We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for Peppa Pig World”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Worthing
Level Contributor
87 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good for Peppa Pig World”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Like other reviewers we chose this hotel based on its proximity to Paultons Park. We travelled as a family with 2 young grandchildren, booking 2 rooms. It was only a few minutes from the park.
Rooms were good sized, accommodating 2 beds and a cot in 1. There seemed to be a policy of putting families on the ground floor corridor - good idea as no lifts etc. Despite the number of children we had a very quiet night - better than a load of stags and hens anytime!
We ate dinner in the hotel, and it was OK - nothing exotic but simply cooked. I also feel it is missing a trick not offering children's portions. Our solution was to ask for an extra plate and share ours with our 2 year old grandchild. Suited us, but would have bought a child's meal if available.
Breakfast was the usual HI Express selection. There were numerous children in the restaurant - nearly all clutching Peppa Pigs. It was far from manic and very relaxed. Only comment we made was the high chairs were dirty - keeping them clean must be a challenge.
My one criticism of the hotel concerns a problem we had with lost property. We arrived back home without our camera charger and e-mailed the hotel to check whether it was in our room. We had no response after 2 e-mails, and had to phone - a simple e-mail would have been welcomed.
That apart would recommend for Peppa Pig World.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worthingwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajat V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you very much for providing us your valuable feedback following your stay at the holiday inn Express Southampton west. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

I hope you have received your charger by now as I am unsure which email address you’ve used to correspond.We will look forward to welcome you again.

Kind Regards
Rajat Verma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    278
    185
    86
    49
See reviews for
318
211
37
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
jhayward10
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We decided on the Holiday Inn Express for our trip to Peppa Pig World over the Easter Holidays because it was one of the cheapest (£65 per night: Hotels.com), close to the Park, offered complimentary breakfast and we knew what to expect from the brand.

Many have mentioned how child friendly the hotel is and I would replicate this and although it was very busy at breakfast it was a nice friendly vibe with lots of excited children but not out of control. The hotel obviously appeals to families but I think it's excellent that they offer a separate dining area for adults only for those that may want a quieter start to the day. Breakfast itself had lots of options and was tasty, however how can you do a cooked option without bacon?

We shared our room with our 2 year old son and the room was more than big enough for a double bed and a sofa bed. The room was very clean and cleaned on a daily basis. The free wifi was very useful, however a little temperamental in the room. However this was not a major issue as we were only using it for our phones and on holiday. I am quite easily pleased, as long as I have a comfy bed, warm shower and clean room, I am happy. I am pleased to say all were met!!!

We never tend to eat at our hotel as we like to check out the surrounding area, and when asking reception they were very helpful in recommending family friendly restaurants (Beefeater is within a mile).

We are expecting another child in August, so will no doubt go again go to Peppa Pig World/Paulton's Park again in a few years. We won't bother searching for other hotels as this covers all of our needs and for a bargain price.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhayward10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajat V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you very much for providing us your valuable feedback following your stay at the holiday inn Express Southampton west. I was pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of our hotel and we delivered our Promise to be Simple Smart and Spot On.

In addition to this it was great to hear feedback on our newly refurbished Adults only dining area. We will look forward to welcome you again.

Kind Regards.
Rajat Verma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flint, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Only hotel we could get into in Southampton for this particular weekend so ended up with a twin bedded room. We arrived early but there was no problem with us checking in, dumping our cases & getting changed. It was very clean and perfectly comfortable and the check in staff very friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast was appreciated even if it was very busy and chaotic. No complaints and won't hesitate in returning if we need to.

Room Tip: Room away from the reception/restaurant will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajat V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you very much for providing us your valuable feedback following your stay at the holiday inn Express Southampton west. I was pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of our hotel and we delivered our Promise to be Simple Smart and Spot On.

Kind Regards
Rajat Verma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Our stay at the Holiday Inn Express was part Business part pleasure as my Partner had to travel to Poole for Business and myself and 2 Children (1 and 5) tagged along for the ride via Peppa Pig World as it was half term!

The Hotel was VERY child friendly, we had forgot to pack the travel cot and on the off chance we could hire one I asked at reception when checking in, one was bought to our room at no extra cost which is great service. All of the staff were really friendly and spoke not only to the adults but also to the children.

We decided to eat at the hotel as it was nearing bedtime when we arrived. Whilst there wasn't a child menu (maybe a good addition?) both children were happy to munch on a pizza and I had a very tasty curry, prices were quite reasonable to be honest considering it was onsite. Breakfast was included in the price and was great, lots of choice and easily accessible in a large dining area with plenty of tables.

As my partner was working he found the Free WlFI to be reliable and the desk in the room was useful to work on. Room was clean and well equipped with tea/coffee making facilities and also toiletries. Beds very comfy with a choice of pillows (soft/firm) which was a nice touch.

Very pleasant stay, location perfect for Peppa Pig World, and would definitely recommend and hopefully visit again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkfairygirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajat V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you very much for providing us your valuable feedback following your stay at the holiday inn Express Southampton west. I was pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of our hotel and we delivered our Promise to be Simple Smart and Spot On.

Kind Regards
Rajat Verma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceburg, TN
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Great location to see all things in and around Southampton. The Staff at the Front Desk was very friendly and helpful with directions and suggestions.

Breakfast was good, not great, and we especially appreciated the "Adult only" dining room. The main dining room was very crowded with families and kids, so the peace and quiet this room afforded was much appreciated. Bravo for this.

The Hotel offers FREE WiFi, and we were very thankful for that. Premier Inn could learn a lesson here.

As for the room, it was clean and adequate, but not luxurious. After all this is a Budget Hotel. The walls were a bit thin, so noises from adjacent rooms and the hallway could be heard. The hotel was near a Motorway, but noise from that did not bother us.

Overall I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajat V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you very much for providing us your valuable feedback following your stay at the holiday inn Express Southampton west. I was pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of our hotel and we delivered our Promise to be Simple Smart and Spot On.

In addition to this it was great to hear feedback on our newly refurbished Adults only dining area. We will look forward to welcome you again.

Kind Regards.
Rajat Verma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Perfect hotel and location for the local theme park. Room clean and spacious. Stayed for just the night and we all enjoyed a good nights sleep. Staff friendly. Breakfast could do with more items on offer eg. Bacon. Good choice of yoghurts though. Close to Paultons Park and Peppa Pig world and 10/15mins from the waterfront in Southampton. Didn't try the evening meal out, opted to go into Southampton. Would stay again if ever down that way.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank chaddy0312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajat V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you very much for providing us your valuable feedback following your stay at the holiday inn Express Southampton west. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

The complementary breakfast with selected hot items in our hotel has been mentioned with much positive feedback from the guests with whom we have spoken on check out.

We strive to deliver our brand promise being simple smart and spot on unlike the other hotels where you will have to pay for your breakfast normally over £9.

Kind Regards

Rajat Verma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is fairly basic, bed is small but comfortable and fairly clean. It only has a shower, and despite the fact it has a curtain, the shower was fine.

It got noisy quite early in the morning and I have never seen a hotel with so many families with small children.

The breakfast is terrible but is included in the price of the room.

There is no air conditioning; there is a radiator you can switch on and a fan is also provided.
The hotel is fine but is nothing special.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Adele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajat V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you very much for providing us your valuable feedback following your stay at the holiday inn Express Southampton west.

Being close to Paultons park/Peppa pig land, we get plenty of families staying with us along with younger children hence why it gets busier during peak times.

We have introduced a separate dining area for adults to ensure all guest have a happier stay with us.

Kind Regards
Rajat Verma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
3.2 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,637 reviews
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
3.7 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Southampton West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Southampton West

Property: Holiday Inn Express Southampton West
Address: Adanac Park Redbridge Lane, Southampton SO16 0YP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Southampton West 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West is located off Junction 1 of the M271(off Junction 3 M27). This hotel is an ideal location for visiting Southampton, Paultons Park, Peppa Pig World, Beaulieu, The Isle of Wight, The New Forest, West Quay Shopping Centre and many attractions. The Hotel offers a continental with three hot choices buffet breakfast and free parking. Ideal for both business and leisure travel. Travelling on business the Holiday Inn Express Southampton West is a short distance from Southampton City Centre, and only 7 miles from Southampton Airport. The hotel is ideally located for companies such as Ordnance Survey (next door), Tesco, and IKEA. Southampton General Hospital is a short distance from the hotel also. The hotel is an ideal base for business travel. Looking for time to relax or a short weekend break the hotel is again an ideal choice for individuals and families. If you are taking a Cruise from Southampton stay at the hotel the night before the Cruise with packages and long stay car parking available. All Cruise Terminals are a short distance away. Why not visit the West Quay Shopping Centre, Beaulieu Motor Museum, Paultons Park, Marwell Zoo, The Ageas Bowl, Southampton University and Southamptons Annual International Boat Show. The hotel also offers 2 meeting rooms. All rooms are ensuite and with FREE WIFI. We also have accessible rooms. Why not stay in this excellent southampton hotel and ask about our low rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Southampton West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West Hotel Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
Southampton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing