We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not impressed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Southampton West

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

The check in was effective and efficient and I was pleased as a gold elite member but when I got to the second floor the lift opened and the room opposite was being painted no problem with this but there was a dreadful smell of paint throughout the second floor.
On entering my room there was an odour smell there with holes in the wall by the TV . It would have been nice to have been communicated with that the hotel was being refurbished. Also it cost me 12 pounds each way from the station when I was told it was only 3 to 4 miles from the railway station. I must admit I was most disappointed with the holiday inn having stayed at the Newcastle one the following Sunday and Watford Junction on the Monday and Tuesday both Holiday Inn Express which we're both very good in Newcastle and Watford

Not having a car I decided to eat in but there were a number of dishes not available

I must admit to being disappointed and I have posted a letter to the Manager with my constructive comments. On checking out I was not even asked about my stay and it is very unlikely I would stay here again

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear Kevin E,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the hotel refurbishments prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas of improvement with our service and accommodations. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    274
    183
    84
    49
See reviews for
308
207
37
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hythe, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

After reading the reviews on here we were a bit worried about staying at this hotel . We booked 12 rooms as we were going to a family party nearby . Check in was quick and easy all the rooms were close together on the 3rd floor which had all been newly decorated and were very clean .The staff on duty were very helpful (Duane and Lewis) and nothing was too much trouble
On our return from the party again the staff (June and Marc) were there to greet us with a smile and serve drinks till the early hours . For those of us that made breakfast it was what you would excpet for an express vey nice and FREE . We will use again if in Southampton

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trudy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajat V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you very much for providing us your valuable feedback following your stay at the holiday inn Express Southampton west. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We will look forward to welcome you again.

Kind Regards
Rajat Verma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

I booked 3 family rooms for 2nights 1st to 3rd of November. It was our granddaughters birthday and we were going to Peppa Pig Land on the Saturday. We had a terrible journey to the hotel due to many accidents on our route. We were very tired when we arrived. The reception staff were great friendly and proffessional. We decided to eat in the hotel that evening the food was awful and we were refunded and given a complimentary drink. Our complaint was handled well. The rooms were very good spotlessly clean. Breakfast was ok. The hotel was in a good location for Peppa Pig Land. We did not pay that much as we had a 21 day saver deal so we had value for money. Don't eat the food in the evening!!

Room Tip: We had 3rooms on second floor 2rooms on the left one on the right. The left hand ones were better
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrissieEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajat V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you very much for providing us your valuable feedback following your stay at the holiday inn Express Southampton west. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed most part of your stay.

We constantly review our F&B offerings to provide variety and will certainly take on board your comments regarding Meal experience.

We look forward to welcome you once again.

Kind Regards
Rajat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Our second stay at this hotel. Last time was at a weekend and the placed was full of people heading to the Cruise Ships. This time, midweek, it was much quieter. Our room, and the hotel generally, was clean and tidy. The bed was softer than I prefer (but I acknowledge hotels can’t really win on customers preferences for mattress firmness) but at least Holiday Inn Express provide decent pillows. The range offered for breakfast was reasonable and more than met my needs, although anyone looking for a ‘full English’ is going to be disappointed.

The hotel is in a good location, convenient for getting into and out of Southampton quickly, but you are dependent on your car as there are no adjacent shops or restaurants. Plenty of parking space. Efficient staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WestWinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajat V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you very much for providing us your valuable feedback following your stay at the holiday inn Express Southampton west. I was pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of our hotel and we delivered our Promise to be Simple Smart and Spot On.

We will look forward to welcome you again.

Kind Regards
Rajat Verma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights and what an experience. Food awful and limited bar menu. Not very hospitable staff. Location miles from anything. Dining room area dirty. Bar only serves one lager ( Becks) breakfeast fit for a 1 star hotel. Give the place a miss.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajat V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am sorry you found some aspects of our hotel less than satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

We constantly review our F&B offerings to provide variety and will certainly take on board your comments regarding Meal experience.

Regards
Rajat Verma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southampton hotels

Cumbria
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in better Holiday Inns but this one did the job. Decor a little tired in places and the water took an age to go down the plug hole in the shower which meant paddling in about two inches of water. It's more of a business mans hotel and the eating area can resemble more of a canteen. What I will say is the staff were excellent very polite and attentive in all areas. Overall it's ok for somewhere to stay for one night and convenient too. Like I stated at the top there are better hotels in their chain.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank JT162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajat V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am sorry you found some aspects of our hotel less than satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

I am Pleased to inform you, that our hotel is currently undergoing for a refurbishment and all the issues highlighted on your feedback will be taken care off.

Once again thank you for staying with and we would look forward to welcome you once again.

Kind Regards
Rajat Verma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Decided to. Eat in, big mistake food lack lustre and pricey for what it was had run out of the house wine so,had to have the pricey option told the reason was because it was half term!! Told they were expecting more on Tuesday,not much use to us on Saturday, noisy children in the dining area. Not a good experience for us

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pedlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajat V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am sorry you found some aspects of our hotel less than satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas.

We constantly review our F&B offerings to provide variety and will certainly take on board your comments regarding Meal experience.

I am Pleased to inform you that we have converted one of the conference room into a Business Lounge area to provide even better service.

Kind Regards
Rajat Verma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
3.7 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
3.2 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
3.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Southampton West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Southampton West

Property: Holiday Inn Express Southampton West
Address: Adanac Park Redbridge Lane, Southampton SO16 0YP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Southampton West 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West is located off Junction 1 of the M271(off Junction 3 M27). This hotel is an ideal location for visiting Southampton, Paultons Park, Peppa Pig World, Beaulieu, The Isle of Wight, The New Forest, West Quay Shopping Centre and many attractions. The Hotel offers a continental with three hot choices buffet breakfast and free parking. Ideal for both business and leisure travel. Travelling on business the Holiday Inn Express Southampton West is a short distance from Southampton City Centre, and only 7 miles from Southampton Airport. The hotel is ideally located for companies such as Ordnance Survey (next door), Tesco, and IKEA. Southampton General Hospital is a short distance from the hotel also. The hotel is an ideal base for business travel. Looking for time to relax or a short weekend break the hotel is again an ideal choice for individuals and families. If you are taking a Cruise from Southampton stay at the hotel the night before the Cruise with packages and long stay car parking available. All Cruise Terminals are a short distance away. Why not visit the West Quay Shopping Centre, Beaulieu Motor Museum, Paultons Park, Marwell Zoo, The Ageas Bowl, Southampton University and Southamptons Annual International Boat Show. The hotel also offers 2 meeting rooms. All rooms are ensuite and with FREE WIFI. We also have accessible rooms. Why not stay in this excellent southampton hotel and ask about our low rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Southampton West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West Hotel Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
Southampton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing