We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really disappointing”

Chalk Valley Farm & Kitchen
Ranked #91 of 870 Restaurants in Southampton
Price range: US$8 - US$20
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Chalk Valley Farm & Kitchen is an artisan farm-to-table restaurant open for lunch, dinner as well as weekend breakfast. Chalk Valley's menu brings together traditional British food and American style BBQ , in house dry-aged steaks and thoughtful vegetarian options. The restaurant also offers organic beer and wine, and child-friendly meals for the littlest of patrons. All dishes are made from native-breed animals that have been pasture raised. This system not only applies to cattle, that are entirely grass-fed and finished but also pigs and poultry, where grass is an element of their diet. Almost all other non-meat ingredients are organic and sourced from regenerative and restorative farms and where possible local produce. The produce comes from a short and transparent supply chain and Chalk Valley chefs create great tasting food that respects the environment and the animals that are raised in it.
Reviewed 23 February 2014

good concept poorly executed.

the shop is nicely decorated, the branding and promotional leaflets are good and the staff were really friendly but the food was a let down.

£7.50 for a 4oz burger with cheddar and bacon with no drink or fries included. Very expensive for a small burger so expectations were high.

The bun was cold and dry and the base too thick, a few pieces of ice berg lettuce and tomato, not enough sauce. The patty tasted ok but was way too small compared to the bun.

Overall a very disappointing, overpriced, dry and boring burger. Wont go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank burger m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cwfbuckley, Manager at Chalk Valley Farm & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear Burgerman82,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review, and it’s pleasing to hear you thoughts that our team were friendly – we are indeed a friendly bunch! I was disappointed you didn’t reply when I contacted you directly, as it would have been good to discuss your opinions in person.

We don’t pretend to be the cheapest outlet, however, considering the way we source our produce I strongly believe we offer great value for money. Naturally, I’m aware you can buy a burger for less money elsewhere, however, I would question if this beef is of the same quality and the cattle has had anywhere near the high standards of welfare, diet and environment that we know our animals have had access to.

As with most of our ingredients, the buns are organic. These are baked daily by artisan bakers in nearby Hook and delivered to our premises on a daily basis, as with all our suppliers, we have visited the bakers and are more than happy with the fantastic bread they bake for us.

You may be interested to know we implemented a meal deal offer on Friday. This includes a choice of 100% Grassfed Burgers with a choice of bun, topping, side and a drink all for just £8.95.

If you do decide to pop in again, please introduce yourself.
Regards
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (312)
There are newer reviews for Chalk Valley Farm & Kitchen
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

308 - 312 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2017
Google Translation

Thank Mar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
danhetherton, Public Relations Manager at Chalk Valley Farm & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 March 2016
Google Translation

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robykeys82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014
Google Translation

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank J-Lu-G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cwfbuckley, Manager at Chalk Valley Farm & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chalk Valley Farm & Kitchen also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Chalk Valley Farm & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing