We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brill”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
City Park Guest House
Ranked #16 of 43 Southampton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2011

we were very happy with our stay at the P,V,G,H......booked a double room, which was clean and tidy,a brill breakfast and a warm welcome,have booked for next month ,and will contiue to use this good B AND B............THANK YOU ANDY AND TEAM

Room Tip: ROOM 10 AND ROOM2....have been in both and they top my preferance.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steven p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2011

The state of the room spoilt our long weekend. The room was supposed cheap at £55, but was certainly not value for money. The Premier Inn was only £10 more! The double bed was in the bay window and was draughty and there were 2 more single beds in the room. No hairdryer. The bed was extremely unncomfortable and dipped in the middle. No carpet to the floor. Towels extremely thin and no towel for bathroom floor. Bar of soap for sink but no shower gel. We were on the ground floor and windows were locked. When we lifted the blinds there were cake wrappers and crumbs from previous occupants. Also a pair of men's shoes had been left on the floor. Although a kettle and coffee sachets provided, there were no mugs on either days we stayed there. The shower had plastic flexible walls with holes around the plastic where the pipe came in. Couldn't take from breakfast room as only 5 mugs in there. Breakfast was very basic with marmalade and jam in plastic sachets, no kettle but a boiler so not a steaming hot cup to drink. No filter coffee. Bread was pre-sliced in plastic bag. English breakfast was provided but bacon was poor quality and no flavour, suspect cheap products. I asked to be moved but the other double room at the top of the house was musty and not enough room to walk around the bed. We never once felt comfortable here. Renovation is currently taking place to the basement. We were told there was parking or a permit would be supplied. No permit was offered and we had to park in front of the bay window, but this involved driving over a gap in the floor covered with wooden timber.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coops24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andy l, Owner at City Park Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2011

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, we are always pleased to hear customers reviews, good or bad. There are a few things you mention that I would agree are not acceptable, for the rest I feel you are looking for faults that are not there.
The bed area in the bay cannot be draughty as the windows are new. They were not locked and never have been.
There were 2 single beds in the room because you had the family room. As you felt the double room booked for you, was too cramp, so we moved you. The mattressess are brand new and of high quality, we have since tested mattress there is no dip. I apologise If the mattress did not suit you, but everyone has a preference. We do not supply hairdryers or irons in the rooms, but you can obtain either from reception.
Your comment regarding no carpet is rather misleading. The floor has laminate flooring.
We do not provide shower gel, we are a bed & Breakfast not a Hotel.
I can only apologies for food wrappers and a pair of shoes left behind, as I say this oversight is not acceptable. Mugs again unacceptable, but you could have asked at reception and mugs would have been provided.
There was no filtre coffee, but thats something we will look to provide in the future. The water heater works on a timer and stays at same temperature, which is working as it should be. Jams and marmalade are provided in hygenic sealed tubs, bread pre sliced, I would say these are positive comments. Our bacon is provided by a local butcher, which is of excellent quality.
Parking was provided for you, , albiet under a bay window, but that is our parking area. We are in the city centre with limited parking, which you had.
You had to drive over a safe board to park your car. Renovation work was actually being carried out in the loft. The area you had to drive over was for utility supplies, but it was completeley safe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2010

I arrived after being at a rival BnB down the road, to find that this guest house had internet, and was the same price (bear in mind this was an extra star better). Its a superb location for the city centre (5 minutes walk away, if that). The room was comfortable, and clean, as was the bathroom. The breakfast in the morning was also to a great standard with a selection of cereals, and a decent sized fry up (grilled not fried). Overall id give this place a 9/10 on the basis of value and service.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank huwk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

I have never stayed at a B&B so bad, we arrived at 2pm and lady behind reception said our room would be ready in 10 minutes, we then saw her go up with some cleaning products to quickly clean the room. Room really smelt, we could hear her push two single beds together from downstairs to make a 'double' room, bed covers had stains on them, everything was filthy. I have never written a review before but thought I should warn people about this place. We didn't even stay for breakfast in the morning as just wanted to leave. All this cost £75 for 1 night which is a complete rip off, never ever again !!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank s_ashworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2010

The Guest house is family run, making it a freindly and pleasant place to stay. The rooms are modern, clean and comfortable. My husband loved having a freeview tv ;-)
The location was ideal, it is close to the shops, nightclubs and bars so not far to crawl home

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarahlou2204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2010

Stayed at Parkview Guest House with my husband, teenage daughter and six yr old son.
We stayed in the family room located on the ground floor for 2 nights. The room had a full ensuite and was nicely decorated. There was plenty of room for all of us. We went to the Mayflower Theatre, which is a 2 minute walk from the guest house. We also did a bit of shopping in West Quay which is also within walking distance.
The guest house is run by a father, son and his partner, we were made to feel very welcome The breakfast was very nice with a choice of cooked breakfast, or you could help yourself to toast or a large selection of cereals.
I would defintely stay there again, we were happy and so were the children. Couldn't go wrong for the price.

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vix1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2009

I stayed in Park View Guest House with group of friends . The place is located very close to the Southampton city centre wich we found very convenient for the purpose of our trip.
The service was very friendly and helped us to find local events.
Rooms were clean and nicely decorated with wifi internet connection free of charge (!!!)
For breakfast we had a good selection of cerials and English breakfast wich was fresh and well cooked.

Overall we had a very nice stay for the fair price

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lulu274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#8 of 25 in Southampton
1,039 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.4 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#11 of 25 in Southampton
1,787 reviews
0.1 mi away
Claremont Guest House
Claremont Guest House
#17 of 43 in Southampton
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Park Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Park Guest House

Address: 4-6 The Polygon, Southampton SO15 2BN, England (Formerly Park View Guest House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Southampton
Price Range: £60 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Park Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your City Park Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing