We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely accommodating and thoughtful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Reviewed 2 January 2011

I stayed at this hotel whilst my partner was in Soton Hospital. I didn't know how long I needed to stay so just booked 2 nights at a time. I was left in the same room for over 2 weeks with no problem. Everyone was great, and extremely helpful and kind. The hotel is well run and everywhere was spotless. Its position makes it easy drive to the various surrounding areas. Shirley, Totton, Bitterne and only a short drive to the West Quay shopping area and the docks. I would highly recommend this hotel and would like to thank the staff for making my stay so comfortable during what was a distressing time for me.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adriennerobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXManagement, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel.

It's great to read that you had an enjoyable time with us and found the Hotel staff so helpful in going the extra mile after arriving late because your flight was cancelled.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the future.

Kindest Regards
Joanne Collins
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (831)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Southampton West
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

761 - 767 of 831 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2010

We booked in late after our flight was cancelled at Southampton airport and the reception staff were friendly and efficient. Even though we were a few minutes past the latest serving time for food our order was accepted and the food was good. The rooms were very clean and we had a good nights sleep. Breakfast was basic but adequate. We would recommend this hotel and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerndublin_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2010

Despite the characterless design and nowheresville location (off the motorway and off a roundabout with no other development around it) this was a perfectly satisfactory and perfectly enjoyable pit stop during a business trip. You absolutely need a car to reach the hotel, and there are no amenities within walking distance. Reception staff were friendly and accommodating, the room was clean and well provided; my first time in a Holiday Inn Express and clearly pitched at a level above Travelodge or Premier Inn.

Walls were a bit thin, a particularly noisy child in the next room could be heard until (s)he went to sleep, but otherwise a good night's sleep. The 'hot breakfast' is just about as slim as you can get and still call it a hot breakfast - just some sausages, scrambled eggs and warm pastries besides the usual fruit, yoghurt, cereals etc. Quite adequate but definitely not comparable with a full service hotel and kitchen.

Good value at the ~ £50 night I paid, not good value at the £99 room rate advertised in reception.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXManagement, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give our hotel feedback and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Our complimentary continental breakfast has recently been enhanced by the addition of a couple of hot options. Many of our guests are delighted with the change, especially when it is free!

We are delighted to hear that you like our Brand and hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2010

I stayed at this hotel in September with a couple of colleagues who were on business in the city centre. The hotel is handy for city centre location, only around 15 mins in the car.

The rooms and public areas were clean and tidy and the staff on reception were most helpful. There wasn't a big selection in evening meals, but the hotel seem to have a deal with the local takeaways and pizzas could be delivered and eaten in the public bar.

The rooms again were clean and the bathrooms were spacious. Breakfast was extremely busy with lots of people trying to eat and simply not enough room. Although the breakfast was complimentary, there was not much choice.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrHotelLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXManagement, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2010

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to give our hotel feedback, and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We will pass on your comments on the cleanliness of your room to the housekeeping department.

With reference to the food/ bar snack offering, we are continually changing the menu, and looking for new products to try.

Our complimentary continental breakfast has recently been enhanced by the addition of a couple of hot options. Many of our guests are delighted with the change, especially when it is free! We encourage feedback in order to make necessary changes and improve our product and service, and I am grateful for your comments.


Once again thank you for your feeback, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

As ever, a large room with all the basics provided. No soap and facecloths though.

In the middle of nowhere when looking for a good meal in the evening. and with an uninspiring menu available at the hotel we eventually found a Beefeater nearby in the nearby village.

Breakfast!! We were aware that this was limited but it was a nightmare. The hotel must have been pretty full but there was no room to sit. The small seating area was full and the tables in the bar area had not been cleared from previous diners.

Basic supples were unavailable for a considerable period of time and were not replenished even when we asked.The staff could not cope, IMO, with the number of guests.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rarebit_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2010

Perfect for an overnight stay - arrive late - there is nothing to do or eat locally. You can order in a take away avoid the hotel food. Breakfast is good though and included in the rate. Zero facilities but rooms clean, pretty quiet despite location next to M271. Location ideal for accessing centre of town (by car) or surrounding area.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HeliosApollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXManagement, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2010

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to give our hotel feedback, and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We will pass on your comments on the cleanliness of your room to the housekeeping department.

With reference to the food/ bar snack offering, we are continually changing the menu, and looking for new products to try.

Once again thank you for your feeback, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

I stayed here for 3 nights with business. It is located about a 5-10 min drive out of the centre of Southampton. The stay was fine although I was booked in on a dinner, bed and breakfast package.The dinner menu consisted of 4-5 choices from a bar menu - this included burger and chips, curry and chips etc. It was very very disappointing to be offered such limited choice - I was expecting a 3 course dinner similar to what I am offered in other hotels.
The hotel charges £15 per 24 hrs for business use of internet.
Overall, it was fine, but not great and I wouldn't choose to return.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BunnyPalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXManagement, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Southampton West, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay.

We are sorry that your dinner experience wasnt as you anticipated. Whilst we offer light meals and snacks from the bar, we are looking at the opportunities to develop a dinner, bed and breakfast package at the hotel.

You may be interested in our WIFI package which includes your room, breakfast, free on site car parking, VAT and 24 hrs wifi throughout the hotel.

Should you decide to return to us, we would be delighted to offer this package to you to meet your business needs.

Once again thank you for your feedback.

Regards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#14 of 25 in Southampton
1,199 reviews
3.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 25 in Southampton
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
3.2 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 25 in Southampton
1,745 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#3 of 25 in Southampton
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Southampton West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Southampton West

Address: Adanac Park Redbridge Lane, Southampton SO16 0YP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Price Range: £61 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Southampton West 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West is located off Junction 1 of the M271(off Junction 3 M27). This hotel is an ideal location for visiting Southampton, Paultons Park, Peppa Pig World, Beaulieu, The Isle of Wight, The New Forest, West Quay Shopping Centre and many attractions. The Hotel offers a continental with three hot choices buffet breakfast and free parking. Ideal for both business and leisure travel. Travelling on business the Holiday Inn Express Southampton West is a short distance from Southampton City Centre, and only 7 miles from Southampton Airport. The hotel is ideally located for companies such as Ordnance Survey (next door), Tesco, and IKEA. Southampton General Hospital is a short distance from the hotel also. The hotel is an ideal base for business travel. Looking for time to relax or a short weekend break the hotel is again an ideal choice for individuals and families. If you are taking a Cruise from Southampton stay at the hotel the night before the Cruise with packages and long stay car parking available. All Cruise Terminals are a short distance away. Why not visit the West Quay Shopping Centre, Beaulieu Motor Museum, Paultons Park, Marwell Zoo, The Ageas Bowl, Southampton University and Southamptons Annual International Boat Show. The hotel also offers 2 meeting rooms. All rooms are ensuite and with FREE WIFI. We also have accessible rooms. Why not stay in this excellent southampton hotel and ask about our low rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Southampton West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Southampton West Hotel Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
Southampton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing