We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant customer service - always willing to help.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
City Park Guest House
Ranked #13 of 43 Southampton B&B and Inns
Southampton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant customer service - always willing to help.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2010

I arrived after being at a rival BnB down the road, to find that this guest house had internet, and was the same price (bear in mind this was an extra star better). Its a superb location for the city centre (5 minutes walk away, if that). The room was comfortable, and clean, as was the bathroom. The breakfast in the morning was also to a great standard with a selection of cereals, and a decent sized fry up (grilled not fried). Overall id give this place a 9/10 on the basis of value and service.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huwk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    23
    4
    1
    12
See reviews for
8
25
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

I have never stayed at a B&B so bad, we arrived at 2pm and lady behind reception said our room would be ready in 10 minutes, we then saw her go up with some cleaning products to quickly clean the room. Room really smelt, we could hear her push two single beds together from downstairs to make a 'double' room, bed covers had stains on them, everything was filthy. I have never written a review before but thought I should warn people about this place. We didn't even stay for breakfast in the morning as just wanted to leave. All this cost £75 for 1 night which is a complete rip off, never ever again !!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s_ashworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2010

The Guest house is family run, making it a freindly and pleasant place to stay. The rooms are modern, clean and comfortable. My husband loved having a freeview tv ;-)
The location was ideal, it is close to the shops, nightclubs and bars so not far to crawl home

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahlou2204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2010

Stayed at Parkview Guest House with my husband, teenage daughter and six yr old son.
We stayed in the family room located on the ground floor for 2 nights. The room had a full ensuite and was nicely decorated. There was plenty of room for all of us. We went to the Mayflower Theatre, which is a 2 minute walk from the guest house. We also did a bit of shopping in West Quay which is also within walking distance.
The guest house is run by a father, son and his partner, we were made to feel very welcome The breakfast was very nice with a choice of cooked breakfast, or you could help yourself to toast or a large selection of cereals.
I would defintely stay there again, we were happy and so were the children. Couldn't go wrong for the price.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vix1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2009

I stayed in Park View Guest House with group of friends . The place is located very close to the Southampton city centre wich we found very convenient for the purpose of our trip.
The service was very friendly and helped us to find local events.
Rooms were clean and nicely decorated with wifi internet connection free of charge (!!!)
For breakfast we had a good selection of cerials and English breakfast wich was fresh and well cooked.

Overall we had a very nice stay for the fair price

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lulu274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2009

This is my first time of writing a review and felt very strongly that others should be warned. My partner and I went to the Boat show this weekend and stayed at the Park View, which if you didnt laugh you would cry. We booked a en-suit double room, the bed was pushed into the corner which was the lenth of the room. There was no room to put your lugage without tripping over it. The shower had to be held by hand as the attachment was so loose to hold. The whole place needs an overhaul, painting and updating, everything is just grubby and cheap and tacky. The breakfast served the more basic value foods, we had to wait for one of the three table to become available before we could sit down. Another table we got talking to voice the same comments as us and referred it to the days of Basil and Fawlty Towers!!!!!! need I same any more........

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank treetop38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2008

We enjoyed our stay at this guest house, the young lady was very helpful and polite even during busy times.

We had a clean and comfortable room with the price being fair for what we received.

The breakfast was good but probaly could do with a better selection on cereals etc.

Overall though a pleasant stay at the guest house.

  • Liked — friendliness
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank welshcoupleWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#10 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#1 of 24 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Park Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Park Guest House

Property: City Park Guest House
Address: 4-6 The Polygon, Southampton SO15 2BN, England (Formerly Park View Guest House)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — City Park Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Park Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing