We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious but noisy”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Olive Tree - CLOSED

The Olive Tree
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$51
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Carnicero Steakhouse - a place to visit for fantastically cooked Chargrilled Steaks. Ranging from USDA, Hampshire. Australia and Aberdeen Angus. Join us for a glass of wine from our beautifully sourced wine list, courtesy of Elegant Wines. There is something for everyone at Carnicero; Fresh Oysters, Whole Fish, Carnicero Burgers & Sliders (Bean Burgers and Superfood Salads for the veggies too!). We will see you soon...
Warwick, Bermuda
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious but noisy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

The food we ordered was from the specials board and my fish dish was absolutely delicious.
The only negative was that it was very noisy. This may have been due to the fact that it was 'graduation season' but it made any real conversation a challenge.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank RosieD58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

535 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    177
    57
    23
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“" THE BEST FOOD IN OXFORD STREET "”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were staying in Southampton overnight so wandered down to oxford street to find somewhere to eat and thought olive tree looked worth a try. The staff were pleasant, service was quick and efficient. Choice of food and quality excellent; some really nice dishes to choose from the menu and blackboard.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arsenal4l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food but the service is disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

I had the pleasure to go to Olive three 5 times... The enviroment and food is really nice but unfortunately I cannot say the same about the service. They are not kind and keen on making the costumer happy. That is really a pity because this restaurant provide really good food ( I loved the hake with risotto) with good wine , but they need to work better on the service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank francesca b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Good food, the beetroot and goats cheese starter was fabulous as was the olive tapenade. Swordfish as main course was overcooked but served with a great fennel salad. No space for dessert sadly.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Junglie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ace”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

As a delegate on a conference at Southampton University we had a group booking here (for 14) on our first evening. With with our meal pre-ordered, I was very impressed with the way we were served. The manager had arranged for us all to have place settings with our names and menu choices on. This helped staff deliver food efficiently and us to remember one another's names easily.
Although we were a large group, we were all served at the same time and this is a skill of kitchen and staff working collaboratively. Great food, service and atmosphere: if you're in the area I would recommend that you give the Olive Tree a go

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hannah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Olive Tree also viewed

 
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing