We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't ask for more” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Vestry Restaurant & Bar

The Vestry Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #60 of 840 Restaurants in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$24 - US$32
Cuisines: Bar, European, British, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Couldn't ask for more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

When myself and a friend found this place first thing we asked will we have time to eat before our show is due to start. I was told yes no problem, was then shown to a great table over looking the ground floor( great if your a people watcher as I am). Within no time at all a young waiter who on departing I asked his name Bart came and took drinks orders, they came with very little wait, beautifully served. We then where given time to look at the menu a 4/4/4 as pre theatre diner but still a great offering. I'm a very fussy eater and in the trade so very very hard to please. But the food and service from Bart I could NOT fault I will return and hope he is on duty. The place was very busy with most people doing the same as myself, but this did not let the standards slip at all.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Torz30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    172
    66
    49
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and service with a smile ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Went for dinner as a surprise meal, had the 3 courses duck &orange parfait, wild boar sausages with a very tasty red onion gravy and a scrummy orange and choc brûlée, would definatley go again and recommend to family and friends, very friendly and relaxed atmosphere x

Helpful?
Thank Lisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke
1 review
“Fantastic food & Service, defo do again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Came here for Pre-theatre meal. I had the goats cheese starter, that is severed cold which was a surprise but tasted lovely. The pasta for main, this was fantastic very warm and Full of flavour. The pannacotta for pudding was so light and the raspberries were lovely.
The service was great, very friendly. I would defiantly recommend this to all my family and friends. Went home feeling very full. Good value for money. Xx

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vickie79Anaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamphire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“average”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Pretty average meal nothing to write home about I ordered 2 starters as there was nothing i fancied on the main course, the goat cheese tart was tasteless and was served cold the pasty was over cooked and the salad was practically non existent, the haddock was marginally better at least the microwave had worked which meant it was very hot and terribly salty, I didn`t bother with any dessert.
The person that served us did the minimum needed to deliver the food and take the money, not somewhere I would recommend or go again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vickiwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fabulous Dinner/Dance Birthday! Fun! Fun! Fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Booked a surprise dinner for a friend on the Saturday as it was a Neil Diamond & Tom Jones Tribute evening. What a fantastic evening! We were greeted and had a drink while waiting for the dinner service to set up as we had arrived a bit early. The venue is absolutely stunning. As it was a tribute evening we were offered a set menu with a choice of six starters, mains and desserts. £36.95 for 3 courses, half a bottle of wine and entertainment included I thought it was good value for money. The food was served beautifully presented. Our waiter, Bart, was so attentive and our every need was catered for. I would highly recommend this restaurant. I will be going back!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sporty12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Vestry Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to The Vestry Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing