We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly busy but very helpful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Southampton West

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Bath
1 review
“Friendly busy but very helpful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2010

Hotel was in an odd location, but actually worked out really well. Staff were very friendly and helpful with places to go and see localy. Bedroom was fab value was we were all in the room for one set price which also included a breakfast. the breakfast wasnt really one or the other as its abit of mixure but it suited us fine. Overall good value for the 4 of us. Oh and the hotel is quite noisy but then it is by a motorway!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LEC1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    274
    183
    84
    49
See reviews for
308
207
37
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2010

Stayed at this hotel (booked via laterooms.com) whilst visiting friends and family in the area. Check-in was quick and polite but strangely said 'you can take breakfast up to your room' which we didn't think anything more of at that time.
The room itself was not flush but served it's purpose well and was clean. Only gripe is that the TV didn't enable you to see the 'Guide' function so you had no way of finding out what was on tv.
As the hotel is not near the centre of Southampton, I don't think it appeals to the stag/hen party market so there were no disturbances during the night.

In the morning, we went down to breakfast at approx 10am (breakfast served until 11am on a weekend) and couldn't believe how disorganised it was.
The serving area has not been well designed because the people getting their cereals, milk and toast were banging into people who were getting the very basic cooked breakfast (sausage & scrambled egg), hot drinks, fruit juices or the very dull (& cold) pastries selection.
The dining area has only 10 tables at the most therefore people wanting breakfast who couldn't find a table (either because the tables were occupied or guests' trays had not been cleared) were eating at the lower level tables which were part of the bar area.
As there were no empty trolleys to place your trays in once you had finished - the only visible one was full - the people who couldn't get a table in the dining area, left their own trays in the bar area.
The result of all of this was an obvious mess with no one attempting to clear it up because the three visible staff were busily trying to keep the serving areas tidy and stocked up - to the detriment of everywhere else. Even when we left the hotel an hour later, there were still breakfast trays left out in the bar area.
The following day, after receiving advice from reception the night before, we came down just after 8am to see the same situation unfolding again so we packed up, checked out and had a nice relaxing, full cooked breakfast at the service station just up the M27 towards the airport !!
This situation might be because it was a weekend but if a hotel chooses to have approx 150+ rooms, it needs to have the facilities to be able to cope if all the guests wanted breakfast !!
2 tips -
1) a much better breakfast is available at Rownhams service station just on the M27 after junction 3 (take the M271 from behind the hotel heading towards the M27, take the 3rd exit on the roundabout (eastbound) onto the M27 and the services will be the next sign you see)
2) for very tasty evening meals for under £10, go to the White Swan on Mansbridge Road (A27)

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itinerantnortherner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXManagement, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this review, 13 April 2010
Thank you for your comments on your recent breakfast experience at the hotel.

The hot item offering has only been in operation for one week and we are still experimenting will the location of new equipment and ordering with the suppliers.

Thank you for your valuable feedback and we appreciate your patience in this time of transition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
60 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2010

We spent a night here at the beginning of January to break up a journey to Brighton due to the bad weather.

Car parking is ample. We didn't arrive till early evening and had no problems finding a space. The hotel is close to the motorway and situated in what looks like a business park but it is only a short drive into Southampton.

The staff at check in were very friendly and our room was basic but spotlessly clean.

The hotel does not serve food at weekends but there is a pub nearby. The hotel also has menus from various take aways and they deliver directly to the hotel. We had a curry in the bar and the hotel were more than happy to supply cutlery and crockery.

Breakfast was simple and adequate.

I would use it again.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Devonbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2009

I stayed here for two nights in the same week - one night during the week and one Saturday. Reception was fast, efficient and friendly on both occasions.

The hotel offers evening meals on weekdays only - something I hadn't noticed until I asked about it on the Saturday night. On the weekday I had food - a very expensive microwaved curry that took 30 minutes to arrive after I placed the order - not worth the wait or the money.

The location is pretty vile - right next to a motorway, so no chance to wander out for anything like a pleasant walk or to pick up some food. The reception on my phone was terrible (not the fault of the hotel but indicative of the poor location).

The rooms are clean but fairly ugly. There's something slightly claustrophobic about this hotel, in my opinion.

The reception/TV lounge/bar/breakfast area is dominated by a huge and loud flatscreen TV. Everything seems to revolve around it. There were groups of people tucking into indian takeaways both evenings.

I recently stayed at the other Express by Holiday Inn - the one close to the airport (M27/J7) and found it to be a far more pleasant experience.

I don't plan to return to this particular hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flyingscotsman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2009

Stayed for the one night with 15 nights parking on site whilst going on a cruise from Southampton. Everything was first class and lived up to what we expected for the price paid. No complaints.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clive S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2009

I would like to draw attention to their pet policy. I have been a frequent visitor over 5 years , staying with our small dog at no extra charge. On our latest visit we were charged £30 per night for our dog. I have complained to Holiday Inn head office , requesting a copy of the £30 cleaning bill as they claim to use an external cleaning company. They have been unalbe to provide this despite several requests I only received frosty and arrogant responses .

Beware ; staying at a Hotel claiming to be 'Pet Friendly' is not what it used to be. The staff at the hotel are ashamed of the policy and do not support it.

Do not stay there with pets as they are now very ' Pet Unfriendly'

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whizooooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southampton hotels

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2009

lovely clean hotel, recently refurbished, breakfast fine, one word of warning - we ordered a cot but they don't provide linen for it! you are supposed to take your own, even though we were never informed of this at the time of booking.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank honeyEastbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
3.7 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
3.2 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
3.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Southampton West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Southampton West

Property: Holiday Inn Express Southampton West
Address: Adanac Park Redbridge Lane, Southampton SO16 0YP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Southampton West 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West is located off Junction 1 of the M271(off Junction 3 M27). This hotel is an ideal location for visiting Southampton, Paultons Park, Peppa Pig World, Beaulieu, The Isle of Wight, The New Forest, West Quay Shopping Centre and many attractions. The Hotel offers a continental with three hot choices buffet breakfast and free parking. Ideal for both business and leisure travel. Travelling on business the Holiday Inn Express Southampton West is a short distance from Southampton City Centre, and only 7 miles from Southampton Airport. The hotel is ideally located for companies such as Ordnance Survey (next door), Tesco, and IKEA. Southampton General Hospital is a short distance from the hotel also. The hotel is an ideal base for business travel. Looking for time to relax or a short weekend break the hotel is again an ideal choice for individuals and families. If you are taking a Cruise from Southampton stay at the hotel the night before the Cruise with packages and long stay car parking available. All Cruise Terminals are a short distance away. Why not visit the West Quay Shopping Centre, Beaulieu Motor Museum, Paultons Park, Marwell Zoo, The Ageas Bowl, Southampton University and Southamptons Annual International Boat Show. The hotel also offers 2 meeting rooms. All rooms are ensuite and with FREE WIFI. We also have accessible rooms. Why not stay in this excellent southampton hotel and ask about our low rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Southampton West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West Hotel Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
Southampton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing