We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room ok meal uninspiring and expensive for what it was”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Aylsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Room ok meal uninspiring and expensive for what it was”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Decided to. Eat in, big mistake food lack lustre and pricey for what it was had run out of the house wine so,had to have the pricey option told the reason was because it was half term!! Told they were expecting more on Tuesday,not much use to us on Saturday, noisy children in the dining area. Not a good experience for us

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pedlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajat V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am sorry you found some aspects of our hotel less than satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas.

We constantly review our F&B offerings to provide variety and will certainly take on board your comments regarding Meal experience.

I am Pleased to inform you that we have converted one of the conference room into a Business Lounge area to provide even better service.

Kind Regards
Rajat Verma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    281
    187
    86
    49
See reviews for
324
213
37
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devoran, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 November 2013

My wife and i recently stayed here as we were cruising. Although the location wasnt amazing our stay was still wonderful. We checked in with sophie on reception she was very friendly and helpful. She greeted us with a smile and made us feel welcome, she told us about breakfast and dinner times, however we fancied popping out for dinner so she was very kind in telling us where we could go to eat and drew us a map and her recommendations were very good. Arriving back from our evening meal we went straight to our room and found that our toliet wasnt working. We called reception and the manager Duane instantly came and fixed the issue, again this young man was very polite and efficient. we asked him about the cruise parking package in which he gave us more then enough infomation to make us consider rebooking next year.
Breakfast was fine adult room was a very good idea, nice and peaceful.
Overal our stay with you was perfect, the reception staff on were a great credit to the hotel.
We will be coming back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajat V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you very much for providing us your valuable feedback following your stay at the holiday inn Express Southampton west. I was pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of our hotel and we delivered our Promise to be Simple Smart and Spot On.

I have shared your feedback with the entire team which was really motivating for the team.

In addition to this it was great to hear feedback on our newly refurbished Adults only dining area. We will look forward to welcome you again.

Regards
Rajat Verma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We needed a venue for our large group of friends and family to stay and this hotel provided excellent rooms in an easily accessible location. Staff were all cheerful and helpful. The ground floor room used as an "Adults only" breakfast rooom was a particularly good idea on the part of the hotel. We used the group booking facility and the staff made sure we got exactly what we needed, and coped with a number of changes.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajat V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you very much for providing us your valuable feedback following your stay at the holiday inn Express Southampton west. I was pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of our hotel and we delivered our Promise to be Simple Smart and Spot On.

In addition to this it was great to hear feedback on our newly refurbished Adults only dining area. We will look forward to welcome you again.

Kind Regards
Rajat Verma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beds, UK
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed in this hotel with our two children (5 and 2 years old) for one night whilst visiting Peppa Pig World (see spearate review). We have stayed in a few Holiday Inn Express's before, and this is easily the worst. That's not to say it is bad, but having spent the previous two nights in a Premier Inn (Frome - see separate review), the difference between the two is obvious. The room was quite cramped with the sofa bed opened up and a travel cot for the children. It also felt quite 'tired', underlined by the fact that I found the window did not close securely (once the children were asleep, so could not move rooms - not that it was offered anyway) and this led to a draught in the room. Breakfast was totally uninspiring, with bland sausages and soggy scrambled eggs. I'd prefer they charged similar to Premier Inn for breakfast (£8) and put on good quality food. Location was good for Peppa Pig World, and we found a great pub for dinner (Four Horseshoes - see separate review). If staying in the area again, we would check out the two Premier Inns that are nearby before booking this hotel again.

Room Tip: If you get Room 103, check the window closes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rpotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajat V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to post your comments following your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Southampton.

The complementary hot breakfast in our hotel has been mentioned with much positive feedback from the guests with whom we have spoken on check out.

I have personally checked the bedroom window to ensure it closes properly and happy to confirm it works fine.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Kind Regards
Rajat Verma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed here to go to Pepper Pig World, really if you can afford to stay in a hotel in Southampton I would recommend it.

This is a budget hotel and you can feel it, in the pillows (flat as pancakes), the rooms are small but OK. Bathroom, shower only etc. The receptionist was over run at check in and check out. They need more staff for peak times.

The dining area is way too small for the number of guests when we stayed. The food in the included 'hot breakfast' was all budget/value and tasteless. The receptionist was in the back putting food in and out of the microwave. Simple fruit, cereal and toast would have been sufficient.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cal560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajat V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to post your comments following your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Southampton.

I am sorry you found some aspects of our hotel less than satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Regards
Rajat Verma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southampton hotels

Tamworth
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed here as part of the 2 day Peppa Pig World ticket. We had no trouble finding it just off the motorway and it was fairly easy to check in, unfortunately we were put in a room that was joined together with a rather loud group of people, whilst I appreciate it wasn't the hotels fault I hardly slept a wink because of it.

The bed I had was fairly uncomfortable and it took me a while to settle down as the pillows were quite hard.
The morning after we woke to find empty plates of what appeared to be curry along the corridor that were there for well over an hour after we had gone to breakfast and this ultimately stunk the corridor out and the cleaners just plainly avoided this and carried on cleaning other rooms. The breakfast was quite nice, had sausage, beans and scrambled egg which was cooked as you would expect. Overall, apart from the issues raised it was a clean, nice hotel but unfortunately those couple of things spoilt it for me.

Room Tip: Request not having a room that is joined with another room if at all possible as the walls are that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brew1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajat V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am sorry you found some aspects of our hotel less than satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

I have personally spoken to the housekeeping team and discussed your feedback with them. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Kind Regards
Rajat Verma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed here as part of a Peppa Pig world 2 day ticket with one night accomodation.
We had no trouble finding the place, or checking in, and the room was exactly like any other Holiday Inn Express that I have stayed in, with the sofa bed made up for our little one.
The room was fine, the service was fine, the breakfast was reasonably good, no issues with noise or anything, and the price was good as well.
We didnt eat dinner here as our little one went straight to sleep so I popped out for some fish and chips and took it back to the room.
These places are what they are. You know what to expect. If you dont, then have a look online for some room pictures etc, as they are all the same. You pay a reasonable amount for a reasonable hotel. This isnt a travel lodge, but it isnt the Hilton, its right inbetween.

Room Tip: I would think you need to avoid the rooms next to the lifts. I think room 205 is one of these to avo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeanyP_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajat V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you very much for providing us your valuable feedback following your stay at the holiday inn Express Southampton west. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We will look forward to welcome you again.

Kind Regards

Rajat Verma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
3.2 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
1,658 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
804 reviews
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Southampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Southampton West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Southampton West

Property: Holiday Inn Express Southampton West
Address: Adanac Park Redbridge Lane, Southampton SO16 0YP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Southampton West 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West is located off Junction 1 of the M271(off Junction 3 M27). This hotel is an ideal location for visiting Southampton, Paultons Park, Peppa Pig World, Beaulieu, The Isle of Wight, The New Forest, West Quay Shopping Centre and many attractions. The Hotel offers a continental with three hot choices buffet breakfast and free parking. Ideal for both business and leisure travel. Travelling on business the Holiday Inn Express Southampton West is a short distance from Southampton City Centre, and only 7 miles from Southampton Airport. The hotel is ideally located for companies such as Ordnance Survey (next door), Tesco, and IKEA. Southampton General Hospital is a short distance from the hotel also. The hotel is an ideal base for business travel. Looking for time to relax or a short weekend break the hotel is again an ideal choice for individuals and families. If you are taking a Cruise from Southampton stay at the hotel the night before the Cruise with packages and long stay car parking available. All Cruise Terminals are a short distance away. Why not visit the West Quay Shopping Centre, Beaulieu Motor Museum, Paultons Park, Marwell Zoo, The Ageas Bowl, Southampton University and Southamptons Annual International Boat Show. The hotel also offers 2 meeting rooms. All rooms are ensuite and with FREE WIFI. We also have accessible rooms. Why not stay in this excellent southampton hotel and ask about our low rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Southampton West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West Hotel Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
Southampton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing