We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“short stop”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“short stop”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Convienient for motor way access. Room was on top floor and opposite side to motorway,so was reasonably quiet. Rooms clean and twin firm beds were comfortable. Dinner ok, but expensive for what it was and a glass of wine expensive(£6 large). Included breakfast, basic but adequate with fair choices. Good for overnight stay whilst in Southamton area

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterw707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajat V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to post your comments following your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Southampton, I was Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, Particularly Our Free Breakfast, Free Internet, Free Newspaper, Free Parking which we offer to every guest, I am Sorry that you found a 250ml Glass of Shiraz at £6 too expensive as our Prices are very competitive against our Competitors.

Kind Regards

Rajat Verma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    287
    189
    87
    50
See reviews for
332
217
37
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I'm an American Express Platinum card holder, and receive a number of benefits (such as status) relating to various hotel chains. I find these benefits to be useful, but for my last two job contracts, the nearest hotel to my place of work has been a Holiday Inn Express, i.e. a hotel outside of Amex's benefits package.

Inevitably I've stayed often enough to achieve the fairly useless IHG Gold Status. Over the last year, across my various stays, this has provided me with 10% more points, 1 chocolate "Club" biscuit, 2 free drinks, 4 priority check-ins and 5 free internet sessions. I.e. not a lot. One thing that I have received fairly regularly is a warm welcome as a Gold Member, however, I received no such welcome at the Holiday Inn Express Southampton West.

Don't get me wrong, the welcome I received was fine: very friendly, helpful and taking a genuine personal interest in me and my stay, it just missed out on recognising that here I was again, subjecting myself to another HIX. In hindsight I was not so much frustrated with my check-in as with the fact that Gold Status at IHG properties is meaningless. At the HIX in Southampton West, the Internet benefit is negated by free internet for all guests (a good thing). I assume that all of the rooms are similar, so there's no point holding out for an upgrade. The parking is free and plentiful and there's a basic, but edible FREE breakfast for everyone in the morning.

I was asked if I wanted to use the on site restaurant for my evening meal. It looked reasonably busy, but not particularly inviting. The menu was standard pub fare with slightly higher prices (albeit still reasonable). I decided to give it a miss, as I was required to specify at check-in whether I would be eating immediately or in 2 hours. Luckily I had my car with me and a fist full of Tesco vouchers, so I was set.

I had a good night's sleep. The bathroom was the HIX standard with the dual purpose bathroom/loo door. The Wi-Fi connection was strong in my first floor room, and was of a decent speed. Breakfast and check out were fine. Noise levels were ok despite a high occupancy rate. Interestingly the clientele was somewhat biased towards older guests. Maybe they were on their way to or from a cruise, or maybe they were there to enjoy the New Forest ponies, adjacent to the property?

All in all, it was a predictable and acceptable stay. I just wish that IHG Gold meant something more than the 10% extra points that I earned.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank gnarlygb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajat V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you very much for providing us your valuable feedback following your stay at the holiday inn Express Southampton west.

I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
As a IHG Rewards Gold Club Member you are one of our Loyal guest and we value it very much, It was disappointing to hear that you felt not Privileged enough at Our Hotel.

I have personally discussed your feedback with the team and went through training with newer team members.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Kind Regards

Rajat Verma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Second time I have stayed here, rooms are typical holiday inn, well equipped, clean and roomy. Good breakfast included. Staff are very friendly and efficient. I like the free internet. This hotel will be my preferred stop over whenever I am down in this area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajat V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you very much for providing us your valuable feedback following your stay at the holiday inn Express Southampton west. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We will look forward to welcome you once again.

Kind Regards

Rajat Verma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sud de la France
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed 3 nights while visiting family in the area. Good idea to have a separate breakfast room for adults only as there were a lot of kids. Breakfast ok, eggs overcooked though. Twin room is actually a double bed and a bed settee. This latter isn't very comfortable. Room cleaning wasn't exceptional. When we arrived late in the evening, the baby's cot hadn't been installed (despite having phoned before to remind the hotel) but it quickly arrived. Once the baby was in the cot she was laying on the floor so we had to add pillows underneath the mattress to make it softer for her. On the whole this hotel was what I expected for the price. Appreciated large car park, free.

Room Tip: Top floor so you dont hear kids running around overhead
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jazur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajat V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am sorry you found some aspects of our hotel less than satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

I have discussed your feedback with the Housekeeping team to ensure any future requests are addressed promptly.

Kind Regards
Rajat Verma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penrith
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile


This is a clean budget hotel. Staff are friendly and helpful. But don't expect any frills. They serve breakfast included but it would be nice to get bacon with it. They only serve sausage beans and scrambled egg. Toast and cereals with fruit and juice. Tea and coffee. Lack of bacon was my only complaint.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank kokoloko777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajat V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to post your comments following your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Southampton.

Free hot breakfast in our hotel has been mentioned with much positive feedback from the guests with whom we have spoken on check out. Unlike the other hotels where you will have to pay for your breakfast normally over £9.

Kind Regards
Rajat Verma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham west midlands United kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We were a party of four staying for one night per cruise sail.....we were delighted with our rooms on the first floor rooms overlooking the car park, clean and comfortable.The free breakfast was okay ( hotel was full so a little crowded ) we ate in the adult breakfast area.......wish we could review cruises on trip adviser the one we had was great.............Good hotel for a stress free start to your holiday ...

Room Tip: Busy hotel probably because good value and free breakfast.....take room on the back of property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingann45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajat V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you very much for providing us your valuable feedback following your stay at the holiday inn Express Southampton west. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We will look forward to welcome you again.

Kind Regards
Rajat Verma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed for business for 4 nights during September. The room itself was good but they had no hot water when we arrived (only for 1 night). The next evening we booked a table for 6.30pm and when we went to order the food we were told that there would be a 45 minute wait. I ordered the lamb shank from the specials for £12.95. When it came it was presented with mushy peas, the lamb shank was burnt to the point I couldn't put my knife in it. The food is over priced and to a very poor standard. If there was a rating for food then I would choose terrible.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theatrelover82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear Theatrelover82,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We're sorry you were not satisfied with the service you received from the restaurant staff. We were disappointed to read that when you visited the restaurant you did not find it to your tastes, we will review for possible modifications so to better accommodate our guest in the future. We do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced.

We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Thank you for again for your feedback, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southampton hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
3.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
845 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#14 of 24 in Southampton
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
3.2 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
1,691 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#3 of 24 in Southampton
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Southampton West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Southampton West

Property: Holiday Inn Express Southampton West
Address: Adanac Park Redbridge Lane, Southampton SO16 0YP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Southampton West 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West is located off Junction 1 of the M271(off Junction 3 M27). This hotel is an ideal location for visiting Southampton, Paultons Park, Peppa Pig World, Beaulieu, The Isle of Wight, The New Forest, West Quay Shopping Centre and many attractions. The Hotel offers a continental with three hot choices buffet breakfast and free parking. Ideal for both business and leisure travel. Travelling on business the Holiday Inn Express Southampton West is a short distance from Southampton City Centre, and only 7 miles from Southampton Airport. The hotel is ideally located for companies such as Ordnance Survey (next door), Tesco, and IKEA. Southampton General Hospital is a short distance from the hotel also. The hotel is an ideal base for business travel. Looking for time to relax or a short weekend break the hotel is again an ideal choice for individuals and families. If you are taking a Cruise from Southampton stay at the hotel the night before the Cruise with packages and long stay car parking available. All Cruise Terminals are a short distance away. Why not visit the West Quay Shopping Centre, Beaulieu Motor Museum, Paultons Park, Marwell Zoo, The Ageas Bowl, Southampton University and Southamptons Annual International Boat Show. The hotel also offers 2 meeting rooms. All rooms are ensuite and with FREE WIFI. We also have accessible rooms. Why not stay in this excellent southampton hotel and ask about our low rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Southampton West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West Hotel Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
Southampton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing