We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“typical brand hotel, but no air conditioning”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
England
Level Contributor
84 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“typical brand hotel, but no air conditioning”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2009

It wasnt summer or a hot night, but it was really hot within in the room, which is disappointing, i would hate to stay here if it were summer, and i certainly wont stay here in the future, the staff were friendly, but were not really bothered with my thoughts!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenzo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    278
    185
    86
    49
See reviews for
316
208
37
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2009

Typical of a motorway side hotel, the rooms are up to the usual holiday inn standard but this place is let down by its lack of facilities in particular the car park which although free is far too small. The lack of eating arrangements is also poor, that said if you are willing to drive out for a meal there is a great pub I found called the Pilgrim Inn, no more than 5 mins drive from the hotel in a village called Marchwood. Everything else was no greater than average.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richbug1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2009

We are a family with two small children. We stayed one night in a room with a double bed and a sofabed for the kids. It was clean, simple and just what we were after. Breakfast was fine as well. We got all this for 44 pounds, which is a very good deal.
The only problem with it was that we thought we had booked a room in the other Holiday Inn Express Southampton (which is very nice and a tick higher standard), and only found this out when we arrived at the wrong hotel with two sleeping children...
Make sure you go to the right hotel!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knergaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2009

stayed here for 2 nights no complaints,is 5 mins from southampton,five mins from the new forest,lydhurst 10 mins bournemouth 50 mins,roons are good and very clean,staff are helpfull and quick,breackfast is continental,but very good ,toast tea coffee ,cheese yogurts butters jams fruit,cereal cornflakes co co pops that sort of thing....but really very good,booked off there own site would recomend ,could not find cheaper on other sites,l thought very good for price ,paid 44 pounds per roon per nigh inc breackfast,bed was good,flat screen tv,not many channels think 8 or nine,but not complaints,shower was hot and good,room was reallyyyyyyy clean,and quiet,not to easy to find,but sat nav will take you right to it,,,,,,l would use again ,would recomend

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petesman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2009

Getting to the hotel was direct and easy. Situated just off the M271 with easy access to the airport, station and docks this hotel is probably one of the best placed hotels for travellers looking for an overnight stay before travelling on the next day.

Plenty of on site parking space.

Although the hotel was close to the motorway noise was not a problem.

The rooms where very clean and comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful.

Would definately stay again.

  • Liked — Position
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank k9drivingschool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wisbech
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2009

We recently attended a family event which was held in Southampton . My family and I stayed at the Express by Holiday inn Southampton West, and had the most pleasant stay, the staff on duty were very kind and informative, the hotel was very clean and the bedrooms comfortable, could not believe that 2 adults and 2 children could stay in one room and all have breakfast, I would definately recommend this Hotel, And I will certainly stay at this Hotel again.

  • Liked — very clean comfortable rooms
  • Disliked — would have liked taxi fare included in price of accomodation
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sunshinewisbech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2009

As a disabled traveller I need special requirements and I was looked after in excellent accommodation with no patronisation.

  • Liked — friendly staff and cleanliness
  • Disliked — no comments
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ridgeflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
3.2 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#5 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
3.7 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Southampton West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Southampton West

Property: Holiday Inn Express Southampton West
Address: Adanac Park Redbridge Lane, Southampton SO16 0YP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Southampton West 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West is located off Junction 1 of the M271(off Junction 3 M27). This hotel is an ideal location for visiting Southampton, Paultons Park, Peppa Pig World, Beaulieu, The Isle of Wight, The New Forest, West Quay Shopping Centre and many attractions. The Hotel offers a continental with three hot choices buffet breakfast and free parking. Ideal for both business and leisure travel. Travelling on business the Holiday Inn Express Southampton West is a short distance from Southampton City Centre, and only 7 miles from Southampton Airport. The hotel is ideally located for companies such as Ordnance Survey (next door), Tesco, and IKEA. Southampton General Hospital is a short distance from the hotel also. The hotel is an ideal base for business travel. Looking for time to relax or a short weekend break the hotel is again an ideal choice for individuals and families. If you are taking a Cruise from Southampton stay at the hotel the night before the Cruise with packages and long stay car parking available. All Cruise Terminals are a short distance away. Why not visit the West Quay Shopping Centre, Beaulieu Motor Museum, Paultons Park, Marwell Zoo, The Ageas Bowl, Southampton University and Southamptons Annual International Boat Show. The hotel also offers 2 meeting rooms. All rooms are ensuite and with FREE WIFI. We also have accessible rooms. Why not stay in this excellent southampton hotel and ask about our low rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Southampton West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West Hotel Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
Southampton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing