We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pre Theatre meal” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gusto Lounge

Gusto Lounge
Ranked #155 of 840 Restaurants in Southampton
Price range: US$6 - US$31
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Gusto Lounge Bar & Bistro is at the heart of Southampton's cultural centre and the gateway to the City. If you are a visitor to the city using the busy central station, the ever popular Mayflower theatre which is home to most of the biggest west end musicals and plays or the newly opened sea city and titanic museum you will find us ideally placed. Our lounge bar is located on the ground floor. This is a casual dining environment. The ‘All Day Menu’ is served here on a walk in only basis; so casually walk in, sit down and then order at the bar. Our Bistro is located on our first floor; here you can enjoy a more formal dining experience. Between 5 – 7 pm, the kitchen prioritises the Bistro due to the proximity of The Mayflower, so particularly if you’re a theatre visitor, this is the place to dine.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pre Theatre meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We had not booked a table, but we arrived early before Scooby Doo which my daughter was looking forward to. From the outside the restaurant looked promising with around eight people already eating. The staff served us quickly we ordered three starters from the sharing menu our six year old decided she did not like anything on the Kids menu. The starter arrived very quickly, which means that they were prepared in advance and then kept on a hot plate, unfortunately they were only just warm and a bit tasteless, not a good start. On to the mains I had the carbonara ok but very rich. My wife and daughter chose pizza, when it arrived my daughters margarita looked like it needed longer in the oven the cheese had only just melted. Overall the staff were efficient and friendly but the food was poor.
We are back at the theatre in July for the Lion King, we will be looking for somewhere else to eat!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    97
    48
    25
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“NOT buon gusto (good taste)”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Buon Gusto translated means Good Taste. The risotto had no taste. It was an awful meal. Carbonara had to be reheated, the chicken in the risotto was like tinned chicken, over processed, you didn't need to chew it! They ran out of steak at 8pm. Would like to say it was because they were busy all evening. 9.30pm we were the only people in the restaurant. Even the staff weren't about at one stage, we could have walked out.
You get better food and atmosphere in a Bella Italia.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The most amazing food ever!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

For a fussy Italian food loving mother. She was very impressed with all the courses.
"This is the best restaurant meal I have had in ages". Thumbs up for a birthday lunch and tops marks. Defo a place to visit before the theatre for a snack or for full meal!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
833 reviews
477 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
“Getting expensive now”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

After a lovely matinee show of Warhorse at the Mayflower we had booked as a group of 11 to have a meal before catching the train home.

The restaurant has been redecorated since our last visit and it looks really nice

We had to pre order our food due to the size of the group and had been sent menus in advance which had a set price on.

The food was fine and the staff were friendly. The drinks were really expensive, almost £6 for a glass of wine.

When the bill came the fixed price menu was higher than we had been led to believe and there was a huge service charge on top.

Having used this restaurant for years if visiting the Mayflower we all agreed that it is really expensive now for what you get and that next time we will go somewhere else instead.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AngieP49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“overall just poor service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Popped in for an early evening meal in which we were the only people in the restaurant. Upon entering the restaurant we had to disturb the waitresses from their conversation toegther to even get a table. Not good first impressions. After being told that they had bookings we were offered a table that was supposedly the only one available for us. We sat down and weren't offered a choice of drinks, the waitresses just went back to their conversation. After a few minutes the waitresses started to move some chairs banging into me twice without any acknowledgement or apology. Again, after trying to get the waitresses attention numerous times from their conversation we gave up and walked out. Extrememly poor service. Will not be going back again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crssi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gusto Lounge also viewed

 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Gusto Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing