We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not family friendly!!!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Southampton West

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not family friendly!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed here back in June for 2 nights, as part of our Peppa Pig World break. Was thoroughly disappointed, and it really spoilt are break away to be honest. I should've researched the hotel more thoroughly prior to booking, but it was cheap, so we went with it :( As others have said, no AC on any of the floors other than ground. It was absolutely stifling upstairs. We couldn't even open our window to wide, because we were right by a noisy generator.

We had booked a family room for 2 adults and 2 small children, yet were given a double bed and a double sofa bed. This meant that either my 2 children, aged 2 and 5, had to share a bed, or 1 of them slept with Mum and 1 slept with Dad, which is what we did. The sofa bed was horrendous. It was literally just a load of metal springs with a very thin mattress (you could barely call it that!), on top. We stayed in a Holiday Inn Express last year, and our family room there had 1 double and 2 single beds, which is what I would expect!!

The set-up for breakfast was a complete shambles, and the restaurant area is just too small for the number of people that were staying. It's not even really a restaurant, it's just a room with chairs and tables in. I suppose more like a canteen? Not pleasant for a nice evening meal. Food was poor, not a patch on a Premier Inn breakfast. Very limited food for an evening meal, and despite many families using this hotel for their Peppa Pig breaks, there was no children's menu! There is also no garden area, so all in all this is NOT the place to go with small children.

This is a 100% honest account of our stay at this hotel. I rarely leave reviews, but was so disappointed and let down by the facilities here that I felt I needed to review it. Will not be staying again, with or without children!!!!

Room Tip: Just do not stay, simples!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happyvikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daiva B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear happyvicky

Thank you for staying with us and taking your time to post this review. We genuinely appreciate the feedback from our guests and I'm disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. All our family rooms come with double bed and sofa bed this is a standard in all Holiday Inn Express Hotels. I appreciate your comments regarding breakfast experience - we do our best to serve a lot of guests during breakfast and are in process of reviewing breakfast room set up as well as quality and choice of offering.

I really hope you will give us another chance to serve you in the future so you could see the improvement and have a better experience with us .

Thank you once again.

Kind regards

Daiva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    274
    183
    84
    49
See reviews for
308
207
37
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shannon, Ireland
Level Contributor
136 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed one night as part of a Paulton's package to see Peppa Pig World. The hotel was only a few miles from the park so it was a good location. The staff were very friendly. Room was just ok. The downsides of the hotel was the lack of air conditioning in the bedrooms and the food. There is AC in the lobby & restaurant which was great, but when the elevator opened to the first floor it felt like the heat was on and that feeling continued for our bedroom. There was a desk top fan provided in the room but it didn't cool us down. And, the window had restricted opening so we couldn't get a a natural breeze. There was duvets on the bed with no separate sheet so we had to sleep without anything over us. The kids were particularly overheated and it was a bad nights sleep for us all as a result. The dinner was frozen food that they heat up. The pizza they serve is the frozen Chicago Town. Strangely, there is no kids menu - despite the fact that they have a package deal with Peppa Pig World and had lots of kids staying at the hotel. Breakfast was your average self serve continental breakfast. If we go back to see Peppa Pig again, we will try a different hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tRvlChic7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daiva B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for taking your time to share your experience with us. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed exploring local area and found Hotel to be in a good location. I am also grateful for your comment regarding our friendly Team - thank you! We have taken your comments on board for further improvement I really hope you will give us another chance to serve you again in the future should your plans bring you back to Southampton.
Kind regards
Daiva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southampton hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

It was very hot when we stayed here. The room was on the first floor but we were still unable to open the windows wide as they had restricted access. There was a fan in the room but air conditioning would have been very welcome. There was only one chair in the room - considering this is a double room perhaps another one could have been available. The breakfast buffet was OK. Perhaps Medium sliced bread would be more suitable to toast and perhaps the food cold have been replenished more quickly. Staff were very helpful and pleasant.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front are away from the motorway running at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonsey46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daiva B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Jonsey46

Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Express Southampton West and taking your time to share your experience. Your feedback is really important to us and we have taken your comments and suggestions on board for further improvement.
I am delighted to hear that you found our team to be helpful and pleasant - this is very encouraging and truly appreciated!

Thank you once again

Kind regards
Daiva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Revisited this place after management assured me the cleanliness problems I had previously experienced had been rectified.

However, this hotel is still a dire pit. It's decoration reminds me of a former communist bloc hotel. Furthermore, the major problem with this place is the lack of air conditioning in any of the rooms. The tiny plug in fan was not only like sleeping in a motorbike shop, it only circulated hot air around its metre square reach. The room was like sleeping in a sauna. We both ended up with our worst night sleep in years.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 1909mw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daiva B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear 1909mv

Thank you for coming back to stay with us again and taking your time to post this review. I am glad to hear that the cleaning issues you have experienced previously have been rectified. Your comments regarding Hotel decor are appreciated and I am sorry if this is not to your taste. In regards to an air conditioning - we do our best to cope with this unusual hot weather by providing extra fans or offering sheets instead of duvets.
I am sorry to hear that you did not have a good night's sleep if there is anything else we can do for you please contact me direct gm@expresssouthampton.co.uk

I really hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you again in the future should your travel plans bring you to Southampton West.

Yours sincerely
Daiva
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We booked some weeks in advance so had a good deal. Phoned up a couple of days before arriving and asked to be allocated room that met our needs. The male receptionist dealt with us professionally as did the female receptionist upon our arrival. We arrived early and our room was not ready, but we were given a free drink each while we waited. The room was as we had requested and was clean and equipped to a level expected of this type of hotel. We stayed for three nights using the hotel as a base for visits to Poole, the New Forest, Isle of White, and Southampton. We found the quality of the breakfast food good, if a little restricted in choice, but then the hotel is in the 'budget range'. I would agree that the rooms could do with air conditioning, something few complaining guests will have in their homes, although the fan provided in our room served its purpose. However there is one thing I do not understand, and this hotel chain is not alone, why in the era of Freeview there are only a choice of a dozen channels.

Room Tip: We asked for a first floor room overlooking the car park and had a good nights sleep even with the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lewis j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daiva B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear lewis j

We sincerely appreciate all our guests taking the time to give us feedback after they have stayed with us.

It’s brilliant to read that you enjoyed exploring local areas and that you found our rooms to be clean, professional staff and overall experience was pleasant.

Your feedback is very important to us so we can continue to improve further.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again should your travels bring you to Southampton again.

Yours sincerely
Daiva
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

From start to finish this hotel was a disaster! There were 5 of us - 2 adults, 2 kids and a baby - and we travelled down from staying in another Holiday Inn Express. The heat was absolutely atrocious, we had 1 fan and a window that barely jarred open. The room was dirty on arrival and when we turned the fan it blew dust everywhere! My husband actually left a note on it saying 'clean me'! They knocked on the door at 8am asking to clean our room after an atrocious nights stay so we asked them to come back after 11am. When we got back that night they had removed the fan so my husband asked reception for it back. He came back absolutely fuming that she had ended up arguing with him about it and complained to him that it was hot for her as well! The breakfast area was nothing short of disgusting - nothing was cleaned, every high chair was dirty, for fruit the choice was apple or orange, there were toast crumbs absolutely everywhere. I asked for bottles of water in the morning and was told they had none! 2 mornings in a row!
I would never stay here again - when we mentioned the heat we were told 'we are upgrading next year' - doesn't help us now I'm afraid! Too little too late.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrsWebley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daiva B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear MrsWebley

Thank you for taking your time to post this review. I have sent you a private message and look forward to discuss your experience with us further.

Yours sincerely
Daiva
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

If you are in need of a hotel when it's a heat wave outside do not book here. There isn't any air con in the bedrooms and the heat is unbearable, cup we couldn't sleep because of it. We had the fan on and the window open but the room just held the heat.

However, if you are staying at any other time, in the main this a great hotel. Quiet despite being next to the motorway, comfy beds, decent enough breakfast. Excellent location for Peppa Pig World and the Docks. Sainsburys is five minutes away in a car.

I understand that this is a budget type hotel, so would normally think "you get what you pay for" before complaining about the lack of air con but I've strayed in HI Expresses up and down the country and had air con before, so it can't be a brand thing.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daiva B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Lucy B

Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Express Southampton West and taking your time to post this review. I was delighted to read that apart from this unusual but lovely hot weather you had a good experience with us, enjoyed comfy beds and all included breakfast. We do our best to ensure that all our guests have an enjoyable and relaxing stay and really appreciate your feedback. We are happy to provide extra fans or a sheet instead of duvet should you prefer one.

Thank you once again and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely
Daiva
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
3.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
3.2 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Southampton West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Southampton West

Property: Holiday Inn Express Southampton West
Address: Adanac Park Redbridge Lane, Southampton SO16 0YP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Southampton West 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West is located off Junction 1 of the M271(off Junction 3 M27). This hotel is an ideal location for visiting Southampton, Paultons Park, Peppa Pig World, Beaulieu, The Isle of Wight, The New Forest, West Quay Shopping Centre and many attractions. The Hotel offers a continental with three hot choices buffet breakfast and free parking. Ideal for both business and leisure travel. Travelling on business the Holiday Inn Express Southampton West is a short distance from Southampton City Centre, and only 7 miles from Southampton Airport. The hotel is ideally located for companies such as Ordnance Survey (next door), Tesco, and IKEA. Southampton General Hospital is a short distance from the hotel also. The hotel is an ideal base for business travel. Looking for time to relax or a short weekend break the hotel is again an ideal choice for individuals and families. If you are taking a Cruise from Southampton stay at the hotel the night before the Cruise with packages and long stay car parking available. All Cruise Terminals are a short distance away. Why not visit the West Quay Shopping Centre, Beaulieu Motor Museum, Paultons Park, Marwell Zoo, The Ageas Bowl, Southampton University and Southamptons Annual International Boat Show. The hotel also offers 2 meeting rooms. All rooms are ensuite and with FREE WIFI. We also have accessible rooms. Why not stay in this excellent southampton hotel and ask about our low rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Southampton West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West Hotel Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
Southampton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing