We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for a stop over only”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stayed here in early September as part of the Paultons Park package. While the hotel itself is clean and functional for a stop off on route elsewhere, I did not find it suitable for a 3 day family visit. The hotel is situated in the middle of a field off the motorway. There are no shops or restaurants within walking distance. It was necessary to get taxis each time, to go out for something to eat and to Paultons Park. This ended up being very expensive.

That might have been ok, if the selection and quality of food on offer was somewhat decent. For a budget hotel, I found the food very expensive. Everything looked unappetising and reheated. The selection of food was very poor.

Room Tip: The window in our room did not open fully, this was probably a safety feature, as there is no air co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GerIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

Dear GerIreland,

Thank you so much for your review of our property. I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, comfort and quality of its product. It is regrettable to hear that there were certain aspects of your visit that did not meet your standards. Please accept our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations. Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

While we understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (851)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

525 - 531 of 851 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2013

We found it an excellent choice on our first stay so returned for another 3-night stay which was as good as before. I am surprised at some of the negative reviews, perhaps they are from people going on to cruises so are used to luxury but this is a budget hotel! Our stay averaged out at £73 per room per night and you would have to pay more than this for a scruffy B&B in Southampton. It's easy to find (just off the motorway) with plenty of free parking and the desk staff were friendly and helpful. The room had plenty of space, was clean and nicely furnished with adequate hanging space and storage areas. There was a TV, tea and coffee making facilities, a hair dryer and a heater if needed. No air-conditioning (it's a budget hotel remember) but the windows opened and there was a desk fan. The bathroom was spacious with a shower that worked better than some I have found in better hotels. Considering the hotel is popular with families it was quiet at night and we slept really well in comfortable beds.
The breakfast is all included and considering it was help yourself to as much as you like it was excellent. The hot choice is restricted to sausages, beans and scrambled egg, but there's plenty of cereals, toast, croissants, and as much tea and coffee as you want. They now have an adults-only breakfast room to use if its a bit full of the noise of children in the main dining area. Don't forget to pick up a free newspaper from the reception desk as you go through.
To sum up; great value, plenty of free parking, comfortable rooms, excellent included breakfast. What's not to like?

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy_Viv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Firstly, the hotel was in a good location and the majority of staff were friendly. However, we booked a family room for three and the room was absolutely tiny- you couldn't move. There was a double bed and a pull-out sofa bed (which was hard, lumpy and very uncomfortable to sleep on) and was rammed right up by the wall and the desk/tv so to get to the window you had to climb over the bed which was quite inconvenient. Also, there is no air-con in the room and we stayed on two hot nights and the small fan provided was useless. The window only opened about an inch for 'safety reasons' so wasn't helpful at all.

I would avoid using the hotel restaurant in the evening at all costs as it was absolute chaos. It was understaffed and the main waiter was miserable and left dirty dishes on pretty much every table which was a bit off-putting. You had to book a 'time slot' but this was pointless as we still waited an 1 hr & a 1/2 for two chicken burgers, fish cakes and some garlic bread. None of the food was of good quality either. Everyone in the restaurant was becoming rather irate so wasn't a nice atmosphere and one woman waited over an hour for a salad!!! Also, they were bringing out everyone's food in the wrong order and giving it to the wrong tables- it could of been in a comedy sketch! The staff did apologise but really should of warned people before that the food was going to take so long to arrive.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Dear Zoe R,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our property. Our efforts are always to ensure our guests are satisfied and our hotel is maintained to be comfortable while you are with us. It is great to know you liked our location. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you had with our facilities and the service you received. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.

Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Stayed here for one night prior to our cruise. Did the park and stay option on one room and a twin room as extra. Had some challenges with the original booking due to the European staff but sorted it on arrival. The parking option was an excellent option for us. Five mile drive to the parking facility which we didn't expect but the transfer was trouble free both ways.
Would use this hotel again along with the parking if we cruise from Southampton again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shaunmaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I stayed here for 1 night.

All the staff were really friendly and helpful so no issues there.

The hotel itself felt a tad dated.

The room was OK. No air con and it was a really warm day. I had the window open but I was in a room facing the motorway so it was noisy.

The shower was showing signs of mildew starting which is always a put off for me. It wasn't bad but it needed sorting before it develops.

I had dinner which was fine. Breakfast was not brilliant. The sausages tasteless and the scrambled egg very dry.

I probably wouldn't choose to use this particular HI again. Shame as the staff were great.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank GlennRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear GlennRobinson,

Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel and for sparing your very valuable time to submit a feedback of your experience during the stay with us.

I humbly apologize for the shortcomings you had in you room and for the dissatisfaction you had with the breakfast choices. We endeavor to meet all guests’ expectations at all times and regret that we failed on this instance.

It is our fullest intention to provide the best experience, as such, we are constantly looking into areas of improvements in the best of our efforts assuring you of our best attention and service at all times. Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and appropriate action will be taken. Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Bad start when we had to wait for 5 minutes for two members of staff to finish their argument on the check in desk, no acknowledgement. Then we had a room on the first floor, without aircon and it was exceptionally noisy outside so having the window open wasnt an option. People running up and down the corridors, shouting outside at all hours. Room was clean, bed not particularly comfortable but ok for one night. Breakfast a bit chaotic with limited options. Have stayed at many budget chains and had a better night, based on this experience wouldnt use a HI express again.

Stayed: August 2013
Thank tallulahSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Dear tallulahSussex,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are sincerely sorry for the issues you had with the AC unit in the room. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and guest services we offer to our guests. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We used this hotel for 'Peppa Pig world':
- Our room was broken into!
- The family room consisted of a lumpy futon and a hard bed, which hurt backs and kept the 2 year old up
- The downstairs loo was blocked
- My four year old slipped on soapy floors
- The breakfast was deplorable to the point of being inedible
- The staff were rude and unhelpful
- No one apologised
- They ran out of a lot of food and ran out of rose and white wine, and the vending machine broke
- they woke the two year old up by calling our room late at night

The list goes on. I am currently waiting on a response.
Other guests were outraged the night we went.

Positives? Curry dinner was good. They have sky in the family room, not that we really got a chance to watch it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 19Blue90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Dear 19Blue90,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Regards,
Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
3.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#8 of 25 in Southampton
1,116 reviews
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#12 of 25 in Southampton
1,266 reviews
3.2 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#11 of 25 in Southampton
1,822 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#14 of 25 in Southampton
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Southampton West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Southampton West

Address: Adanac Park Redbridge Lane, Southampton SO16 0YP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Price Range: £43 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Southampton West 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West is located off Junction 1 of the M271(off Junction 3 M27). This hotel is an ideal location for visiting Southampton, Paultons Park, Peppa Pig World, Beaulieu, The Isle of Wight, The New Forest, West Quay Shopping Centre and many attractions. The Hotel offers a continental with three hot choices buffet breakfast and free parking. Ideal for both business and leisure travel. Travelling on business the Holiday Inn Express Southampton West is a short distance from Southampton City Centre, and only 7 miles from Southampton Airport. The hotel is ideally located for companies such as Ordnance Survey (next door), Tesco, and IKEA. Southampton General Hospital is a short distance from the hotel also. The hotel is an ideal base for business travel. Looking for time to relax or a short weekend break the hotel is again an ideal choice for individuals and families. If you are taking a Cruise from Southampton stay at the hotel the night before the Cruise with packages and long stay car parking available. All Cruise Terminals are a short distance away. Why not visit the West Quay Shopping Centre, Beaulieu Motor Museum, Paultons Park, Marwell Zoo, The Ageas Bowl, Southampton University and Southamptons Annual International Boat Show. The hotel also offers 2 meeting rooms. All rooms are ensuite and with FREE WIFI. We also have accessible rooms. Why not stay in this excellent southampton hotel and ask about our low rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Southampton West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West Hotel Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
Southampton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing