampton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing