We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible nights sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“terrible nights sleep”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We stayed in room 202 which is above the dining room and reception area so we got constant noise from the guests,and banging of doors,we also got the smell of cooking,it did not go silent until 12.00pm and started again at 6.30am.but overall the staff where good and the room was clean.

Room Tip: try to get a room on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear alanHorsham_sussex,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. It was unfortunate to see your stay was not as comfortable as it could have been due to the noise challenges you experienced. We hope this will not deter you from staying with us again.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope that we can better serve you next time.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    290
    192
    87
    51
See reviews for
335
218
38
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
STOKE ON TRENT
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

The staff are very good. The rooms are ok but lack a bath. Room doors closing in the night are very noisy. The Wifi also keeps drop off.
The breakfast is very good. Ask the staff who are willing to advise about local eating places, you must try the Sip Inn in Redbrigde.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PHIL-N-D-JIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwell, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Stayed here for one night only really comfy beds I must say...however the hotel was under construction at the time so was a little unsightly to look at the food was medioca and the staff weren't the friendliest people to chat to ..so spent most of the time spent around Southampton doing a bit of retail theropy to cheer ourselves up...other than that a pleasant place to visit

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear Kim B,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note of your valuable comments and these will be taken into consideration in our efforts to continually monitor and improve the quality and services we offer.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, England
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights between Christmas and New Year. We asked for a quiet room on a high floor and that is what we got. In fact I was surprised how quiet it was considering there were some busy roads round about. The motorway access was really good which suited us fine as we were travelling to Gosport each day to visit elderly relatives. It was the cheapest deal we could get in the area and we were extremely pleased with the price, room and location.

Breakfast was typical Holiday Inn Express but service was much worse than we have previously experienced, then again we do not normally travel in school hols. The annoying thing was that the staff were very laid back and inefficient and on one day the crockery and cutlery were all very badly smeared and even sticky, as they had not been washed properly. Tables were not cleared, so on one occasion I asked for a cloth to clean a table.

We ate in the hotel one night as we did not want a full meal, but wanted something before retiring. We shared a burger and chips meal which was fine and the staff were quite happy for us to do that. We were surprised that we could get juice and hot drinks free from the machine that is used for breakfast, so that was a good plus, but I do not know if that should have happened.

One thing that was annoying was that the sheets did not fit the bed so they tended to wrinkle up during the night. Stripping and remaking the beds to make the best of the sheets did help.

Overall the base was fine for our purposes.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TringWirral_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I stayed here for 8 nights just after Christmas. My twin room was very well appointed and well maintained. The bed was extremely comfortable, the heating effective, the en-suite facility spotlessly clean. Staff at reception were friendly and helpful. Free Wi-fi was also excellent.
The Free Continental Breakfast was adequate if unspectacular - no ham or cheese alas.
Unfortunately, things got hectic at peak times and the queues for Fruit Juice and Coffee/Tea
dispensers were irritating.
The provision of Evening Meals was disappointing with a New Menu consisting largely of Pie & Chips. I made a special point of finding a different nearby pub most evenings.
Overall, a good hotel at reasonable price and in a very good location, just off the M27 & M271.

Room Tip: I was allocated Room 238 (first floor) and it was really quiet, though quite a trek from reception!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Stayed here as an overnight stop for a wedding. The service was good, the rooms were clean and functional. And you can't complain at a free breakfast. I was just disappointed by the view, opened our curtains and the window just hand another roof in front of it and that is all we could see. Was a shame.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fridayxcore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajat V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am sorry you found some aspects of our hotel less than satisfactory.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

We will look forward to welcome you once again.

Kind Regards
Rajat Verma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here when we visited peppa pig world, it was 5miles down the road and very close to docks/centre. We we're pleased with the hotel when we arrived looks quite plain from the outside but the inside is modern like a normal hotel, the staff we're very friendly in reception. Rooms we're decent, beds could have been a little bigger! I could moan about one thing... The FOOD! It was awful, we spent £30 on three meals 2 adults and a kids. The rolls we're dry, the burgers we're hard as we're the chips! Well worth taking a trip down the road and finding a proper restraunt. The breakfast is ok not much to choose from but enough to get you going for the day. Overall a good stay, just wouldn't eat again if we returned.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Whiteworxracing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajat V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you very much for taking time to post your comments following your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Southampton.

We constantly review our F&B offerings to provide variety and will certainly take on board your comments regarding Meal experience.

I am Pleased to inform you that we have now reviewed our Menu and changed it completely to launch a Brand New Menu.

we will look forward to welcome you once again and hope that your meal experience is better this time.

Kind Regards

Rajat Verma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#14 of 24 in Southampton
1,166 reviews
3.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#5 of 24 in Southampton
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
1,711 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#3 of 24 in Southampton
1,096 reviews
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Southampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Southampton West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Southampton West

Property: Holiday Inn Express Southampton West
Address: Adanac Park Redbridge Lane, Southampton SO16 0YP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Southampton West 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West is located off Junction 1 of the M271(off Junction 3 M27). This hotel is an ideal location for visiting Southampton, Paultons Park, Peppa Pig World, Beaulieu, The Isle of Wight, The New Forest, West Quay Shopping Centre and many attractions. The Hotel offers a continental with three hot choices buffet breakfast and free parking. Ideal for both business and leisure travel. Travelling on business the Holiday Inn Express Southampton West is a short distance from Southampton City Centre, and only 7 miles from Southampton Airport. The hotel is ideally located for companies such as Ordnance Survey (next door), Tesco, and IKEA. Southampton General Hospital is a short distance from the hotel also. The hotel is an ideal base for business travel. Looking for time to relax or a short weekend break the hotel is again an ideal choice for individuals and families. If you are taking a Cruise from Southampton stay at the hotel the night before the Cruise with packages and long stay car parking available. All Cruise Terminals are a short distance away. Why not visit the West Quay Shopping Centre, Beaulieu Motor Museum, Paultons Park, Marwell Zoo, The Ageas Bowl, Southampton University and Southamptons Annual International Boat Show. The hotel also offers 2 meeting rooms. All rooms are ensuite and with FREE WIFI. We also have accessible rooms. Why not stay in this excellent southampton hotel and ask about our low rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Southampton West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West Hotel Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
Southampton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing