We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Reviewed 18 July 2010

Back to this hotel once more before departing on a cruise the following day.

Finding it was even easier than my previous stay here 2 years ago - there's a new roundabout with appropriate signs.

The whole site is very secure with cctv throughout the car park.

Check-in was smooth and friendly and the ground floor room was typical standard HIE, so it was adequate for one night, and we slept well. Took a look at the cooked breakfast and decided to stick to continental - it appears that from my review of Edinburgh HIE and this one that the hot breakfeast will continue to be the 'Achilles Heel' of Holiday Inn Express and either needs improving or withdrawal at corporate level.

Check-out was high-speed - the only word I can describe it!!

£69 for one night in a hotel in the middle of a field does seem a bit pricey, especially as this hotel is mainly used by business users and those going to or from cruise ships, but it suited us well.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaveJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXManagement, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2010

Thank you fortaking the time to add feedback on Tripadvisor.
Your feedback is invaluable to us, and we take on board the comments on the new style hot breakfast.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (831)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Southampton West
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

771 - 777 of 831 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2010

This hotel is very convenient for Southampton, being just eight to ten minutes drive (depending on traffic) from the city centre and the docks.

The hotel is clean, the staff pleasant and helpful, and an adequate continental breakfast is included in the price.

The only downside is that this hotel does not have air-conditioning and the bedrooms can become quite hot in the summer. The bedroom window opening is very limited, so does not let in much air.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eurotraveller53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXManagement, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2010

Many thanks for your feedback on Tripadvisor.
We take on board your comments regarding the warmth in the rooms during the summer and we are investigating alternatives in solving this matter.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2010

We stayed at this hotel en route to a wedding. The room was very comfortable, had a great night's sleep and good breakfast before our journey. The Manager, Natalie, was particularly helpful in getting a fan and extra pillows for us. Will definitely use again.
Mrs E Tanner

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonGoneroamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXManagement, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2010

Thank you taking the time to give us your feedback on Tripadvisor, and we are delighted you had an enjoyable stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2010

The rooms were comfortable and i did enjoy this motel. the breakfast came with the room and the food and selection was OK. My only complaint is how the hotel is isolated if you don't have a car. We came by taxi and spent 3 nights there . TAxis are cheap so we walked about a mile to catch a bus to go to Shirley (a great little town) and downtown Southampton (a nice place to see).

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ctjbush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXManagement, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2010

Many thanks for your feedback on Tripadvisor.
Whilst we are located on the outskirts of the city (approx 3 miles from the city centre), this does mean we are easy reach to many areas such as the New Forest, Southampton and Portsmouth.
Having a car is advantagious, however there are local bus services as you mentioned as an alternative to local taxi's.
We certianly look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

breakfast scrambled egg dont think ever saw a real egg, black pudding and beans all dried up and black pudding burnt. we paid for 2 nights dinner bed and breakfast but on 2nd evening we were 3mins late for dinner and we were refused service was toldd to go to bar where we had to pay 27.30 extra for a meal wed already paid for in with the price.. Air con kept turning itself off and we had yto have 2 fans and this was on the hottest days of the year. I have written 3 emails to the hotel since returning and not once have i had acknowledgement let a lone a reply.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsblackhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXManagement, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2010

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor.
Your feedback however is not for our hotel as we do not offer the facilities you mention - black pudding at breakfast, air conditioned rooms and dinner bed and breakfast packages.
Please may I request that you re check the hotel details and re submit your feedback to them as I am sure they need to hear your comments.
If you are returning to Southampton, we would be pleased to accommodate at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2010

Stayed here with my Financé and her son last weekend and found this on hotels.com which for under £60 I thought was a right touch. The reviews on here were mixed to say the least but I have no trouble at all. The hotel was easy to find, ample car parking, staff were helpful and had already made up the sofa bed. The room was a good size but basic. But what do you expect from a cheap hotel chain! We had some food in the hotel as the England v USA game was on which was expensive and took a while to arrive. In the morning the breakfast was basic but complimentary so again no complaints.

Overall it was a no thrill no complaints hotel which is ideal if you need to get your head down for the night.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suffolk_Mez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXManagement, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2010

Thank you for giving us your feedback, and Im delighted you gave us a 'value for money' score.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2010

Hotel was in an odd location, but actually worked out really well. Staff were very friendly and helpful with places to go and see localy. Bedroom was fab value was we were all in the room for one set price which also included a breakfast. the breakfast wasnt really one or the other as its abit of mixure but it suited us fine. Overall good value for the 4 of us. Oh and the hotel is quite noisy but then it is by a motorway!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LEC1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#14 of 25 in Southampton
1,198 reviews
3.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 25 in Southampton
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
3.2 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 25 in Southampton
1,740 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#3 of 25 in Southampton
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Southampton West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Southampton West

Address: Adanac Park Redbridge Lane, Southampton SO16 0YP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Price Range: £61 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Southampton West 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West is located off Junction 1 of the M271(off Junction 3 M27). This hotel is an ideal location for visiting Southampton, Paultons Park, Peppa Pig World, Beaulieu, The Isle of Wight, The New Forest, West Quay Shopping Centre and many attractions. The Hotel offers a continental with three hot choices buffet breakfast and free parking. Ideal for both business and leisure travel. Travelling on business the Holiday Inn Express Southampton West is a short distance from Southampton City Centre, and only 7 miles from Southampton Airport. The hotel is ideally located for companies such as Ordnance Survey (next door), Tesco, and IKEA. Southampton General Hospital is a short distance from the hotel also. The hotel is an ideal base for business travel. Looking for time to relax or a short weekend break the hotel is again an ideal choice for individuals and families. If you are taking a Cruise from Southampton stay at the hotel the night before the Cruise with packages and long stay car parking available. All Cruise Terminals are a short distance away. Why not visit the West Quay Shopping Centre, Beaulieu Motor Museum, Paultons Park, Marwell Zoo, The Ageas Bowl, Southampton University and Southamptons Annual International Boat Show. The hotel also offers 2 meeting rooms. All rooms are ensuite and with FREE WIFI. We also have accessible rooms. Why not stay in this excellent southampton hotel and ask about our low rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Southampton West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West Hotel Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
Southampton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing