We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West
Nearby Hotels
US$120
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Blue Keys(Southampton)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$90
US$82
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Highfield House Hotel(Southampton)(Great Value!)
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn Southampton Airport Hotel(Southampton)(Great Value!)
US$90
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel(Southampton)(Great Value!)
US$90
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$57
Travelodge
View Deal
Reviews (867)
Filter reviews
867 results
Traveller rating
217
306
201
90
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
217
306
201
90
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspeppa pig worldpaultons parkbeansroom was cleanfree breakfastsouthampton westshort drivetravel cotyogurtthe ground floorstayed here for nightswould stay againbooked this hotelnew forestbudget hotelincluding breakfastone night stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
531 - 536 of 867 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed 3 nights while visiting family in the area. Good idea to have a separate breakfast room for adults only as there were a lot of kids. Breakfast ok, eggs overcooked though. Twin room is actually a double bed and a bed settee. This latter isn't very comfortable. Room cleaning wasn't exceptional. When we arrived late in the evening, the baby's cot hadn't been installed (despite having phoned before to remind the hotel) but it quickly arrived. Once the baby was in the cot she was laying on the floor so we had to add pillows underneath the mattress to make it softer for her. On the whole this hotel was what I expected for the price. Appreciated large car park, free.

Room Tip: Top floor so you dont hear kids running around overhead
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jazur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajat V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am sorry you found some aspects of our hotel less than satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

I have discussed your feedback with the Housekeeping team to ensure any future requests are addressed promptly.

Kind Regards
Rajat Verma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile


This is a clean budget hotel. Staff are friendly and helpful. But don't expect any frills. They serve breakfast included but it would be nice to get bacon with it. They only serve sausage beans and scrambled egg. Toast and cereals with fruit and juice. Tea and coffee. Lack of bacon was my only complaint.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank kokoloko777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajat V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thank you very much for taking time to post your comments following your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Southampton.

Free hot breakfast in our hotel has been mentioned with much positive feedback from the guests with whom we have spoken on check out. Unlike the other hotels where you will have to pay for your breakfast normally over £9.

Kind Regards
Rajat Verma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We were a party of four staying for one night per cruise sail.....we were delighted with our rooms on the first floor rooms overlooking the car park, clean and comfortable.The free breakfast was okay ( hotel was full so a little crowded ) we ate in the adult breakfast area.......wish we could review cruises on trip adviser the one we had was great.............Good hotel for a stress free start to your holiday ...

Room Tip: Busy hotel probably because good value and free breakfast.....take room on the back of property.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingann45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajat V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Thank you very much for providing us your valuable feedback following your stay at the holiday inn Express Southampton west. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We will look forward to welcome you again.

Kind Regards
Rajat Verma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed for business for 4 nights during September. The room itself was good but they had no hot water when we arrived (only for 1 night). The next evening we booked a table for 6.30pm and when we went to order the food we were told that there would be a 45 minute wait. I ordered the lamb shank from the specials for £12.95. When it came it was presented with mushy peas, the lamb shank was burnt to the point I couldn't put my knife in it. The food is over priced and to a very poor standard. If there was a rating for food then I would choose terrible.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theatrelover82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Dear Theatrelover82,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We're sorry you were not satisfied with the service you received from the restaurant staff. We were disappointed to read that when you visited the restaurant you did not find it to your tastes, we will review for possible modifications so to better accommodate our guest in the future. We do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced.

We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Thank you for again for your feedback, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed for one night before our cruise, We had no complaints, we were very pleased with the room and breakfast. As we had read some bad reviews which made us a little concerned. We would stay there again. There is a breakfast room for adults only which was a good idea because the hotel has lots of children staying.

Room Tip: we were at the front of the hotel over looking the car park so it was quiet. think it was room 304
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajat V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Thank you very much for providing us your valuable feedback following your stay at the holiday inn Express Southampton west. I was pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of our hotel and we delivered our Promise to be Simple Smart and Spot On.

In addition to this it was great to hear feedback on our newly refurbished Adults only dining area. We will look forward to welcome you again.

Kind Regards
Rajat Verma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews