We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great quality!”

Chalk Valley Farm & Kitchen
Ranked #90 of 850 Restaurants in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$20
Cuisines: Steakhouse, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Chalk Valley Farm & Kitchen is an artisan BBQ, burger & steak restaurant open for weekday brunch, lunch and dinner. Chalk Valley's menu features a variety BBQ, steaks, burgers and hot dogs, including beef, buffalo, chicken, pork, lamb and vegetarian options. The restaurant also offers organic ice cream, organic milkshakes, organic beer and wine, and child-friendly meals for the littlest of patrons. All burgers are made from native-breed animals that have been pasture raised. This system not only applies to cattle, lambs and buffalo that are entirely grassfed but also pigs and poultry, where grass is an element of their diet. Almost all other non-meat ingredients are organic and sourced from regenerative and restorative farms and where possible local producers. All food is free from GMOs, harmful chemicals, routine antibiotics and heavy processing. The produce comes from a short and transparent supply chain and Chalk Valley chefs create great tasting food that respects the environment and the animals that are raised in it.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great quality!”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I've been to Chalk Valley 3 or four times since it opened.

Every time it has been great. The food is excellent - fresh juicy burgers, lovely Fries. The selection of beer is also awesome.

Keep up the good work chaps!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TD84smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cwfbuckley, Manager at Chalk Valley Farm & Kitchen, responded to this review, 4 November 2014
Dear Tommy,

Thank you for your kind words and continued custom, continue spreading the word and we'll see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Steve and the Chalk Valley Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    73
    30
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quality in a nutshell”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Visited Chalk Valley a few times now. There are a couple of "Gourmet" burger shops cropping up in the city but Chalk Valley stands head and shoulders above the competition.

There is a lot to be said for a food retailer who only buy locally & list their suppliers in house and shout about their green credentials in a nice way. I have had tried the beef and buffalo burgers so far and they are fantastic quality. The burgers aren't stuffed full of breadcrumbs to pack them out and have been beautifully cooked as have the skin on fries. I'm not going to pretend its the cheapest in the city, if that's what you want McDonalds is 5 minutes away but by walking there you will miss a burger you won't forget in a hurry!!!!!!

I am not a bread person but the Artisan Brioche rolls are lovely, having said that take my advice ditch the bread and have the lettuce wrap its amazing!!!

I can't rate this place enough, the food is great, it has a good temporary feel to it and the staff deliver the best service I have had in the city in a long time, without doubt.

For those of you who love exceptional service, amazing food and supporting local food production business Chalk Valley is the ONLY place to eat.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne_Newell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cwfbuckley, Manager at Chalk Valley Farm & Kitchen, responded to this review, 4 November 2014
Dear Leanne,

Thank you very much for such a gleaming review, it's always a boost to morale to be told that we are so appreciated by our customers and that you feel our food and service warrants return visits.

Kind Regards

Steve and the Chalk Valley Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Great food, adorable set up and lovely staff. Highly recommend the buffalo burger with chalk valley chips. Already planning my next visit!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sadie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cwfbuckley, Manager at Chalk Valley Farm & Kitchen, responded to this review, 4 November 2014
Dear Sadie H,

Thank you for your kind words, we do try! We look forward to your next visit.

We all love our buffalo burgers too - the buffalo is sourced just 15 miles away from the restaurant and is 100% grassfed - you really can taste the difference!

See you soon,

Steve and the rest of the team,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unacceptable behaviour”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Been at chalk Valley many times since it opened in Southampton. You can definitely tell that the meat is of very high quality. It feels less of a sin yet tasty. They are literally tiny for the price though. Still worth it once in a while.

Up to now all the staff we dealt with were lovely. Today we sat outside and were served by the manager. He came about a minute after we sat to ask if we are ready to order. We told him give us a couple of minutes to which he replied "you can order at the till when you are ready". We didn't really mind that he actually still served the table next to us.

One bite before we had finished the last burger two friends showed up with sandwiches at their hands. We asked them to sit for a minute for us to finish off and then go.

The manager came out within half a minute to ask them if they'd like to order something. We kindly said no we are living. He asked a again "Do you want something to drink" doing the gesture for drinking in case we couldn't understand his English. We said no thank you we are living. He replied "you know here in England we..." at which point we interrupted him stood up and left.

Bad day? Rude? Latent racist? Who knows. Regardless, none of us will be spending more money there. Yes I know we were at fault but there are better ways to communicate that. Running a business responsibly always pays back, being rude was never in fashion.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Anonymous_soton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danhetherton, Public Relations Manager at Chalk Valley Farm & Kitchen, responded to this review, 7 February 2017
Thank you very much for your review, we're very sorry to hear about your sub standard experience. Of course we are very happy to hear that you love the food we serve, but we do strive to deliver not only great food, but excellent service also so will be sure to be passing these comments on to our team. We are sure the manager / waiter in question was asking to be helpful, and making a comment in jest but we're sorry to hear this didn't go down well. We really do hope to rectify this on your next experience.

We hope to bump your experience up to 5* on your next visit!
- Dan, Chalk Valley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Triple B? Triple A!!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Had the triple B burger which is buffalo meat. Very lean and with a distinctive but subtle taste. They obviously take great pride in the quality of their ingredients. Better than other better publicised burger venues in Southampton. Not cheap but you get what you pay for.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank P_Maximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cwfbuckley, Manager at Chalk Valley Farm & Kitchen, responded to this review, 4 November 2014
Dear P_Maximus,

We'd like to thank you hugely for your positive review. I have shared your feedback with the rest of the staff and as always they were pleased to hear that they have given a customer quality food. We look forward to your return visits.

Kind regards

Jono and the Chalk Valley Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chalk Valley Farm & Kitchen also viewed

 
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Chalk Valley Farm & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing